Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Motherboard and CPU bundles Intel or AMD?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2013, 14:35
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,380

Looking at a Haswell based mobo and cpu bundle and this looks to be the one to go for, but at 359 it's pricey.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Intel-Core...item20d3ab974f

The AMD combo is considerably cheaper, but whats the hit in performance?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AMD-8-Core...item1c2d4db4e5

Is it worth saving the extra cash and buying an SSD Drive maybe or just go all out for the i7 Haswell setup?
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 08-11-2013, 16:43
dohboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mitcham
Posts: 147
The intel combo will definitely be good, but it doesn't look like a particularly good deal, it's 20 cheaper on Amazon so probably will be cheaper elsewhere too, the 32% off in the ad is misleading.

Plus the cooler in the image looks very much like the stock intel job.
dohboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 16:54
Sick Bullet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chadderton
Posts: 9,540
Bundles like this are great or if you're worried about installing a CPU they sometimes send them ready to go with the BIOS updated, just buy an aftermarket cooler always.
Sick Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 17:31
TeeGee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 53N 2W
Posts: 2,272
A good selection on the Novatech website under /pc components/bundles.

Higher priced ones are at bottom of page! They come with memory, pre-assembled and tested which is worth something for peace of mind. OTOH the Ebay AMD looks a steal.
TeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 22:09
Andrew_Ballard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 475
AMD bundle isn't that good, it's an old motherboard, no SATA3 even, and AMD may be releasing steamroller in q1 2014 which will possibly be an entirely new socket.

the 4770K cpu is powerful, but verging on speciality...and overpriced on that page. You will not be wanting to overclock a haswell much with a stock cooler either
Andrew_Ballard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 22:40
Sick Bullet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chadderton
Posts: 9,540
AMD bundle isn't that good, it's an old motherboard, no SATA3 even, and AMD may be releasing steamroller in q1 2014 which will possibly be an entirely new socket.

the 4770K cpu is powerful, but verging on speciality...and overpriced on that page. You will not be wanting to overclock a haswell much with a stock cooler either
AMD Released the FX 9590 & 9370 a little while ago but no motherboards are capable of handling the power and are not worth it really.

The 8350 is a great cpu for gaming and video editing at a sweet price, if you're going to put it together your self go for a better motherboard or even pick everything.
Sick Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 23:30
Andrew_Ballard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 475
AMD Released the FX 9590 & 9370 a little while ago but no motherboards are capable of handling the power and are not worth it really.

The 8350 is a great cpu for gaming and video editing at a sweet price, if you're going to put it together your self go for a better motherboard or even pick everything.
Indeed, those CPUs (FX 9590 & 9370) are hideous jokes, thankfully they are not Steamroller, just Piledrivers running at the limits :P
Andrew_Ballard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 02:16
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,380
AMD bundle isn't that good, it's an old motherboard, no SATA3 even, and AMD may be releasing steamroller in q1 2014 which will possibly be an entirely new socket.

the 4770K cpu is powerful, but verging on speciality...and overpriced on that page. You will not be wanting to overclock a haswell much with a stock cooler either
Ok a few questions if I may.

Whats the best price you seen the 4770k for? Also im not looking to overclock but may grab an aftermarket cooler anyways.

Also can anyone recommend a good case? I got currently a Dell 8100 case and it's hella cramped inside! I barely squeezed a GTX 660 OC card in to it. Hardly room for anything now. Really could use a better case. Guess I will stick with this card for the time being, got 12gb of ram, The cpu starting to struggle now, i5 750.

So plan is, get one of these bundles. I am still learning towards intel over AMD. Though worth waiting for the steamroller I wonder?

Also I got an XFX 550w psu, thinking that likely wont be enough for the new setup?
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 12:08
Sick Bullet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chadderton
Posts: 9,540
I'm not familiar with Intel prices, but your PSU is more than capable unless you decided for a dual GPU set up, I still think the FX 8350 is a steal.
Sick Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 15:25
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,380
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AMD-8350-F...item564eca93e0

How about this one? Comes with 8GB corsair vengeance ram but with a Gigabyte mainboard.
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 16:08
Sick Bullet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chadderton
Posts: 9,540
I use to have that motherboard they're reliable and a solid board, ran my 8350 of it to never any problems, just bare in mind with the smaller micro ATX motherboards you can't crossfire if you ever decide it.

Looks like a great bundle to me.
Sick Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 17:46
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,380
Think I'm gonna go for the Asus mobo AMD 8350 combo looking around best price I seen. Don't really need memory. Got some crucial ballistix ram which is fine. Could pick up a Samsung 840 SSD 120gb for around 70.
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 14:35
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,380
Well in the end I went for this Motherboard

http://www.amazon.co.uk/ASRock-Z87-E...rock+extreme+4

And an Intel Haswell CPU

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Intel-Graphi...intel+i7+4770k
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 17:02
Jimmy_McNulty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, M.D
Posts: 10,569
Har i've been looking at something similar for my next build too.
Jimmy_McNulty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 21:47
Andrew_Ballard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 475
why not the 4770k? for most situations it's a much better buy than the locked and not-overclockable 4770
Andrew_Ballard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 23:12
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,380
why not the 4770k? for most situations it's a much better buy than the locked and not-overclockable 4770
I'm not looking to overclock. I've never been one for modding, tweaking and trying to push the hardware to the limits. I do some gaming, a lot of multimedia, HD video watching, but I also do video editing with HD video so really need the performance kick. Looking at comparisons at stock clock speeds there is absolutely nothing in it in terms of performance, both single and multi threaded. So since don't really plan on overclocking, not much point paying the extra for the k version.

