Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Freesat or Freeview Recorders.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22-10-2013, 15:43
enna_g
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 390

Getting rid of Sky because of the cost and not sure whether to invest in a Freesat or Freeview recorder with either freetime or youview. Also not sure whether to get catch up with either an ethernet cable or wifi.
The Freesat seems to be more expensive and I guess would have much less interference. However I think using wifi for iplayer etc on Freesat takes a lot longer or is troublesome to load. On Demand on Sky was terrible and didn't work half the time.
Also do both freetime and youview give you the opportunity of going back a week to watch programmes you have missed?
enna_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 22-10-2013, 15:53
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,789
Using catch up services on either Freesat or Freeview is not a function of the platform but the box you use to receive those services. Plus your broadband connection of course. Nothing to do with either Freesat or Freeview necessarily.

Either Freetime or YouView will give you 7 day catchup, though not necessarily on every channel.

An ethernet cable can be more reliable than WiFi. Certainly can be far easier to set up, in many cases just plug it up and let the router and box sort themselves out
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 16:02
enna_g
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 390
Thanks chrisjr - I was wondering about the wifi - it's just a matter of getting a long enough ethernet cable although the router is pretty near most ethernet cables seem to be quite short.
Also now thinking if I can roll back a week do I really need to have catch up.
enna_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 16:07
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,789
Ethernet can do up to 100m without too much trouble. You can certainly get cables of 20m + from the usual on-line retailers and even some high street shops.

Freetime and YouView are catchup services. Just that instead of having to fire up a separate application you can access them from the EPG in much the same way as you can programmes for the week ahead.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 18:34
enna_g
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 390
Oh right I didn't realise that about the week's rolback. Also thanks for info on cables. I am afraid I am not au fait with all the technical stuff!
Now all I have to do is to decide which make and model I want and whether the more expensive ones are actually any better.
enna_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 21:34
murmansk69
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26
They did a review of catchup TV recorders on The Gadget Show on Channel 5 yesterday and the best one seemed to come out as the Humax YouView box with 1010 in its model number priced at about 225.

I've had various Humax boxes over the years and I'm a big fan of them.

They didn't seem too impressed with the picture quality on Freesat
murmansk69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 21:36
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,775
They didn't seem too impressed with the picture quality on Freesat
Would be as good/bad as is on Sky so don't think it would be an issue.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 21:40
technologist
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: London
Posts: 6,131
They didn't seem too impressed with the picture quality on Freesat
And we did not think much if the reviews
http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showt...2#post69357302
technologist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 22:56
gemma-the-husky
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 12,766
matter of taste really

we changed from sky, and got both freesat, and a freeview box eventually. tend to use the freeview pvr mostly. records two channels. and we never bother with catch up services.
gemma-the-husky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2013, 09:59
David (2)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Wiltshire
Posts: 16,096
If u already have a sky+ or sky hd u can simply swap the box over for a freesat+hd box.

If the old system is a plain sky u will need get the dish updated in order to fully use a freesat+hd box (or a sky+/hd box if u wanted that).

The signals for freesat are the same for sky and freesat. It's just that a freesat can't unlock any pay channels. So the source of pictures + sound are all the same. So very little difference picture on a sky box and a freesat box (the humax freesats tend to b very slightly sharper than a sky box just down to the electronics used in the box).

With freeview u have to be aware its not a universal service. Some areas get less chs than others and from next year the new chs due won't b avaliable to large numbers of people. As the op says there is a greater risk of interference on freeview, but there are risks of other probs too such as clashing or duplicate chs received from other transmitter masts in error. Aerial cables, plugs, + sockets also need to be in top condition to avoid pic breakup. Generally the freeview pictures are not quite as good compared with the same ch on freesat. But freeview Does have a few bonus chs (if u live in an area that can get them) which are not on freesat (they r pay chs on sky). Check the freeview web site to see what you can get on freeview in your area.
David (2) is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2013, 18:38
enna_g
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 390
Thank you all. I have a very old Freeview recorder which doesn't do series link and is not HD but I will return to that for a short while to see if the cutting out of the signal is still the same. The box itself was very good so I hope it is still working. It will give me a chance to see if the signal keeps cutting out like it used to and also the number of channels I can get.
To be honest now looking at all the models available and some of the reviews, I think I can do without Youview or Freetime equivalent and just get an HD recorder with a series link. That is if they still make them and they haven't become obsolete.
The Sky box is HD and has series link and has catch up- on demand so there should be no problem in using a Freesat HD Recorder.
So I can use either and will test to see best reception and number of channels on Freeview.
enna_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2013, 19:02
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 21,379
Getting rid of Sky because of the cost and not sure whether to invest in a Freesat or Freeview recorder with either freetime or youview. Also not sure whether to get catch up with either an ethernet cable or wifi.
The Freesat seems to be more expensive and I guess would have much less interference. However I think using wifi for iplayer etc on Freesat takes a lot longer or is troublesome to load. On Demand on Sky was terrible and didn't work half the time.
Also do both freetime and youview give you the opportunity of going back a week to watch programmes you have missed?
Yes, Youview (Freeview digital terrestrial) and Freetime (Freesat) boxes both have backwards scrolling EPGs to watch catchup programmes on the iPlayers from the four main traditional broadcasters (BBC, ITV, C4, C5).

