Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

BBC THREE HD and CBBC HD placeholders now up


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-10-2013, 11:43
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 866

Just appeared on the BBCB mux:

LCN 105 BBC THREE HD
LCN 73 CBBC HD

MHEG says "New service launching soon"
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 15-10-2013, 11:49
Nightdeamon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,620
ok... why couldn't they put BBC Three HD on 107? Guess Channel 5 won't be launching medium term.
Nightdeamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 11:50
OwenSmith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,753
Those LCNs are unfortunate, they break the link between the SD and HD channel numbers that has existed so far.

EDIT: but I do like 105 sticking two fingers up to Channel 5. They had their chance (twice) to be 105 and they preferred Sky's money.
OwenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 12:31
IanP
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 3,071
The Freeview EPG numbering is a total disaster anyway. I wonder if BBC Three HD will launch ahead of the Doctor Who 50th 3D special and show it to allow Sky 3D viewers to see it.
IanP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 13:04
derek500
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 17,622
The Freeview EPG numbering is a total disaster anyway. I wonder if BBC Three HD will launch ahead of the Doctor Who 50th 3D special and show it to allow Sky 3D viewers to see it.
I thought it was going on Red Button HD and not BBC Three.
derek500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 13:31
Reg_1994
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 48

EDIT: but I do like 105 sticking two fingers up to Channel 5. They had their chance (twice) to be 105 and they preferred Sky's money.
That's exactly what I thought. Channel 5 can balls!
Reg_1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 13:47
popeye13
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: England, Midlands & London
Posts: 3,684
Channel 5 had their chances. Its tough for them and rightly so. First come, first serve. No doubt 5 will use it though as a reason to bitch & moan.
Glad to see the placeholders active, it means they are coming sooner than planned
popeye13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 13:50
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,454
Is it a matter of months or weeks away then.
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 14:03
SheddyIan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 30
EPG information is a bit confused - my Sony TV is telling me that CBBC HD is currently "showing" Hancock's Half Hour, and BBC Three HD has Shelagh Fogarty on at the moment.

Those programmes are currently on BBC Radio 4 Extra and Radio 5 Live.

(They're only showing as the "now" programme, there's no "next" available. Full EPG is also missing)

Ian
SheddyIan is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 14:32
leslie123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 358
Here in London on Crystal Palace we also have Al-jazeera HD on 108 currently running a promotion loop for a launch soon. Unlike BBC Three HD, this is being broadcast on a new multiplex on CH.33, BBC2's old analogue frequency, the original UHF channel here in the UK. Signal strength is slightly lower than the others as expected and predicted as no doubt that they are probably using the old pre DSO equipment.
leslie123 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 14:34
OwenSmith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,753
Here in London on Crystal Palace we also have Al-jazeera HD on 108 currently running a promotion loop for a launch soon. Unlike BBC Three HD, this is being broadcast on a new multiplex on CH.33, BBC2's old analogue frequency, the original UHF channel here in the UK. Signal strength is slightly lower than the others as expected and predicted as no doubt that they are probably using the old pre DSO equipment.
Is that a local mux or is it the national mux 7 or 8 from Crystal Palace?
OwenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 14:37
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 866
Here in London on Crystal Palace we also have Al-jazeera HD on 108 currently running a promotion loop for a launch soon. Unlike BBC Three HD, this is being broadcast on a new multiplex on CH.33, BBC2's old analogue frequency, the original UHF channel here in the UK. Signal strength is slightly lower than the others as expected and predicted as no doubt that they are probably using the old pre DSO equipment.
That looks like the new interim layer7 mux has fired up. No sign here from Winter Hill yet, though my scripts are checking for them, but WH isn't one of the first to start anyway as the install is more complex with transmitters being shipped in from Croydon.

What else can you see on the new mux?

(Edit: might be worth starting a new thread rather than mix in with this one.)
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 15:15
figrin_dan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,274
That's weird. Al Jazeera wasn't there when I came looking for this thread (BBCs were) Now it's there. Anyone NOT from Crystal Palace receiving these?

FYI Al Jazeera is by itself and 1440x1080i
figrin_dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 15:28
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
So presumably, LCN 106 will go to BBC Four HD, with LCN 107 going to BBC News HD...
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 15:41
Mickey_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,597
So presumably, LCN 106 will go to BBC Four HD, with LCN 107 going to BBC News HD...
You're probably right, which would mean that Al Jazeera have got themselves a pretty decent slot at 108 and nicely ahead of anything CH4 offer. Fair play to them.
Mickey_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 16:00
OwenSmith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,753
You're probably right, which would mean that Al Jazeera have got themselves a pretty decent slot at 108 and nicely ahead of anything CH4 offer. Fair play to them.
Al Jazeera HD is one of the better things we could have got. I'd far rather have that than HD shopping or babe channels.
OwenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 16:04
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
Al Jazeera HD is one of the better things we could have got. I'd far rather have that than HD shopping or babe channels.
Shopping and adult chat channels are meant to get the viewer on the phone spending cash rather than staring at the screen, so, thankfully, they are more likely to go for the cheap, low bitrate, slots.
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 16:15
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,512
Oh joy, I can get the new low power HD mux from Crystal Palace perfectly down here in Sussex.
kasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 16:16
djmark
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Essex
Posts: 228
Poor signal here on Al Jazeera HD, only 2/10 signal quality. Is this the full power on this mux?
djmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 16:23
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,512
Poor signal here on Al Jazeera HD, only 2/10 signal quality. Is this the full power on this mux?
Judging from the signal here right on the fringe, I would say almost certainly. Bizarrely, although the signal strength of the new mux on ch 33 is lower than the full power HD mux on ch 30, the signal quality shows significantly higher. On my Technika, which uses a much lower value for signal strength than my other receivers, the full power mux shows as about 75/75 and the low power mux at about 40/90.
kasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 16:33
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 866
Judging from the signal here right on the fringe, I would say almost certainly. Bizarrely, although the signal strength of the new mux on ch 33 is lower than the full power HD mux on ch 30, the signal quality shows significantly higher. On my Technika, which uses a much lower value for signal strength than my other receivers, the full power mux shows as about 75/75 and the low power mux at about 40/90.
Perhaps it is in a more robust symbol rate and/or error correction to compensate for the lower power? Given this is likely to be under test at the moment, things may change.

Anyone else think this deserves its own thread and a changelog mention? I'm rather loathe to do it myself since I'm 200miles away and can't receive it.. I did suggest this to Leslie123 as the finder but have had no response.
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 16:34
timo_w2s
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: S.Bucks,UK & Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 2,968
Not picking it up at all in south Bucks from CP. In the pre-DSO days I could get the HD mux but it would start to breakup if there was local interference.
timo_w2s is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 16:59
figrin_dan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,274
Perhaps it is in a more robust symbol rate and/or error correction to compensate for the lower power? Given this is likely to be under test at the moment, things may change.
Same config as channel C30 but 15dB lower (here in Herts). I would guess the low "quality" is possibly due to other transmitters sharing C30.
figrin_dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 17:01
OwenSmith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,753
Same config as channel C30 but 15dB lower (here in Herts). I would guess the low "quality" is possibly due to other transmitters sharing C30.
I think you mean sharing C33.
OwenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 17:02
Peter Rhea
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 283
Bizarrely, although the signal strength of the new mux on ch 33 is lower than the full power HD mux on ch 30, the signal quality shows significantly higher.
If CP is the only '600 MHz' transmiter running atm, there won't be any UK-based interference on ch. 33.
Peter Rhea is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:32.