Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

BBC THREE HD and CBBC HD placeholders now up


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-10-2013, 17:05
figrin_dan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,321
I think you mean sharing C33.
No I was quoting a post that was quoting a post that said the quality of C33 was better than C30, even though the power was lower.
figrin_dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 15-10-2013, 17:33
DragonQ
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,172
For some reason I can't pick up Arq B, Local, HD 1, or HD 2 at the moment from Crystal Palace. I can get BBC A, BBC B, SDN, Arq A and D 3&4 though. Hmm.
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 17:42
spyrojam86
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 65
Just appeared on the BBCB mux:

LCN 105 BBC THREE HD
LCN 73 CBBC HD

MHEG says "New service launching soon"
Probably the best news I have read about Freeview in ages!
spyrojam86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 17:54
Philip Nixon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Stoke on Trent,staffs,UK
Posts: 1,168
Winter Hill has the placeholders up now too.
Philip Nixon is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 17:58
Roland Mouse
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9,323
That's good news. I wonder when and where it will pop up on Satellite?

But before Xmas is better than next year as they said it would be.

Slightly off topic: I wonder if all these new FREE HD channels popping up will make Sky rethink their 10 extra for HD channels? (No hope and Bob Hope I think!)
Roland Mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 18:04
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 948
Winter Hill has the placeholders up now too.
They (73,105) came up at 11:30 ish this morning on WH - that's my tx as well.
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 18:14
Winston_1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,099
Just appeared on the BBCB mux:

LCN 105 BBC THREE HD
LCN 73 CBBC HD

MHEG says "New service launching soon"
It actually says "New channels" which is wrong. It's a new channel, one Channel which changes it's name and LCN twice a day. It's time the BBC knew what a channel is.
Winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 18:20
Roland Mouse
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9,323
It actually says "New channels" which is wrong. It's a new channel, one Channel which changes it's name and LCN twice a day. It's time the BBC knew what a channel is.
And to be pedantic it's nothing new as BBC3 has been there for some time now.

So it's two halves of a better quality service of two half channels.

Anyway: They are up on my Dover transmitter and already tuned in on my TV.
Roland Mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 18:29
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 948
It actually says "New channels"
Sometime today it has been changed from the text I saw and reported this morning. Now has:

BBC logo

Coming soon, new HD channels from the BBC:

Ch 73 CBBC HD
Ch 105 BBC THREE HD

Seems fine to me
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 18:41
eladkse
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lincoln / York
Posts: 269
Sometime today it has been changed from the text I saw and reported this morning. Now has:

BBC logo

Coming soon, new HD channels from the BBC:

Ch 73 CBBC HD
Ch 105 BBC THREE HD

Seems fine to me
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-jDQFXdYcQr...CHDCaption.png
eladkse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 18:43
popeye13
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: England, Midlands & London
Posts: 4,140
FYI Al Jazeera is by itself and 1440x1080i
Im hoping thats not going to be the resolution at launch or after horizontal stretching, it will look shite, much like BBC HD did before they finally got their act together and went to 1920
popeye13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:03
DragonQ
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,172
There's no reason for them to use 1440x1080i/25; surely the new muxes will use the same encoders as BBC B, which can handle 5 1920x1080i/25 streams.
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:07
OwenSmith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,774
There's no reason for them to use 1440x1080i/25; surely the new muxes will use the same encoders as BBC B, which can handle 5 1920x1080i/25 streams.
Only if the new HD muxes have the same total bit rate as BBC B. If any of the parameters are different eg. more robust to increase coverage, then you won't be able to use the same encoders configuration.
OwenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:10
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 948
Can we give them a chance folks? It's a test reel on the first day we've noticed that an unannounced transmission has appeared! I'm seeing someone on twitter posting that it had gone off air ( https://twitter.com/StevenNT/status/390144954011369472 ) - anyone confirm that?
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:13
ney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Scotland, Dunfermline Area
Posts: 9,069
Glad to see the new HD place holders up here from Craigkelly transmitter to via the Youview box. Hope the other BBC HD channel place holders will go up soon. Hope the channels will start before Christmas. Although I do watch BBC 3 I can't say I watch it everyday.
I'm the same with BBC 2 I do watch that channel but not everyday.
As for BBC 4 I only watch that channel now and again.
Dad likes BBC news channel so that being in HD soon will be good.

