Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

hotspoting my 3 network internet from my iphone


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-09-2013, 15:03
sevenman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8

hi everyone

first post - i was just wondering im not on the one plan but it lets me hotspot my connection to my laptop is this tethering if so why does it let me do this?
im not complaining lol.
sevenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-09-2013, 15:14
lem ramsay
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 628
Yes it's tethering. I used to be able to tether on PAYG with no problems (I'm now on The One Plan) but I didn't know tethering wasn't permitted on PAYG.
I never got blocked, though, even if I did it for almost 2 years.
lem ramsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2013, 15:21
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,568
This is what 3 say about Tethering

http://support.three.co.uk/srvs/cgi-...rch=helpsearch
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2013, 15:21
sevenman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
thanks tethering is not permitted on my rolling deal all in one fifteen add on but it still lets me do it what happens if they somehow find out?
not that they will i dont do it often lol.
sevenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2013, 15:24
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,568
thanks tethering is not permitted on my rolling deal all in one fifteen add on but it still lets me do it what happens if they somehow find out?
not that they will i dont do it often lol.
Reading the link above it mentions they will send you a warning about tethering but I notice it doesn't say exactly what, if anything, they will do about it.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2013, 15:26
corf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 632
It's a bit weird, they seem to do checks on the internet traffic. Before I switched to the one plan, I could use a nexus 7 via the personal hotspot but not an ipad. With the ipad I kept getting pages from three telling me I couldn't use this feature, I guess their software couldn't tell an android tab from an android phone.

I think is more complex than just the user agent too.
corf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2013, 15:43
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,599
They wont ever charge you. They'll just block you.

If you're getting away with it then hey, you're getting away with it.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 01:45
gold fire 201
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 726
hi everyone

first post - i was just wondering im not on the one plan but it lets me hotspot my connection to my laptop is this tethering if so why does it let me do this?
im not complaining lol.
The one plan with tethering is only 15 a month
gold fire 201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:43
x_malibubabe
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southampton
Posts: 2,057
I don't have tethering on mine, i just have the 3 all you can eat data add on. I the there'd no problem for about 24 hours then I got a block message.
x_malibubabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:11
dslrocks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Between the gutter and stars
Posts: 6,773
I have no problems when I tether my phone to the computer via bluetooth. It's a bit slow but useful if the wired internet's gone down. I'm on a sim plan with no tethering and they've not detected anything.

Perhaps it's because I use it occasionally? The only way to see if it works is suck it and see. If it works, then happy days, it's a bonus.
dslrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:05.