Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Satellite EPG Does Not Update Properly


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2013, 20:00
boba
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fife
Posts: 81

I have just got a Sony KDL-55W905A. In general its a great TV but it has a problem with the on-board satellite tuner EPG which doesn't update properly. If I switch to the satellite tuner and look at the EPG it has no programme info. If I view a station it initially says there is no programme info and then after a moment it displays the station OK. If I then go back to the EPG there is programme info for that station and usually another dozen or so adjacent stations but only for the next couple of programmes, not a week or so.

I can do this all through the EPG and each time I view a station a couple of pages of the adjacent stations on the EPG get filled in for the next programme or 2. After an hour or 2 when those programmes have elapsed the EPG is blank again but it can always be refreshed as above.

I've tried rescanning the satellites and it finds hundreds of channels but the EPG never has any programme info. Any ideas?
boba is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 06-10-2013, 10:19
Anjomo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 227
I have the same set, but both my dish cables are going into the Sky box so I can't test for you unfortunately. I don't think it has a freesat EPG though, only a freeview one.
I can't find anything definite to confirm that other than posts like this,http://www.avforums.com/forums/19307797-post399.html
Anjomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 10:34
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,802
As above.
Looking at reviews most mention the satellite DVB-S2 tuner but not Freesat.
Even the spec given on the Sony website is ambiguous only stating
DVB-T (digital terrestrial)
DVB-T2 (digital terrestrial)
DVB-S (digital satellite)
DVB-S2 (digital satellite)
DVB-C (digital cable)

So, I think it's safe to assume that it doesn't have a Freesat tuner and therefore only 'Now and Next' information will be shown on the satellite EPG
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 15:23
boba
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fife
Posts: 81
Oh well - thanks for that anyway.

Doesn't really matter very much because I use the Sky+ box anyway, just thought that I'd try it out as I have a spare feed from the dish. It recognises lots of channels including a great many that aren't on Sky or FreeSat but whether any of them are worth watching is another matter.
boba is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:23.