Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Apple maps all sorted now then?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-09-2013, 13:06
swordman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,913

www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology

Maybe not
swordman is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-09-2013, 13:09
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
i think this is the story you wanted to link to:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-24246646

they said that particular issue would be fixed by yesterday. don't know if it is.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 13:12
swordman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,913
It was indeed not sure what I did there,

it's only a runway should be able to see the plane from miles away
swordman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 13:19
Zack06
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 27,130
Although this is not a shining example of Apple's "it just works" mantra, you'd have to be very mentally challenged to follow those directions.

Would these people follow directions leading them off a cliff?
Zack06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 13:24
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,558
Posted about it yesterday surprised you didnt notice it

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1893896
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 13:57
swordman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,913
I must be slipping
swordman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 14:11
My name's Scott
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ealing, west London.
Posts: 1,588
Can't wait for calipo_pie to come and justify this for us
My name's Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 14:30
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,936
To be fair, you hear on the news quite often about Sat Navs taking folk down the wrong roads, into rivers, onto railway lines etc.
I suppose just because this time its Apple and not Tom Tom, Navigon etc it's even more disastrous and news worthy.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 14:40
swordman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,913
Although these problems have been very frequent since launch and apple seem not to be staying them quick enough. Swallow their pride and ask Google maps to take them back
swordman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 14:44
calico_pie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,342
Can't wait for calipo_pie to come and justify this for us
I suppose I could say something about how mapping the entire world at street level, with turn by turn navigation, without errors is virtually impossible, and mistakes are not exclusive to Apple.

Or about how mapping applications like this are only ever as good as the data used, which in the case of Apple's Maps app is supplied by TomTom.

But what would be the point?
calico_pie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 15:21
Dan Sette
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cornwall (at last!)
Posts: 5,151
Still hopeless.

Reported errors at the start of the year and not corrected. Post codes aren't properly recognised (only the first 5 characters) which is too coarse)

Odd considering TonTom provide the info and their app recognises the full 8 character set.

Yes it is chargeable, but why use Apples flawed maps if you can get the full Satnav experience for very little outlay.

Relegated to the end screen where rubbish apps that can't be deleted end up so they are out of the way, never to be seen again.
Dan Sette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 15:25
Zack06
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 27,130
Still hopeless.

Reported errors at the start of the year and not corrected. Post codes aren't properly recognised (only the first 5 characters) which is too coarse)

Odd considering TonTom provide the info and their app recognises the full 8 character set.

Yes it is chargeable, but why use Apples flawed maps if you can get the full Satnav experience for very little outlay.

Relegated to the end screen where rubbish apps that can't be deleted end up so they are out of the way, never to be seen again.
Can't you disable apps so that they become invisible in iOS, as is possible on Android?
Zack06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 15:29
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
I suppose I could say something about how mapping the entire world at street level, with turn by turn navigation, without errors is virtually impossible, and mistakes are not exclusive to Apple.

Or about how mapping applications like this are only ever as good as the data used, which in the case of Apple's Maps app is supplied by TomTom.

But what would be the point?
Yet tomtom's maps are fine.

go figure.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 15:46
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,755
Yet tomtom's maps are fine.
There have been (and probably still are!) numerous mistakes in TomTom maps.

There are far too many people grinding axes here. As a neutral user of Apple Maps I find they have vastly improved since the disasterous launch and are now quite good!
BKM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 15:52
Philip Wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 3,089
^^^ Yes TOM TOM maps do you have mistakes, there's a new roundabout near me, (about 5 years old now) and so bad was the Sat Nav's, they kept sending lorries heading towards some large industrial plants up this very narrow country lane, they then had to reverse back down !!, so that the council have had to install a road sign warning drivers to ignore their sat navs. So it's not just Apple, they all do it, thing is Apple maps is free, so user beware, but when paying 30 for a mappack from Tom Tom etc you expect it to be right.
Philip Wales is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 16:06
calico_pie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,342
Yet tomtom's maps are fine.

go figure.
It's odd, isn't it?

Another annoying thing is that they've tried to use the correct colours for roads in the UK. But for some reason have all A roads as green, when only primary A roads should be green.

Would be good if Google Maps did that.
calico_pie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 16:16
Zack06
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 27,130
It's odd, isn't it?

Another annoying thing is that they've tried to use the correct colours for roads in the UK. But for some reason have all A roads as green, when only primary A roads should be green.

Would be good if Google Maps did that.
It would cause too much confusion when using the traffic mode in Google Maps. Green roads indicate roads with very light traffic, amber moderate traffic and red severe traffic.

You'd think with such erratic map reporting in the app, Apple should have implemented a street view like feature as Google Maps does.
Zack06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 16:18
paulsalter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK - Bilsdale
Posts: 11,435
It's odd, isn't it?

Another annoying thing is that they've tried to use the correct colours for roads in the UK. But for some reason have all A roads as green, when only primary A roads should be green.

Would be good if Google Maps did that.
I cant wait for Google to copy Apple again here

The current Google Maps with the orange roads are hideous
paulsalter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 16:45
deans6571
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: S.Croydon, Surrey
Posts: 1,632
Still hopeless.

Reported errors at the start of the year and not corrected. Post codes aren't properly recognised (only the first 5 characters) which is too coarse)

Odd considering TonTom provide the info and their app recognises the full 8 character set.

Yes it is chargeable, but why use Apples flawed maps if you can get the full Satnav experience for very little outlay.

Relegated to the end screen where rubbish apps that can't be deleted end up so they are out of the way, never to be seen again.
Totally agree - the Apple maps are are ar$E!!!! I always just use Google maps as I can never trust Apple's......

There is a restaurant which is STILL showing on the maps, which is near me, despite the fact it has been closed now for at least a year and I have reported it several times (way back at the start of the year!)!!
deans6571 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 16:49
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
It's odd, isn't it?

Another annoying thing is that they've tried to use the correct colours for roads in the UK. But for some reason have all A roads as green, when only primary A roads should be green.

Would be good if Google Maps did that.
I'm not fan of google maps. it just happens to be a lot better than apple maps.

bing maps are much much better.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 16:54
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,820
Totally agree - the Apple maps are are ar$E!!!! I always just use Google maps as I can never trust Apple's......

There is a restaurant which is STILL showing on the maps, which is near me, despite the fact it has been closed now for at least a year and I have reported it several times (way back at the start of the year!)!!
Same. There are loads of errors near me. A rugby ground that hasn't been there for years. Misspelled place names, one of which is an entire town. Dozens of local businesses that don't exist anymore. I reported them in October 2012 and nothing has changed.

In iOS 7 it's had an update to the interface, but it's full of the same errors.
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 17:44
mjdj1689
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 2,102
if you type in crewe , it comes up Wrexham Crewe , this has been on there since the start
mjdj1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 18:09
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,936
if you type in crewe , it comes up Wrexham Crewe , this has been on there since the start
Does it? When I type in Crewe it brings up a list of other locations which include the word Crewe and then you select the one you want.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 18:35
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Does it? When I type in Crewe it brings up a list of other locations which include the word Crewe and then you select the one you want.
Which is first?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 18:36
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,021
Apple are putting peoples lives at risk. should never have been released till a few years when it was tested properly
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:55.