Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

In need for a new gaming computer for under 300


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29-10-2013, 12:27
RedSky2009
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 99

Hi,
I'm looking for a decent spec gaming computer for under 300, if possible i would like to play euro truck simulator 2 on high settings with no lag, and runs smoothly
i don't mind if you find a good decent spec computer on ebay for under 300, i don't mind if it is used either. i don't have alot of knowledge on specs and what makes a good computer, so i'm trying to find help and thought this will be a good option for it.
Thank you
RedSky2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-10-2013, 13:25
alternate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,898
I would say your budget is a little low.
alternate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2013, 13:31
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,795
I would say your budget is a little low.
Going off his other threads on the same topic, I think his budget has been decreasing steadily...
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2013, 14:12
jwball
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 1,223
That should get you a decent graphics card.
All you need now is a motherboard, ram, hdd, psu, cpu and case.
jwball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2013, 15:32
Jimmy_McNulty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, M.D
Posts: 10,569
Luckily for you ETS2 is a linux game so you don't need windows, something like:

http://www.aria.co.uk/Systems/Home+a...roductId=55886
Jimmy_McNulty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2013, 15:41
Sick Bullet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chadderton
Posts: 9,542
You won't get a decent gaming PC for under 300 it's as simple as that.

You have to look at a low end PC which won't cut it with today's games.

GPU - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PowerColor...item53fb9094ef
CPU - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AMD-FX-410...item53fb87b918
PSU - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Corsair-CX...item338663a424
Mobo - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Gigabyte-U...item589ba22b3e

That would be low end if you can find a pre built one with a decent size hard drive.

Oh and be careful with pre built ones like above the graphics are onboard and pretty much useless for gaming.
Sick Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2013, 16:16
SimonB79
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,894
You won't get a decent gaming PC for under 300 it's as simple as that.

You have to look at a low end PC which won't cut it with today's games.

GPU - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PowerColor...item53fb9094ef
CPU - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AMD-FX-410...item53fb87b918
PSU - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Corsair-CX...item338663a424
Mobo - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Gigabyte-U...item589ba22b3e

That would be low end if you can find a pre built one with a decent size hard drive.

Oh and be careful with pre built ones like above the graphics are onboard and pretty much useless for gaming.
300 wouldn't buy a decent monitor these days nevermind a gaming PC! LOL!
SimonB79 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2013, 16:52
Sick Bullet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chadderton
Posts: 9,542
300 wouldn't buy a decent monitor these days nevermind a gaming PC! LOL!
True, though I found a Korea seller on ebay with some great 1440p monitors for 200 good feedback for them to and has a good reputation, I'm considering

Here it looks decent enough? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1110781613...84.m1423.l2649

Actually Simon now thinking about it, there are some good deals out there you can pick up some fine monitors for 150 - 200
Sick Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2013, 23:25
MartinImber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,279
My mid range PC I spent well over 100 just on the CPU
MartinImber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:38
RedSky2009
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 99
Hi,
I found a computer in my budget range and these are the specs, are they good enough for gaming?
AMD A8 6600K Quadcore processor 4.0Ghz
FM2A55M-DGS R2.0 Motherboard
Patriot 8GB DRR3 1600Mhz Memory
AMD HD 8570D Graphics card 2gb
Seagate 1TB 7200PRM 64MB Hard drive
Thanks for the help
RedSky2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:58
ixHellstormx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Console and PC gamer.
Posts: 2,109
300 is console territory. I'd advise you to reconsider your budget.
ixHellstormx is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:18
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,795
300 is console territory. I'd advise you to reconsider your budget.
He has... about 3 or 4 times. I'm sure he started off with 600...
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:21
ixHellstormx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Console and PC gamer.
Posts: 2,109
He has... about 3 or 4 times. I'm sure he started off with 600...
Jeez....600 was good but his 300 is nowhere near enough.
ixHellstormx is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:21
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27,750
Surely ok for truck sim ?

This is why I hate PCs
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:41
ixHellstormx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Console and PC gamer.
Posts: 2,109
Surely ok for truck sim ?

This is why I hate PCs
well Yeah, he could sit and look at a static screen and just pretend
ixHellstormx is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:12
grps3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,735
359?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Vibox-Come...item2ec6f0a869
grps3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:19
ixHellstormx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Console and PC gamer.
Posts: 2,109
ixHellstormx is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:29
Sick Bullet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chadderton
Posts: 9,542
I like those cases but it's a pile of crap if I'm honest.

Up your budget back to 600
Sick Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:31
ixHellstormx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Console and PC gamer.
Posts: 2,109
I like those cases but it's a pile of crap if I'm honest.

Up your budget back to 600
I stand corrected lol
ixHellstormx is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:35
Sick Bullet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chadderton
Posts: 9,542
I stand corrected lol
The 6670 was my first proper card I tried gaming on about 3 years ago it was ok then I had fun on medium settings

If anyone wants to spend only this amount just grab a PS4
Sick Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:38
ixHellstormx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Console and PC gamer.
Posts: 2,109
The 6670 was my first proper card I tried gaming on about 3 years ago it was ok then I had fun on medium settings

If anyone wants to spend only this amount just grab a PS4
Agreed SB, that's why I said it's console territory
ixHellstormx is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:40
grps3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,735
I like those cases but it's a pile of crap if I'm honest.

Up your budget back to 600
he isnt wanting to play crysis on max settings

he wants to play a train sim
thats more than adequate
grps3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:43
ixHellstormx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Console and PC gamer.
Posts: 2,109
he isnt wanting to play crysis on max settings

he wants to play a train sim
thats more than adequate
Your'e gonna get corrected lol your'e right though but what if the OP get's into PC gaming and wants to play other games. Surely a mid entry PC would be the better choice.
ixHellstormx is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:44
Sick Bullet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chadderton
Posts: 9,542
he isnt wanting to play crysis on max settings

he wants to play a train sim
thats more than adequate
Fair point, he should go a bit more though don't limit your self to one game, although if you like them train sim games you can play for ever.
Sick Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:46
grps3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,735
its a good starting unit
any reason he cant upgrade in the future to play better games
grps3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:00.