You might get a subsidised Youview box from either BT or Talktalk and you can investigate their offers or you can buy these boxes separately. As for whether to go for Youview or Freetime, I'd suggest looking at the channel choice on offer from Freeview (see http://www.freeview.co.uk/whats-on/channels) and Freesat (see http://www.freesat.co.uk/channels and click on the various categories on the left hand side) and make your decision accordingly.

I have both Freeview and Freesat and I personally rate the picture quality as being higher overall on Freesat.
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2013, 11:22
enna_g
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 390
Ok - now I am confused (doesn't take much). I looked up BT box and found a great one from John Lewis for 199 Youview Smart 500GB. However it says that you also get Fox etc.
Surely not for nothing? Don't you have to have their Broadband as well? In which case I think you get the box for nothing and you pay extra for the extra channels.
So it seems you can buy a BT box but will it work on Plusnet broadband - which I have and do you pay for extra channels? Looking at BT site it seems that you do but they only do packages. The same with Talk Talk I guess.
I really don't want to leave Plusnet as they have given a good service and it is much more reasonable than BT.
enna_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2013, 11:51
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,789
Looking at the FAQs about BT TV it seems you need BT Broadband as well.

http://www.productsandservices.bt.co...?topicId=35167

There are at least three questions there all saying you need BT Broadband for BT TV. I suspect that without BT Broadband and a TV sub. the BT YouView box just works as a "normal" YouView device and you just get the catchup services and none of the extras.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2013, 13:02
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,428
`The free box from BT and TalkTalk are both there to entice you onto their BB, so theres the catch..
We were going to exchange our Humax Fox T2 freeview for a youview version but sat and thought about it and the only catch up we ever use is iPlayer. You get that with the normal Fox T2 so we wouldn't be gaining anything.
I don't recall not ever being able to record anything I need, so catch up is just a throw away for us. With all the plus channels and endless repeats I'm not getting a glow from catch up to be honest.
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2013, 17:35
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 21,379
You can buy a vanilla Youview box direct from any one of 8 retailers without any strings for about 200 - see http://www.youview.com/get-youview/ - and you can then use that box with your existing broadband provider.

Alternatively, you can get a subsidised Youview box from either TalkTalk or BT but you'll be marketed to and encouraged to get their add on channels and services at extra cost as well as having to change to their broadband service.
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2013, 20:01
gemma-the-husky
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 12,766
the bt youview is 5/month I think (with free sports, if you have bt broadband)

so over time you buy the box any way.
gemma-the-husky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 10:18
enna_g
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 390
Tempted by the BT box as you have said it will work with my broadband provider which is Plusnet. I am thinking if BT are supplying these boxes then they must be pretty good but don't want to get caught in the trap of being persuaded to pay extra for more channels!
However I noticed the Humax DTRT1010 Youview HD is 20 cheaper from the Humax Site which I find surprising. I looked at Tesco and Amazon and John Lewis. Tesco have none in stock.
I am also not sure about the Humax reviews. Some people are saying that it has problems - still there are always some problems with some machines it just depends if it is happening a lot.
enna_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 11:03
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,789
Tempted by the BT box as you have said it will work with my broadband provider which is Plusnet. I am thinking if BT are supplying these boxes then they must be pretty good but don't want to get caught in the trap of being persuaded to pay extra for more channels!
However I noticed the Humax DTRT1010 Youview HD is 20 cheaper from the Humax Site which I find surprising. I looked at Tesco and Amazon and John Lewis. Tesco have none in stock.
I am also not sure about the Humax reviews. Some people are saying that it has problems - still there are always some problems with some machines it just depends if it is happening a lot.
The BT box is a rebadged and probably slightly tweaked Humax DTR-T1000.

http://www.productsandservices.bt.co...tv/youview-box
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 12:21
enna_g
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 390
The BT box is a rebadged and probably slightly tweaked Humax DTR-T1000.

http://www.productsandservices.bt.co...tv/youview-box
Aaahh!
enna_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 12:30
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,789
Is that an "Aaaahh didn't know that" or an "Aaahhh oh bu**er that's bad news"?

Humax are one of the best makes of PVR out there. Certainly a lot better than the generic clone boxes you see piled high and sold cheap by the likes of Currys and Argos (many of which are the same box with a different badge stuck on the front).
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 21:26
David (2)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Wiltshire
Posts: 16,096
based on the previous models (pre Youview/freetime) I would have to say their Freesat box is way ahead of their Freeview box. Had both and was disappointed in the Humax freeview offering.
David (2) is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 21:41
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,693
based on the previous models (pre Youview/freetime) I would have to say their Freesat box is way ahead of their Freeview box. Had both and was disappointed in the Humax freeview offering.
Which Freeview box they have made rather a lot of models over the years ?
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 10:01
David (2)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Wiltshire
Posts: 16,096
Which Freeview box they have made rather a lot of models over the years ?
Not sure what your trying to say
David (2) is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 19:36
enna_g
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 390
Is that an "Aaaahh didn't know that" or an "Aaahhh oh bu**er that's bad news"?

Humax are one of the best makes of PVR out there. Certainly a lot better than the generic clone boxes you see piled high and sold cheap by the likes of Currys and Argos (many of which are the same box with a different badge stuck on the front).
More of an Aaaah-So really, meaning I didn't know that.
I have just tried out Freeview and the reception was awful, I could not pick up anything really even though I retuned twice. Mind you a hurricane is on the way! So the Humax Freesat it is. Just checking out the latest model with an ethernet connection rather than wifi.
enna_g is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:23.