Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Can't connect to Sky router on laptop with pcmcia card


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-10-2013, 22:55
The Wizard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,487

Transferred to Sky broadband last month and everything has been working fine but I reconfigured all tablets, Nintendo wii box and mobiles as well as a Toshiba netbook all fine but never bothered to setup my old laptop as we don't use it very often.

Came to use it tonight and tried to connect it to the router and I got a 'Windows is unable to connect to the selected network error' It can connect to my old Belkin router as well as my old O2 router but not the sky router but all other devices connect OK to my sky router. I don't get a password prompt just the error. The network adapter is a Belkin card inserted into the pcmcia slot (the laptop doesn't have built in wi-fi so I use an external adapter) and is using Windows to manage the networks not Belkin's own software. Trouble is I can't use my old router because Sky use mac address authentication so when I try to use my old Belkin router it wont connect to the internet even though I can access the router. I know it works.fine using wpa encryption as my old router used wpa so I know this isn't the issue.

I've had it working fine on other routers just not the Sky router. My netbook (which works fine is using XP Home on SP2) connects fine. Laptop is using XP Pro on SP2 but wont connect.

If all else fails I may have to consider bridging my old router to the Sky router and use my old router as an access point but don't really want to for that if I can help it.
The Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-10-2013, 23:09
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 5,309
Why not set up your old Belkin router so its hard wired to your new Sky router, by turning off the DHCP in the Belkin one and making sure that it has a different IP on the same subnet as the Sky router. Also make sure that the DHCP on the Sky router isnt set up to give out the IPs that both your routers are using.
You can then set up the Belkin router so your old laptop can connect though that routers wifi, but it will then connect hard wired to the Sky router. The laptop should get its network IP, Subnet and default gateway from the Sky routers DHCP just like all your other devices, which will mean that it will connect to the internet fine.

If you have issues with this just search google for 'connect my old router as a switch and wireless access point' or something similar.
lotrjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 23:14
flagpole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,607
WPA2 support wasn't added to XP until service pack 3 or updated KB893357 for sp2

Provably that. Is there a reason why they are not up to date?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 23:48
The Wizard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,487
WPA2 support wasn't added to XP until service pack 3 or updated KB893357 for sp2

Provably that. Is there a reason why they are not up to date?
My wife's laptop had a virus a few years back and had to be reformatted and they don't supply discs so had to reinstall using a dodgy version of XP Pro as was all I had to hand. Been working fine up until now. Update requires Genuine Windows Authentication which fails so can't update to SP3. Not sure if the old router used wpa or wpa2 but was definitely not wep because I could setup a physical password not a hex password. Everything worked fine until I moved over to Sky.
The Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 00:22
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 5,309
My wife's laptop had a virus a few years back and had to be reformatted and they don't supply discs so had to reinstall using a dodgy version of XP Pro as was all I had to hand. Been working fine up until now. Update requires Genuine Windows Authentication which fails so can't update to SP3. Not sure if the old router used wpa or wpa2 but was definitely not wep because I could setup a physical password not a hex password. Everything worked fine until I moved over to Sky.
Is the original XP licence key for the laptop still there or visible? if so then if its a pro key then use the pro disk you have with the genuine key, if its a home key then ask around to see if anyone you know has a XP home disk still.
I have all my XP stuff still, along with several licence keys in home & pro and disks in home & pro!
If your really stuck I could upload an ISO of an XP disk to my webserver and give you the location of the download in a privet message.
lotrjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 01:18
The Wizard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,487
Is the original XP licence key for the laptop still there or visible? if so then if its a pro key then use the pro disk you have with the genuine key, if its a home key then ask around to see if anyone you know has a XP home disk still.
I have all my XP stuff still, along with several licence keys in home & pro and disks in home & pro!
If your really stuck I could upload an ISO of an XP disk to my webserver and give you the location of the download in a privet message.
No sadly it's all worn off.
The Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 01:07
The Wizard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,487
WPA2 support wasn't added to XP until service pack 3 or updated KB893357 for sp2

Provably that. Is there a reason why they are not up to date?
Thankyou. I had Sp2 on wife's laptop which didn't have WPA2 support only wpa/psk. Managed to download the hotfix KB893357 and upon restart I clicked on available networks and it asked me for the password. Typed it in and it connected no problems. Guess the problem was that Sky uses WPA2 and my laptop didn't support it. Thanks to the hotfix now it does and managed to get online. Thanks very much.
The Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 01:08
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 5,309
No sadly it's all worn off.
Thats not good! Its a shame that you couldnt recover the key at the time as there is software to do that!
The XP pro disk you have I guess for you thats ok but the key wasnt?

Ive just seen that you sorted things out now, but if you are able to upgrade the laptop (or any other XP PCs you have) to Win 7 then I well recommend that.
Win 7 will work on old PCs ok, with some possible minimal issues with finding drivers that work for graphics and sound cards ect, but the ram does need to be at least 1GB. I think if the PC can support that its likely it will run 7.
Win XP will be insecure come April next year as Microsoft are stopping all security updates too!
lotrjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 01:20
The Wizard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,487
Thats not good! Its a shame that you couldnt recover the key at the time as there is software to do that!
The XP pro disk you have I guess for you thats ok but the key wasnt?
I've managed to find the original key on an old bit of paperwork for the laptop but it's for XP Home and I don't have any home discs only Pro. Anyway the hotfix did the job. Managed to download it from my netbook which has an authentic Windows XP Home version so it authenticated fine. I dragged it to a memory stick and ran it on the laptop. It asked me to reboot and upon reboot it had wpa2 support so it had no problems connecting.

