Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Manufacturers CD's


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-09-2013, 18:33
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,784

Do manufacturers CD's come with the Windows product key already entered or do you have to enter this during installation as I cannot find this anywhere on the laptop.

(The computer was genuine about a month ago, he bought this 3 years ago from PC World and has been working perfectly but now when you start it up it asks you for a Windows product key and no information regarding product key can be found under computer properties.
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-09-2013, 18:39
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,009
Have you tried
http://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 18:55
barky99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland - near a whirly thing
Posts: 2,826
the freebie piriform speccy should show you key if you click on 'operating system'

BUT it should be on sticker on the computer
barky99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 19:08
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,784
So the manufacturers CD doesn't have the Windows product key automatically entered. You need to do this manually from the magic key

Would a file within windows have become corrupted
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 19:09
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,886
Do manufacturers CD's come with the Windows product key already entered or do you have to enter this during installation as I cannot find this anywhere on the laptop.

(The computer was genuine about a month ago, he bought this 3 years ago from PC World and has been working perfectly but now when you start it up it asks you for a Windows product key and no information regarding product key can be found under computer properties.
There are lots of reasons why a Windows installation might say it's not activated. You should be investigating that.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 19:15
barky99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland - near a whirly thing
Posts: 2,826
there's a set period of a few weeks until this prompt to validate windows will appear, there should be as sticker under laptop with key to enter ---- all windows install disks are much the same, can install on any computer -- all that differs is the separate code (you are really buying the code if you purchase windows separately as everything else can be downloaded including drivers)
barky99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 19:17
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,784
1 reason was the date and time was wrong when I looked
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 19:19
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,886
1 reason was the date and time was wrong when I looked
See? Check the obvious first. Also, if you are going to post, describe the problem, not your assumed solution.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 19:24
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,784
didn't want to look as though I didn't n what I was doing
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 20:48
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,813
look up SLIC it uses the bios to allow windows to auto authenticate, theres a key on the CD and a key in the BIOS and if they match up then windows just auto authenticates
Maxatoria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 21:44
Umbridge
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 29
I remember when Windows XP was the newest Windows and computers with Windows XP never came with it pre-activated, up until 2005. I remember the person who set up our computer calling the Microsoft Activation Center to activate Windows XP because we didn't yet have an internet connection.
Umbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 23:00
Orbitalzone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sussex
Posts: 11,340
Some laptops have the WIndows sticker behind the battery so worth a look, many laptops however end up with blank worn out stickers.

Most (if not all) manufacturers use an image when loading the PC's OS so use a product key that isn't the same as on the sticker.

Magicaljellybean will only show the product key in use, so if that key is now showing invalid then it isn't going to help you in that respect.
Orbitalzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 09:55
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,784
The Dell product CD I have is for reinstallation of the operating system onto that PC. I can see no other partition on the Disk. for recovery. I can try magic jelly it might help.

The customer has haf it 3 years and worked without problems until a month ago when it started happening.
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 10:03
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,784
Some laptops have the WIndows sticker behind the battery so worth a look, many laptops however end up with blank worn out stickers.

Most (if not all) manufacturers use an image when loading the PC's OS so use a product key that isn't the same as on the sticker.

Magicaljellybean will only show the product key in use, so if that key is now showing invalid then it isn't going to help you in that respect.
Wouldn't that be illegal and therefore activation not possible?.
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 10:50
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,784
look up SLIC it uses the bios to allow windows to auto authenticate, theres a key on the CD and a key in the BIOS and if they match up then windows just auto authenticates
There is no product key on the CD as its a green Dell CD
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 11:22
evil c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wirral Peninsula
Posts: 3,340
SLIC Toolkit: http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thr...mp-Cert-Backup)

If the user bought XP (i.e. the retail version) then he/she will need the receipt and you can contact Microsoft: http://support.microsoft.com/gp/cu_sc_prodact_master

If it was an OEM version and came pre-installed then the user can contact the vendor or try this OEM Dump Utility: http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thr...507#post215507

This Windows Loader utility won't work with XP but other readers might find it useful if they lose the key for 7, Vista, Server 2012, Server 2008 and Small Business Server 2011: http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thr...se-information
evil c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 11:38
Orbitalzone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sussex
Posts: 11,340
Wouldn't that be illegal and therefore activation not possible?.
Umm I'm not sure what you mean exactly?

Did you look under the battery to see if there's a sticker there?

Has the OS been reinstalled since it was new and if so, was it done using the recovery software on the Dell or using the CD?

As per Maxatoria's post read about SLIC to get a better idea about how it works http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/System_...reinstallation
Orbitalzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 11:52
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,784
I don't think it has been touched since the machine was bought over 3 years ago. There was software lying around "Windows Anytime Upgrade" but that was for Vista tough and it hasn't been installed.
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 11:57
evil c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wirral Peninsula
Posts: 3,340
Vista Tough..that's a new one. Is there a 7 Not So Tough and an 8 Really Tough? Or maybe 8 Well Hard?
evil c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 11:59
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,784
* Though

Would slui.exe 4 work?
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 12:42
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,813
There is no product key on the CD as its a green Dell CD
The key is merged into the installation media and uses a special oem key assigned to dell, so when the machine goes to authenticate it uses that key plus the slic bios key and if the two are compatiable then it authenticates automatically. The oem key is of no use as its blocked from MS's key servers as its never meant to be entered by hand, so basically if the cd is the same version as the one for which the laptop was designed for or older it will authenticate so a vista laptop from dell will also authenticate with xp but not with win 7 as each version of windows needs a newer slic version but also it should activate any version of the product so you can use vista ultimate in a machine that only is supposed to have vista basic for example (cough)
Maxatoria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 13:20
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 467
The computer was genuine about a month ago . . . and no information regarding product key can be found under computer properties.
The only time I've seen this scenario is when a rank amateur has (re-) installed a bent version of Windows and a kak handed attempt at bypassing the activation by using some crude tool that just deletes the activation bit of the Windows code has been used. This activation crack only works for a short time, then the machine throws up a 'not genuine' message. Deleting the activation stuff means there's nothing displayed in 'computer properties'.
Mr Dos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 13:41
barky99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland - near a whirly thing
Posts: 2,826
tried speccy yet to find key?

http://www.filehippo.com/download_speccy
barky99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 16:13
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,784
would that piece of software reveal the product key of windows and would the slui.exe 4 force the activation window and allow me to activate the product
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 16:27
barky99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland - near a whirly thing
Posts: 2,826
with key visible via speccy should be able to activate from control panel > system (@ bottom of window marked windows activation)
barky99 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:46.