Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Printer spools but does not print


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2013, 17:28
Ginny
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159

printer Brother DCP6690CW, Dell Inspiron laptop, OS Windows 7 64bit

THE PROBLEM. The printer spools but does not print, although the document shows up briefly as printing in the print dialogue box.

I have tried all the obvious things including checking wireless connections and ports, stopping and restarting the print spooler, unplugging printer and restarting, reinstalling driver, restarting computer etc.

The printer itself is not the problem. No hardware issues are detected and it is online and ready. Ink and paper supplies are fine and it will print directly as a photocopier.

Any suggestions gratefully received, thanks.
Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-10-2013, 18:37
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,292
The printer itself IS the problem.

If your print job spools and you see it momentarily go in and out of the print queue, that means that the printer has accepted the job. From there it's all down to the printer.

Something is happening in between the printer accepting the job and the actual print operation taking place.

Run some manufacturer diagnostics?
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 18:54
Ginny
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159
Thanks, that helps me with where to start.
How do I run the diagnostics?
Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 19:06
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,983
printer Brother DCP6690CW, Dell Inspiron laptop, OS Windows 7 64bit

THE PROBLEM. The printer spools but does not print, although the document shows up briefly as printing in the print dialogue box.

I have tried all the obvious things including checking wireless connections and ports, stopping and restarting the print spooler, unplugging printer and restarting, reinstalling driver, restarting computer etc.

The printer itself is not the problem. No hardware issues are detected and it is online and ready. Ink and paper supplies are fine and it will print directly as a photocopier.

Any suggestions gratefully received, thanks.
Talking of simple: have you just tried turning the printer off and on?
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 19:19
Ginny
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159
Yes, and have held down power button to clear memory.
Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 19:38
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 10,971
What happens when you try a test page directly from the printer?
What happens when you send a test page to print?
tealady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 20:27
Ginny
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159
Printer will print directly, but trying to print a test page from the laptop produces same problem i.e. it spools but nothing is printed. I get a message saying a test page has been sent; I see it show briefly in the print dialogue box but then it disappears into the ether.
Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 20:57
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6,126
try a new cable? made sure the paper size is the same as the printer expects a4 v's letter?

try the printer on another machine as well so if it works ok on another you know its the machine not the printer at fault
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 21:12
cat's whiskas
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 584
Have you tried a reset?
http://printercode.blogspot.co.uk/20...cp-6690cw.html

I used to have similar problems with a HP PSC 2110, after numerous resets (the problem kept coming back) I binned it.
cat's whiskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 21:29
Ginny
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159
Thanks for all the suggestions and I've gone through them all, but with no success so far.
Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 21:58
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 10,971
Isn't it a wireless connection?
Thanks for all the suggestions and I've gone through them all, but with no success so far.
So it doesn't work with another machine connected?
tealady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 22:03
Ginny
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159
Problem solved!
I deleted the printer and then added it again.
Printer Properties now says its port is a WSD port, although the printer itself says it is still on its previous Standard TCP/IP port, which I don't understand but am just pleased to be able to print again.
Thanks again.
Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:56.