Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Humax Fox T2 vs Panasonic DMR-HWT230


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14-10-2013, 17:28
jsmith99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14,298

I'm thinking of changing my broadband from BT to ... who knows .. before BT put their prices up in january.

As part of the package I have BT Vision box. At the time, this cost 4 a month, and an equivalent PVR cost about 300, so it was good value.

BT Vision now costs 5 a month, and the new software has a lot of faults.Having looked at Amazon today, I find that PVRs have fallen in price considerably.

I'm looking at two models, as in the title, though I'd appreciate hearing of better ones. However, there are a couple of things I'd like which I don't see mentioned.

1) Do these models have what I think is called RF Out? In other words, can I record two programmes, and watch a third via the TV tuner?

2) Both have USB sockets. Can I copy recorded programmes onto memory sticks?

Thanks for any replies.
jsmith99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 14-10-2013, 18:07
D.Page
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London
Posts: 1,501
I have the Humax HD-Fox T2, but don't know if this is the model you mean when you say Humax Fox T2. Ignore this post if it isn't.

Great unit, extremely good HD pictures. It has an RF in and RF out. It only has a single built-in tuner, so it cannot tune to two channels simultaneously, if that's what you mean.

Yes, with the latest software update, I understand you can connect an external hard drive via the USB connection, to record programmes. Not sure about whether you can record directly onto memory sticks. It should tell you in the manual:

http://www.helpscheme.co.uk/files/he...GB_10-1215.pdf
D.Page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2013, 18:13
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,756
This one will record two and let you watch a third subject to Mux limits. eg Record BBC1-HD, Record BBC2-HD and watch any other channel (also live pause it). After one of the two recordings finishes you can even record the third using the time shift buffer.


http://www.humaxdirect.co.uk/product.asp?ProdRef=10095
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2013, 18:51
nvingo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: wisbech, cambs / norfolk
Posts: 3,681
1) Do these models have what I think is called RF Out? In other words, can I record two programmes, and watch a third via the TV tuner?
All PVRs have RF loopthrough which enables chaining of the aerial signal so that a single aerial point can feed multiple devices. Of course the TV doesn't have aerial loopthrough meaning the TV set is always last in any chain.
So yes you can record two channels on eg. the Humax HDR Fox-T2 whilst viewing any other channel via the TV tuner.
nvingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2013, 21:06
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,756
All PVRs have RF loopthrough which enables chaining of the aerial signal so that a single aerial point can feed multiple devices. Of course the TV doesn't have aerial loopthrough meaning the TV set is always last in any chain.
So yes you can record two channels on eg. the Humax HDR Fox-T2 whilst viewing any other channel via the TV tuner.
My last Sony TV did have loopthrough . The exception proves the rule .

In any case unless the signal is very marginal you can always simply use a uhf splitter. For many this can mean a small energy saving by simply splitting the signal before the input to the Freeview pvr, allowing low power sby mode to be used.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2013, 23:15
jsmith99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14,298
Thanks for the replies.

I have the Humax HD-Fox T2, but don't know if this is the model you mean when you say Humax Fox T2. Ignore this post if it isn't.

Great unit, extremely good HD pictures. It has an RF in and RF out. It only has a single built-in tuner, so it cannot tune to two channels simultaneously, if that's what you mean.

Yes, with the latest software update, I understand you can connect an external hard drive via the USB connection, to record programmes. Not sure about whether you can record directly onto memory sticks. It should tell you in the manual:

http://www.helpscheme.co.uk/files/he...GB_10-1215.pdf
The HDR-Fox T2 may be a later model and has two tuners. (I left the 'HDR' out of the title to make sure it would fit the title box).

http://www.amazon.co.uk/HDR-FOX-T2-F...hdr+fox+t2+500

Recording to external hard drive is fine. It means I can record music and copy it onto my laptop.

This one will record two and let you watch a third subject to Mux limits. eg Record BBC1-HD, Record BBC2-HD and watch any other channel (also live pause it). After one of the two recordings finishes you can even record the third using the time shift buffer.

http://www.humaxdirect.co.uk/product.asp?ProdRef=10095
The spec for your link showed "RF loop-through", confirmed by the post below:

All PVRs have RF loopthrough which enables chaining of the aerial signal so that a single aerial point can feed multiple devices. Of course the TV doesn't have aerial loopthrough meaning the TV set is always last in any chain.
So yes you can record two channels on eg. the Humax HDR Fox-T2 whilst viewing any other channel via the TV tuner.
That's great, unless I find a model with better reviews I'll go for the Humax T2. I don't even need the 1TB model - we normally watch recordings within two weeks at most.
jsmith99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 10:09
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,756
Both the HDR FOX T2 and the HD FOX T2 have rf loopthrough. To use it the box low power sby mode has to be disabled. To save power the rf loop amplifier is not powered in low power sby mode. For this reason if you have a decent signal a uhf splitter could be the best option to save a few pennies.

Like all Humax tuners the one in the HD FOX T2 is capable of handling two channels at the same time from the same MUX.

For instance you can record any HD channel and also watch any other HD channel even though the box only has a single tuner.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 11:55
jsmith99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14,298
Both the HDR FOX T2 and the HD FOX T2 have rf loopthrough. To use it the box low power sby mode has to be disabled. To save power the rf loop amplifier is not powered in low power sby mode. For this reason if you have a decent signal a uhf splitter could be the best option to save a few pennies...............
Thanks graham. Presumably instructions on how to enable the loopthrough would be in the manual.

Would it be a one-off, or would I need to do it whenever I switched from HDMI to TV?

I've got into the habit of watching on TV unless I actually needed the box. This stems from when I had virginmedia, and the box ran extremely hot.
jsmith99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 15:14
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,756
Thanks graham. Presumably instructions on how to enable the loopthrough would be in the manual.

Would it be a one-off, or would I need to do it whenever I switched from HDMI to TV?

I've got into the habit of watching on TV unless I actually needed the box. This stems from when I had virginmedia, and the box ran extremely hot.
It's a one off change. Same procedure with either box

Menu - Settings - System - Power Management - Power Saving In Sby - OFF

It increases the sby power consumption from less than 1 watt to approx 3 watts.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 15:24
jsmith99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14,298
It's a one off change. Same procedure with either box

Menu - Settings - System - Power Management - Power Saving In Sby - OFF

It increases the sby power consumption from less than 1 watt to approx 3 watts.
Thanks for that.
jsmith99 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:08.