Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

How to remove/replace hard drive


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24-09-2013, 01:19
Citadel
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 10,960

I want to sell my old laptop but I want to replace the hard drive first. It's an Acer 5742z.

I have never done this before and I'm scared of getting it wrong and destroying something lol so any sensible advice would be much appreciated!
Citadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 24-09-2013, 04:18
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,008
See here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJBVC5-_-Sk
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 07:03
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,857
I want to sell my old laptop but I want to replace the hard drive first. It's an Acer 5742z.

I have never done this before and I'm scared of getting it wrong and destroying something lol so any sensible advice would be much appreciated!
Do you want to remove the hard disk because you are concerned about your data being left on it? If so there are lots of free programs that can erase it for you. Eraser, for example http://eraser.heidi.ie
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 15:48
Citadel
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 10,960
Thanks so far.
Citadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 15:49
Citadel
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 10,960
Do you want to remove the hard disk because you are concerned about your data being left on it?
It's 50% that, but 50% it's just something I'd like to know how to do, I suppose.
Citadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 15:54
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,729
If you are paranoid about it then a lump hammer is your friend when it comes to securely deleting your data permanently, but before you do go all smashy smashy give it a month or 2 just incase you remember you need something you've not transferred off the old drive or if you're feeling slightly less hammer friendly just get a USB caddy and use it as an external drive to back up your stuff to
Maxatoria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 16:00
Tal'shiar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,635
Just format it before you remove it, thats more than enough unless you have state secrets on it haha

Just take the screws out of it, and you will see it in its little chassis and two plugs. Take out the screws holding it in the bracket its in, remove the cables, and to put the new one in just do that in reverse, connect the cables and place back into bracket and put the screws in. Put the case back together and jobs a good un. Takes about 5-10 mins tops, and as long as you dont use a hammer its pretty safe to be manhandled.

Just make sure you buy the correct replacement HDD, 2.5 and not the 3.5 ones as they are for desktops etc and not little laptops.

(if you are REALLy worried about your data, then run a wiper program on a 35 pass, will take forever to do, but contrary to what CSI likes to pretend, no one is getting the data ever again (including you, so be sure haha))
Tal'shiar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 16:18
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,359
Restore it to factory settings and then run Eraser as Stig says to wipe free space.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 16:22
Citadel
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 10,960
Just format it before you remove it, thats more than enough unless you have state secrets on it haha

Just take the screws out of it, and you will see it in its little chassis and two plugs. Take out the screws holding it in the bracket its in, remove the cables, and to put the new one in just do that in reverse, connect the cables and place back into bracket and put the screws in. Put the case back together and jobs a good un. Takes about 5-10 mins tops, and as long as you dont use a hammer its pretty safe to be manhandled.

Just make sure you buy the correct replacement HDD, 2.5 and not the 3.5 ones as they are for desktops etc and not little laptops.

(if you are REALLy worried about your data, then run a wiper program on a 35 pass, will take forever to do, but contrary to what CSI likes to pretend, no one is getting the data ever again (including you, so be sure haha))
Haha, thanks very much Tal'shir! I'm not hugely concerned about the data but obviously I want to cover myself before I sell the laptop. And as I said, it's what of those things I'd just like to know how to do.

What kind hard drive would I need for an Acer Aspire 5743Z, do you know? Would any 2.5 do or does it have to be a specific make or model?
Citadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 16:47
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,359
What kind hard drive would I need for an Acer Aspire 5743Z, do you know? Would any 2.5 do or does it have to be a specific make or model?
Why are you wasting your money on a new hard drive if the one thats in it is working ? You will get more for it if you sell it with an operating system installed.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 16:54
Citadel
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 10,960
Why are you wasting your money on a new hard drive if the one thats in it is working ? You will get more for it if you sell it with an operating system installed.
Well even if I kept the hard drive and just erased it, I'd still need to buy another OS, so either way I have to spend money. Besides, I could keep one of them as a back up in case the next one conks out for some reason!

Plus I could do with a spare as I have a LOT of music and movies.
Citadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 17:15
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,729
Why buy another OS?, if theres a COA sticker somewhere then just install that version, its the license to run the product that you pay for not the method of installing it (or most IT peeps would be in jail for having copies of various install media)
Maxatoria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 17:23
Citadel
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 10,960
Why buy another OS?, if theres a COA sticker somewhere then just install that version, its the license to run the product that you pay for not the method of installing it (or most IT peeps would be in jail for having copies of various install media)
Oh, right! Shows you how much I know
Citadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 17:05
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,833
Oh, right! Shows you how much I know
Before you format it, there is a utilty you can use to make the backup DVD set. This is your install media. The Acer junk you can delete after a factory reset.

There's no need to replace a 5742. It's exactly the same laptop I have. Upgrade the memory to 8GB and fit a Hybrid SSD.

Blows off most laptops with faster CPUs purely because the RAM is maxed out and the standard HDD is a 5400rpm slug.

The mobile i5 is still only a dual-core (4 logical) so unless they have a newer gen or i7 then they won't really be much faster.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:15.