I'm pretty interested in that oculus rift VR headset so I should have decent enough hardware now to run it. Though I may flog my graphics card, GTX 660 (bought it just as prices dropped for better cards!) and I want to have a system that will get me through the next few years which gives me enough power to do the stuff I want.

Besides I know that the 4770k is not that much more but I was already parting with a fair amount of cash so couldn't really stretch it. Think I'm pretty happy with my setup.

A shame ram prices have increased though, stuck with some Crucial Ballistix sports ram, though I have got 12gb of it. Worth getting better? Will leave that for now I think. An SSD drive will be the next upgrade, but prices are falling so gonna wait just a little bit before I buy.
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2013, 00:36
Andrew_Ballard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 475
I'm not looking to overclock. I've never been one for modding, tweaking and trying to push the hardware to the limits. I do some gaming, a lot of multimedia, HD video watching, but I also do video editing with HD video so really need the performance kick. Looking at comparisons at stock clock speeds there is absolutely nothing in it in terms of performance, both single and multi threaded. So since don't really plan on overclocking, not much point paying the extra for the k version.

I'm pretty interested in that oculus rift VR headset so I should have decent enough hardware now to run it. Though I may flog my graphics card, GTX 660 (bought it just as prices dropped for better cards!) and I want to have a system that will get me through the next few years which gives me enough power to do the stuff I want.

Besides I know that the 4770k is not that much more but I was already parting with a fair amount of cash so couldn't really stretch it. Think I'm pretty happy with my setup.

A shame ram prices have increased though, stuck with some Crucial Ballistix sports ram, though I have got 12gb of it. Worth getting better? Will leave that for now I think. An SSD drive will be the next upgrade, but prices are falling so gonna wait just a little bit before I buy.
Fair enough, a 4770 is hardly a bad cpu (can overclock it 200mhz I think using the turbo options?), and it has 4 features the -K version doesn't if you ever need them Haswell CPUs don't seem to overclock too well either, I keep forgetting that lol

It's a good time to buy a GPU now, AMD have released a new wave of GPUs and it's caused nvidia to respond = lower prices for all 12GB ram should be fine for nearly anything
Andrew_Ballard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2013, 12:34
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,380
Can anyone recommend a good case for my new i7 4770/ASROCK extreme 4/Asus gtx 660 setup. Plenty around, but not sure what to go for. Are Zalman cases any good? or there are some corsair ones that seem pretty decent. Screwless ones preferred.
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2013, 12:44
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Consett area
Posts: 67,545
Can anyone recommend a good case for my new i7 4770/ASROCK extreme 4/Asus gtx 660 setup. Plenty around, but not sure what to go for. Are Zalman cases any good? or there are some corsair ones that seem pretty decent. Screwless ones preferred.
I always try and go for a case that has at least two fans on. One at the rear and one at the front. This means moving the warm temperature out through the back. Not very specific, I know.
zx50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2013, 12:53
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,380
I always try and go for a case that has at least two fans on. One at the rear and one at the front. This means moving the warm temperature out through the back. Not very specific, I know.
Yep airflow and cooling are big factors now with powerful CPUs and GPUs. There are pros and cons with many cases. The ones with the SSD enclosures and hard drive bays look pretty good.

http://www.dabs.com/products/corsair...LGH.html?src=3

This one sounds really good, but under compatibility, it doesn't list LGA 1150, which is what I have. Supports 1155 and 1156. Is this really the case? A shame that.

Just looked on the manufacturers description on their site and it just says compatibility with ATX and micro ATX motherboards.

http://www.corsair.com/carbide-serie...ower-case.html
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2013, 13:51
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Consett area
Posts: 67,545
Yep airflow and cooling are big factors now with powerful CPUs and GPUs. There are pros and cons with many cases. The ones with the SSD enclosures and hard drive bays look pretty good.

http://www.dabs.com/products/corsair...LGH.html?src=3

This one sounds really good, but under compatibility, it doesn't list LGA 1150, which is what I have. Supports 1155 and 1156. Is this really the case? A shame that.

Just looked on the manufacturers description on their site and it just says compatibility with ATX and micro ATX motherboards.

http://www.corsair.com/carbide-serie...ower-case.html
I can't understand why only motherboards with certain processor sockets would be compatible. It's just a case. I'm baffled by that. I've not checked them all, but Novatech doesn't have in the specifications of their cases that they're only compatible with certain socket types.
zx50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2013, 13:57
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,380
I can't understand why only motherboards with certain processor sockets would be compatible. It's just a case. I'm baffled by that. I've not checked them all, but Novatech doesn't have in the specifications of their cases that they're only compatible with certain socket types.
Well yeah the thing to look out for usually is the form factor of the motherboard, ATX/Micro being the standard so I don't see why it will be socket specific. Would like to go for that case, but may have to give it a week or so.
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2013, 14:35
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,380
Having a look over at Novatech. There was a live chat so I had a chat with one of the reps. Suggested these 3 cases.

Three very good cases at different prices

http://www.****************/products...011023-ww.html
http://www.****************/products...p700m1n2n.html
http://www.****************/products...011016-ww.html
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2013, 15:58
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,996
I've always wondered why Novatech links are blocked.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2013, 16:19
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Consett area
Posts: 67,545
I've always wondered why Novatech links are blocked.
Someone on here once said that someone was posting Novatech links all the time and because of this, their links haven't worked ever since.
zx50 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:10.