Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

sound problems,


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2013, 22:57
jasonjimbob
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South East Wales
Posts: 743

I just had to reformat my PC to get it working properly as non of the installed programs would load, I reinstalled all the programmes again and updated all the drivers, but after doing all of this I cant get any sound through my speakers, especially through youtube, the speakers are powered up and connected properly, but all I can hear is a rumbling sound, the volume is turned up to maximum through the volume setting and after selecting a video, I click on the volume control to get sound, but still nothing, any one have any ideas what I can do next?
jasonjimbob is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-10-2013, 23:23
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,455
Look in Device manager next to Sound, any ? marks or exclamations !! ??
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 09:18
jasonjimbob
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South East Wales
Posts: 743
I have checked that and on the Control Panel, the Sounds, Speech and Audio Devices allows me to see what the settings are, when I click the prompt to adjust the volume, I am now getting told that there is "No Audio Device" which means that I cannot adjust the volume at all, It seems to me that the Sound Card is not working anymore after reformatting and installing Service Pack 3 for Windows XP, The PC is made by Packard Bell and has a Pentium 4 Processor.

Last edited by jasonjimbob : 06-10-2013 at 09:21. Reason: added info
jasonjimbob is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 09:50
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,020
I have checked that and on the Control Panel, the Sounds, Speech and Audio Devices allows me to see what the settings are, when I click the prompt to adjust the volume, I am now getting told that there is "No Audio Device" which means that I cannot adjust the volume at all, It seems to me that the Sound Card is not working anymore after reformatting and installing Service Pack 3 for Windows XP, The PC is made by Packard Bell and has a Pentium 4 Processor.
It probably means you haven't installed the drivers for the sound card. What's the exact model number of the PC? It should be on the case somewhere.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 09:59
jasonjimbob
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South East Wales
Posts: 743
It probably means you haven't installed the drivers for the sound card. What's the exact model number of the PC? It should be on the case somewhere.
IMEDIA MC 9094
jasonjimbob is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:45
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,020
No, that's not going to help. Try putting the serial number in the site below:
http://www.packardbell.co.uk/pb/en/GB/content/download

If not, if you can identify the year of manufacture and the name of the specific soundcard you can download drivers here:
ftp://ftp.download.packardbell.com/DESKTOP/
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 16:44
jasonjimbob
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South East Wales
Posts: 743
No, that's not going to help. Try putting the serial number in the site below:
http://www.packardbell.co.uk/pb/en/GB/content/download

If not, if you can identify the year of manufacture and the name of the specific soundcard you can download drivers here:
ftp://ftp.download.packardbell.com/DESKTOP/
I jotted down the serial numbers carefully and inputed them in to the first link but the website says it cannot find the model. I don't really know what year it was manufactured because I bought the tower from a family member who buys computers cheap and reprogrammes them to modern browsers. I took the cover off the tower and found a selection of numbers on the mother board and various microchips, jotted them down too and also typed them in but with the same result. I checked the second link but my soundcard was not listed. it seems to be a RTL 8101L and there was a batch of numbers on it too. It is driving me nuts trying to sort it out and get the sound back. it is probably something that can be fixed easily and quickly.

Last edited by jasonjimbob : 06-10-2013 at 16:48. Reason: added info,
jasonjimbob is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 17:21
chappie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 282
you can get a sound card for less than a fiver on E bay, you don't have to use the built in one
chappie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 17:23
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,020
I jotted down the serial numbers carefully and inputed them in to the first link but the website says it cannot find the model. I don't really know what year it was manufactured because I bought the tower from a family member who buys computers cheap and reprogrammes them to modern browsers. I took the cover off the tower and found a selection of numbers on the mother board and various microchips, jotted them down too and also typed them in but with the same result. I checked the second link but my soundcard was not listed. it seems to be a RTL 8101L and there was a batch of numbers on it too. It is driving me nuts trying to sort it out and get the sound back. it is probably something that can be fixed easily and quickly.
All I can suggest is that you try and download the RTL drivers in the folders on this site and try them one by one.
ftp://ftp.download.packardbell.com/DESKTOP/
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 18:38
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 11,036
you can get a sound card for less than a fiver on E bay, you don't have to use the built in one
I was thinking the same thing, having looked at ebuyer. Plenty there too for 5 to 10 (making sure you chose a compatible one). OP just has to weigh up the hassle of a driver search v small amount on a new card (assuming available slots).
tealady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 20:34
Johnbee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,376
A bit basic I know, but in control panel, click sound, and make sure that the default sound device is set to what you want (all that reinstalling will have changed the defaults).
Johnbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 21:07
jasonjimbob
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South East Wales
Posts: 743
A Big Thank You to everyone who took the time to give me advice. I was able to get Drivers for the sound (on CD-Rom) and was able to restore the sound today. ,
jasonjimbob is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 22:05
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 11,036
pardon?
tealady is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:44.