Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Line in and microphone sound not coming through PC speakers...


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2013, 20:45
cobwebsoup
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 3,007

I used to use my Yamaha keyboard to record directly onto my computer and the sound from the keyboard would come through the speakers as I played it. Recently I've had to re-install Windows and the sound driver, and now when I play, the sound from the line in/keyboard does record onto the computer, but it doesn't play through the speakers as I record it. I've checked the settings and everything seems fine, I checked online for help, but to no avail. Anyone any ideas what else I can try? It does the same with the microphone, won't play through the speakers but does record onto the computer and plays back fine.

Computer: Dell Optiplex 745 computer on Windows XP.
Sound driver: Soundmax AudioESP
cobwebsoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-11-2013, 23:46
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,369
Have you looked in volume control to make sure the mic and line in are not muted or turned right down ?
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 02:28
cobwebsoup
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 3,007
Have you looked in volume control to make sure the mic and line in are not muted or turned right down ?
Yep checked them and they are both top volume.
cobwebsoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 10:19
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,048
You need to go into the playback mixer rather than the recording one, then un-mute the line-in/mic input.
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 19:50
cobwebsoup
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 3,007
You need to go into the playback mixer rather than the recording one, then un-mute the line-in/mic input.
It's already un-muted and turned up to full volume. It records from the line in and microphone onto the PC fine, it just doesn't play it through the speakers as I record.
cobwebsoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 17:49
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,854
What program are you using to record?
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:10.