Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

New Win7 PC


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22-10-2013, 00:09
ekim316
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,188

Anyone know the best place to buy a pre-built win7 PC? Want something like an i3 or above, 1TB HDD, 6GB RAM, 1GB GPU
ekim316 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 22-10-2013, 08:34
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,958
Why do you have two threads open for basically the same thing?
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 08:45
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,109
Basically anywhere that sells business PCs. Dell, HP, Lenovo etc all have plenty of PCs shipping with either 7 preinstalled or Windows 8 Pro with a 7 Pro disk so that you can legally downgrade it with.
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 09:01
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 18,099
you could try Novatech, i don't know what they are like, but they seem to have some pretty decent spec machines in there, with no OS, or you can buy your own choice of Os from them, including windows 7

I only noticed the company while talking with a mate about machines with no OS.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 13:40
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 51,427
Misco would be a good place to try, but you'd have to order online. They sell business PCs and most of them come with either Windows 7 or Windows 8 with an option to "upgrade" to Windows 7.
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 14:02
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 19,011
Anyone know the best place to buy a pre-built win7 PC? Want something like an i3 or above, 1TB HDD, 6GB RAM, 1GB GPU
There's a load of Win 7 machines on Amazon under the Zoostorm brand.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 15:09
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,491
Plus 1 vote for Novatech, I've been buying off them for a few years, give them a ring.

I5 bare bones unit, thats case, motherboard, cpu and 8gb ram 305
1TB drive 49
DVD writer 13

370 plus an operating system if you don't have your own.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 16:24
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,795
Novatech or one of the Scan value systems...

Why do you have two threads open for basically the same thing?
Oh yeah...
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2013, 15:26
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 18,099
Plus 1 vote for Novatech, I've been buying off them for a few years, give them a ring.

I5 bare bones unit, thats case, motherboard, cpu and 8gb ram 305
1TB drive 49
DVD writer 13

370 plus an operating system if you don't have your own.
If I ever decide to get another laptop I t6hink I would have a look at Novatech, the choice of not having a OS appeals to me.

the problem is are their Laptops any good
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 15:56
popamber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cwmbran
Posts: 262
There's a load of Win 7 machines on Amazon under the Zoostorm brand.

Sorry, this is nothing to do with original post. I have windows 7 on my computer, and I used to happily do my little bits and pieces, a few document and address labels. Now when I go into overwrite these things, it's telling me they're in windows 10 and I need to buy it???? I never installed Windows 10 and don't particularly need to buy it, what has updated all my stuff to this. Mighty confused, it doesn't take much!!!!
popamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 16:11
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 51,427
There's a load of Win 7 machines on Amazon under the Zoostorm brand.

Sorry, this is nothing to do with original post. I have windows 7 on my computer, and I used to happily do my little bits and pieces, a few document and address labels. Now when I go into overwrite these things, it's telling me they're in windows 10 and I need to buy it???? I never installed Windows 10 and don't particularly need to buy it, what has updated all my stuff to this. Mighty confused, it doesn't take much!!!!
Of course you didn't buy Windows 10, it hasn't even been made yet
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 16:18
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,109
Sorry, this is nothing to do with original post. I have windows 7 on my computer, and I used to happily do my little bits and pieces, a few document and address labels. Now when I go into overwrite these things, it's telling me they're in windows 10 and I need to buy it???? I never installed Windows 10 and don't particularly need to buy it, what has updated all my stuff to this. Mighty confused, it doesn't take much!!!!
There is no such thing as Windows 10. Since you are talking about documents I guess you mean Office (2010). In which case Office has always been a separate application. If you want it you need to buy it, or there is a free starter version you can use instead which gives you cut-down versions of Word and Excel 2010. A 3rd option is to use something like LibreOffice instead which is completely free.
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 17:00
John259
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 13,235
In addition, both Google and Microsoft offer free cloud-based office systems - Google Docs and Microsoft Office Web Apps.
John259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 17:13
popamber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cwmbran
Posts: 262
There is no such thing as Windows 10. Since you are talking about documents I guess you mean Office (2010). In which case Office has always been a separate application. If you want it you need to buy it, or there is a free starter version you can use instead which gives you cut-down versions of Word and Excel 2010. A 3rd option is to use something like LibreOffice instead which is completely free.
Told you I'm easily confuse.............I'll give this Libre Office thing a go.I use these things so rarely. Thanks so much for your help. I did try to install a months free trial on Windows, but even that hasn't worked!!!

Thanks again
popamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 18:19
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,883
I don't understand why more people don't just buy the computer they want without an operating installed, then buy the OS they want separately.

Installing Windows 7 is so easy a child could do it - just a few clicks and select your language etc. and that's it.

(Having said that, a child is often more savvy than an adult in these things!)
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 19:12
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 18,099
I don't understand why more people don't just buy the computer they want without an operating installed, then buy the OS they want separately.

Installing Windows 7 is so easy a child could do it - just a few clicks and select your language etc. and that's it.

(Having said that, a child is often more savvy than an adult in these things!)
One problem is buying a computer without the Os can work out more expensive for some silly reason. Another problem is that while installing a Os is child play for you and me, it may not be for someone else and certainly not child play if the OS you are installing don't have all the drivers that are required.

Don't forget that new hardware comes out all the time, so you may buy a nice new computer with some new hardware on that your Os which may have been produced say 12 months back will not support. Sure you can download updates, but that is no good if it is your lan that is not supported.


Sure the manufactures of the computer/hardware could put a driver disk in with the package I suppose.

i do think we should have more of a choice and manufactures should start producing computer without the os, but I think they are too far up Billy Gates backside to be honest.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 19:29
John259
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 13,235
One problem is buying a computer without the Os can work out more expensive for some silly reason.
Because the cost is subsidised to some extent by the purveyors of the crapware which is pre-installed on most new computers.
John259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 21:35
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 7,232
Because the cost is subsidised to some extent by the purveyors of the crapware which is pre-installed on most new computers.
Which I would instantly wipe off a new PC that I got! So they would be subsidising but getting nothing back from me!
lotrjw is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:11.