Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

IPhone 5 unable to update OTA?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27-09-2013, 20:10
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,401

As title ive just done my iphone 5 updated through OTA on the phone, 20 odd MB file took about 2mins to download/install and do the whole process, now when checking for updates on my mrs phone it says unable to update?

So i went onto Itunes to do it via the computer, which is working but its downloading the whole 1.23GB file? cant itunes just do the incremental 20 odd mb update? if i download/install the 1.23GB file isnt that going to wipe the phone? (even though i clicked on ''update and install'' ?

Confused.com!

Cant find the incremental file via google either, its all 1.23GB files.
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 27-09-2013, 20:28
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,771
OTA can only be done over the air. You'll have to update via iTunes and it will be the full download of 7.0.2

Have you tried rebooting the Phone (hold the power and home button until the apple logo appears) then trying to do the OTA update again. Must keep an internet connection available the whole way through the process (until the black screen with the apple logo/progress bar appears at least)
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2013, 21:01
Rich_L
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,143
Needs wifi to do it.
Rich_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2013, 22:17
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,401
OTA can only be done over the air. You'll have to update via iTunes and it will be the full download of 7.0.2

Have you tried rebooting the Phone (hold the power and home button until the apple logo appears) then trying to do the OTA update again. Must keep an internet connection available the whole way through the process (until the black screen with the apple logo/progress bar appears at least)
Yeah i know OTA can only be done OTA lol but what i meant was its 20-25mb OTA or 1.23GB doing it on itunes, i just thought i could download the OTA (much smaller file) via the internet somewhere.

I have tried rebooting as in turning it off and back on, what your describing is a soft reset i believe, which i could try i guess. Havent got the phone to try at the moment but ill download the 1.23gb file tonight then when ive got the phone tomorrow i can just install it.

Cheers guys
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2013, 22:20
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,401
Needs wifi to do it.
It does indeed, but my issue isnt that, is the fact that i cant even search for the update in the first place, normally you can search/look for updates through your 3G data, then it will say up to date or yes there is an update, connect to wifi to download
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2013, 23:52
jchamier
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: GU14
Posts: 1,007
It does indeed, but my issue isnt that, is the fact that i cant even search for the update in the first place, normally you can search/look for updates through your 3G data, then it will say up to date or yes there is an update, connect to wifi to download
I didn't get the 7.0.2 notification on 3G or 4G at work but ONLY when I got home and connected to WiFi.
jchamier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2013, 23:53
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,009
Is the reasons you can't do OTA update via data network purely down to Data limits? Else specially with 4G can't see why it needs WiFi.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2013, 12:34
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,401
Just done it via itunes, worked fine on there, phone is now updated to 7.0.2 and also it now successfully checks for updates fine too, two birds, one stone, thats what i like


EDITED to say good job the OTA works now because it looks like there will be another update soon as another bug has been found to do with pass code(although not as much of an issue)

http://www.idownloadblog.com/2013/09...-vunerability/
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:22.