Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy

DS Forums

USB Recovery Media

Old 26-09-2013, 16:56
Stig
Forum Member

I have a new Dell PC with Windows 8, and it has the Dell Recovery Media software on it to backup the 'factory setup', which includes the OS. I have created the backup on an 8GB USB stick. All fairly easy so far.

However, I don't want to just have the backup on the USB stick for a few reasons.
1) I want to use the stick for other purposes.
2) I am concerned the USB stick would get overwriiten or lost anyway.

So, what are my options? Can I 'image' the USB stick somehow, and keep it safe on a hard disk somewhere? The USB media is bootable, so I need to take sure I can create another bootable device from the backup.

Any suggestions?
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-09-2013, 19:32
LION8TIGER
Forum Member

I'm no expert (as you may well know ) but can you not burn a DVD or two for the factory restore ?

1) I want to use the stick for other purposes.
I definitely wouldn't do that !!, its likely to mess it up.

You could also save an ISO image to an external hard drive.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 21:18
Pucky
Forum Member

I'm no expert (as you may well know ) but can you not burn a DVD or two for the factory restore ?
It depens on the machine, sometimes you can burn DVDs, but if your machine has no drive then it'll want to create it on a USB stick..
Pucky is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2013, 22:43
Stig
Forum Member

It depens on the machine, sometimes you can burn DVDs, but if your machine has no drive then it'll want to create it on a USB stick..
It's actually a tablet PC, and writing the recovery media to USB is the only option.

So far, I've found two different utilities to create an image of the USB stick. I just wondered of anyone else has encountered the same dilemma.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2013, 14:39
Pucky