Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Updated Chrome - New Tab


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2013, 17:52
jsmith99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14,327

I had the old Chrome 'new tab' nicely set up, with a mixture of the 'app' links and links to my most visited web sites. It took a while to hone them down to the eight I wanted.

Following the upgrade all I have is a Google search box (which I can do already in the omnibox) and a solitary link. Because, apparently, if I go to a web site via Bookmarks it won't appear on the new tab page.

Ok, I can have 'Apps' on the toolbar, and click on it after I open a new tab, but I don't want that. I want to reduce clutter, so I don't want 'Apps' on there at all.

Is there any way to go back to my old page when I select ;new tab'? I can't see anything in 'Settings'. And in Tools I can create application shortcuts in various places, but not 'new tab'.
jsmith99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-10-2013, 19:25
paulsalter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK - Bilsdale
Posts: 11,435
if you go to

chrome://flags in the address bar

then look for Enable Instant Extended API

change this to disabled

Note though that Google has a habit of removing the flags that revert things, so not sure how long this can be turned off for
paulsalter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 23:59
jsmith99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14,327
The option below the description says "Enable", so I assume it's already disabled.

I should point out that I haven't the faintest idea what it means, nor what I'd with it,
jsmith99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 01:53
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,770
The option below the description says "Enable", so I assume it's already disabled.

I should point out that I haven't the faintest idea what it means, nor what I'd with it,
It should say "Default" by, erm, default... Whatever it says, change it to "Disabled" and Bob's your uncle.
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 15:34
shadowassassin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,516
The new tab page is absolutely insane, I have no idea what the Google engineers were thinking...Why add a redundant search box/logo there when the omnibar is selected by default, I mean, it takes a whole mouse movement/click to use something I can just type and press enter. Also the way you can't edit your favourite pages (appears to just be static HTML now ) and the fact apps have their own entry on the favourites bar.

Good job Google...
shadowassassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 20:00
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,853
if you go to

chrome://flags in the address bar

then look for Enable Instant Extended API

change this to disabled

Note though that Google has a habit of removing the flags that revert things, so not sure how long this can be turned off for
Fantastic!
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2014, 15:28
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,770
It seems that as of Chrome 33, this work-around is now defunct...
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:42.