Darren
ney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:31
lundavra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14,902
BBC3 HD showing as new channel on Freeview Lite, does that mean that we will not get BBC4 HD? I would have thought that a case could be made for BBC4 HD rather than BBC3 HD if it is not possible to carry both on Freeview Lite.
lundavra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:31
OwenSmith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,774
Glad to see the new HD place holders up here from Craigkelly transmitter to via the Youview box. Hope the other BBC HD channel place holders will go up soon. Hope the channels will start before Christmas.
BBC3 and CBBC HD are easy because they're on the existing HD mux which is already broadcasting nationally. The other new BBC HD channels need the new HD muxes which involves physical engineering work and that takes time.
OwenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:34
OwenSmith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,774
BBC3 HD showing as new channel on Freeview Lite, does that mean that we will not get BBC4 HD? I would have thought that a case could be made for BBC4 HD rather than BBC3 HD if it is not possible to carry both on Freeview Lite.
It is not possible to carry both BBC3 HD and BBC4 HD on Freeview Lite. BBC4 HD will be on one of the new HD muxes which aren't even going to be on all the main transmitters, and even the transmitters that do get it will be reduced power compared to the existing muxes.
OwenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:34
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,633
BBC3 HD showing as new channel on Freeview Lite, does that mean that we will not get BBC4 HD? I would have thought that a case could be made for BBC4 HD rather than BBC3 HD if it is not possible to carry both on Freeview Lite.
That's been discussed a fair bit before, but unfortunately BBC3 gets more viewers than BBC4. You will only get BBC3 HD on "Freeview Lite."
kasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:35
OwenSmith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,774
That's been discussed a fair bit before, but unfortunately BBC3 gets more viewers than BBC4. You will only get BBC3 HD on "Freeview Lite."
Well actuallly you will get CBBC HD and BBC3 HD on Freeview Lite, they timeshare.
OwenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:39
eladkse
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lincoln / York
Posts: 269
BBC3 HD showing as new channel on Freeview Lite, does that mean that we will not get BBC4 HD? I would have thought that a case could be made for BBC4 HD rather than BBC3 HD if it is not possible to carry both on Freeview Lite.
Only BBC Three/CBBC HD will be available to Freeview Lite areas (and many other normal Freeview transmitters for that matter). And while yes, a case might be made for BBC Four HD to be on that instead, that would mean BBC Four/CBeebies HD - which doesn't really cater to as many people (imho).
eladkse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:51
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,633
Anyone else think this deserves its own thread and a changelog mention?
I've posted it on the Change Log.
kasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 19:54
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,633
It actually says "New channels" which is wrong. It's a new channel, one Channel which changes it's name and LCN twice a day. It's time the BBC knew what a channel is.
The BBC's definition of a television channel agrees with mine. It's a matter of opinion, not fact.
kasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 20:42
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 6,240
That's good news. I wonder when and where it will pop up on Satellite?

But before Xmas is better than next year as they said it would be.

Slightly off topic: I wonder if all these new FREE HD channels popping up will make Sky rethink their 10 extra for HD channels? (No hope and Bob Hope I think!)
Sky dont charge 10 for HD unless you are getting premium channels in HD now, since April this year Sky have EE+ which is Entertainment Extra with HD in line with that and that also includes Boxsets on demand content (not the catch up on demand content) for 5 more than normal EE.
Its much better.
lotrjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2013, 20:47
paulx23
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 304
It actually says "New channels" which is wrong. It's a new channel, one Channel which changes it's name and LCN twice a day. It's time the BBC knew what a channel is.
Do you go through life doing this?
paulx23 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:35.