Thanks guys! I owe you one.

Edit: lotrjw. Call me old hat but I love XP and will do anything not to go to Win7. And would rather die than run Win8. My wife's laptop is quite old. It's a Toshiba satellite A30 been upgraded several times so probably don't have the drivers anyway to run Windows7 but it runs like a dream. In my opinion it went downhill since Vista. Hated Vista with a passion especially the revamped file system. Windows 7 is just vista with the bugs fixed but still don't like it. Rather stick with XP as long as I can.
The Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 09:57
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,787
Win XP will be insecure come April next year as Microsoft are stopping all security updates too!
To be pedantic the copy he already has is insecure since MS dropped support for SP2 yonks ago.

Since OP says he does have the original details from the CoA key before it was worn it could easily be remedied with an XP Home OEM disk. "Untouched" ISO images of these can be found on various torrent websites if you cant source one from a friend or something. Yes it can be dubious (always read the descriptions and do an AV scan of it) but in the long run its probably better than running an obsolete OS.
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 14:25
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 5,309
To be pedantic the copy he already has is insecure since MS dropped support for SP2 yonks ago.

Since OP says he does have the original details from the CoA key before it was worn it could easily be remedied with an XP Home OEM disk. "Untouched" ISO images of these can be found on various torrent websites if you cant source one from a friend or something. Yes it can be dubious (always read the descriptions and do an AV scan of it) but in the long run its probably better than running an obsolete OS.
yes good point about sourcing an XP home disk even for a more secure system for about 6 months. At the time I posted last night the op hadn't posted that he had found the original XP home key.
lotrjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 14:36
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 5,309
I've managed to find the original key on an old bit of paperwork for the laptop but it's for XP Home and I don't have any home discs only Pro. Anyway the hotfix did the job. Managed to download it from my netbook which has an authentic Windows XP Home version so it authenticated fine. I dragged it to a memory stick and ran it on the laptop. It asked me to reboot and upon reboot it had wpa2 support so it had no problems connecting.

Thanks guys! I owe you one.

Edit: lotrjw. Call me old hat but I love XP and will do anything not to go to Win7. And would rather die than run Win8. My wife's laptop is quite old. It's a Toshiba satellite A30 been upgraded several times so probably don't have the drivers anyway to run Windows7 but it runs like a dream. In my opinion it went downhill since Vista. Hated Vista with a passion especially the revamped file system. Windows 7 is just vista with the bugs fixed but still don't like it. Rather stick with XP as long as I can.
If you do want the XP home ISO give me a shout and I will get it uploaded and tell you where it is by PM.
I get that you dont like how things have gone post Vista ect, but you can make 7 look like the classic windows ect, the file system thing isnt so bad in 7 as it was in Vista ether.
Its your choice at the end of the day though, so if you want to stick with XP then do, it wasnt a bad system when the orignal security issues were fixed with service pack 2, its just old now.
Playing around with older systems than XP even can be fun at times though! I have run Windows 1 though to 2000 in virtual PCs before now.
At the moment XP is in the category of useful still whereas older than that isnt!
lotrjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 14:54
The Wizard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,487
If you do want the XP home ISO give me a shout and I will get it uploaded and tell you where it is by PM.
I get that you dont like how things have gone post Vista ect, but you can make 7 look like the classic windows ect, the file system thing isnt so bad in 7 as it was in Vista ether.
Its your choice at the end of the day though, so if you want to stick with XP then do, it wasnt a bad system when the orignal security issues were fixed with service pack 2, its just old now.
Playing around with older systems than XP even can be fun at times though! I have run Windows 1 though to 2000 in virtual PCs before now.
At the moment XP is in the category of useful still whereas older than that isnt!
Thanks for the offer but seeing as my netbook is using a genuine copy of home with sp3 then I think I'll extract the setup files from that and make a bootable disk or memory stick. That way I can use the key from my netbook and I know it will work. Just don't really want to have to reformat unless I have to. Anyway all seems fine now so I'll see how it goes. I've today managed to use my netbook to download the full installation of sp3. I'm gonna stick it on a USB stick and put it on the other machine so hopefully it will accept it without needing authentication.
The Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 15:37
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 5,309
Thanks for the offer but seeing as my netbook is using a genuine copy of home with sp3 then I think I'll extract the setup files from that and make a bootable disk or memory stick. That way I can use the key from my netbook and I know it will work. Just don't really want to have to reformat unless I have to. Anyway all seems fine now so I'll see how it goes. I've today managed to use my netbook to download the full installation of sp3. I'm gonna stick it on a USB stick and put it on the other machine so hopefully it will accept it without needing authentication.
OK cool Im glad you are able to sort things out.
lotrjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2013, 15:39
flagpole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,607
Thankyou. I had Sp2 on wife's laptop which didn't have WPA2 support only wpa/psk. Managed to download the hotfix KB893357 and upon restart I clicked on available networks and it asked me for the password. Typed it in and it connected no problems. Guess the problem was that Sky uses WPA2 and my laptop didn't support it. Thanks to the hotfix now it does and managed to get online. Thanks very much.
No problem
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:53.