Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

wireless adaptor for tv


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-11-2013, 23:56
simonk243
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home Counties
Posts: 2,249

Will any wireless adaptor work for an internet tv. I have a sony smart tv and there own adaptor is around 45 which is a lot are the tv ones special sorry for any ignorance
simonk243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 11-11-2013, 00:20
iangrad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 768
Wireless is just about Ok if all you are doing is looking at a few low res photos but for higher res or for video you really need to hard wire the TV back to your router , 2nd best and only about 5% down on hard wire is home plugs .
iangrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 07:52
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,012
Generally wi-fi dongles for Smart Tvs are brand specific because, unlike a PC,you cannot install additional drivers in the TV to enable other makes.
Alternatives are HomePugs/Powerline adaptors (await the wrath of Winston_1) or a wireless bridge e.g. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Vonets-VAP11...1g+wifi+bridge both of which are slightly cheaper

A friend uses a Vonets and even BBC iPlayer HD streaming is fine with the router located in an adjacent room
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 11:23
simonk243
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home Counties
Posts: 2,249
Generally wi-fi dongles for Smart Tvs are brand specific because, unlike a PC,you cannot install additional drivers in the TV to enable other makes.
Alternatives are HomePugs/Powerline adaptors (await the wrath of Winston_1) or a wireless bridge e.g. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Vonets-VAP11...1g+wifi+bridge both of which are slightly cheaper

A friend uses a Vonets and even BBC iPlayer HD streaming is fine with the router located in an adjacent room
Thanks I looked at the bridge dongle and it has good reviews one person even said they use it with a sony bluray player which we have so at least I know it'll work on there if not the tv and the bluray has the same smart features
simonk243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 12:42
niall campbell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,011
5 will get you 15 to 20 metres of CAT 6 Ethernet cable

where is the router ?
niall campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 13:14
simonk243
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home Counties
Posts: 2,249
5 will get you 15 to 20 metres of CAT 6 Ethernet cable

where is the router ?
The tv/blu and router ray are at opposite ends of the room on opposite sides of wall
simonk243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 20:52
Greyowl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 336
Will any wireless adaptor work for an internet tv. I have a sony smart tv and there own adaptor is around 45 which is a lot are the tv ones special sorry for any ignorance
No. Branded USB adapters for TV's contain the driver software specific for that hardware. Hence the extra cost over a standard USB wireless device.
An alternative is to use the TV's LAN port.

TP-Link TL-WR702N is 15 at Amazon.
Set it up in wireless client mode, connect wired connection to device LAN port & power to USB port.
I use several on all kinds of equipment no problem.
Greyowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 13:09
Winston_1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,209
Alternatives are HomePugs/Powerline adaptors (await the wrath of Winston_1)
Indeed, they are an awful alternative that WILL cause interference to other users of the RF spectrum. (Wait for G8MMV to deny it).

http://www.ban-plt.co.uk
Winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 15:51
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 11,070
Indeed, they are an awful alternative that WILL cause interference to other users of the RF spectrum. (Wait for G8MMV to deny it).

http://www.ban-plt.co.uk
before banning PLT i'd be banning the person that made that god awful website.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 17:33
niall campbell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,011
The tv/blu and router ray are at opposite ends of the room on opposite sides of wall
Buy a 10 metre or whatever size you need CAT 6 cable from Amazon .

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ethernet-Net...10+metre+cat+6

Buy a switch

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Netgear-GS10...netgear+switch

plug the cable from the router into any switch.

Then buy 2 metre CAT 6 cables and plug into your sky box, tv, blu ray , games console etc.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ethernet-Net...=2+metre+cat+6

That's my set up and its dirt cheap. Catch Up from sky is fantastic
niall campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2013, 18:10
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 475
Indeed, they are an awful alternative that WILL cause interference to other users of the RF spectrum. (Wait for G8MMV to deny it).

http://www.ban-plt.co.uk
We have a ham radio nutter in our close (luckily not near me). His neighbours are sick to the teeth of hearing his demented squawking breaking through into their TV programs. I've seen people round there threatening to kill him, but he carries on regardless. There's something about ham radio that attracts idiots.
Mr Dos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2013, 19:06
TeeGee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 53N 2W
Posts: 2,257
The tv/blu and router ray are at opposite ends of the room on opposite sides of wall
Cable plus a long masonry drill bit from B&Q?
TeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2013, 17:41
Winston_1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,209
We have a ham radio nutter in our close (luckily not near me). His neighbours are sick to the teeth of hearing his demented squawking breaking through into their TV programs. I've seen people round there threatening to kill him, but he carries on regardless. There's something about ham radio that attracts idiots.
Homeplugs have nothing to do with ham radio as ham frequencies are notched out so your post is off topic.

If ham transmissions, or for that matter the local taxi company, are breaking into TV the fault is with the TV not being designed properly. Threatening murder, besides being illegal, won't help. Hams are not normally idiots and will usually help with interference problems if approached nicely by providing filters at their own expense.
Winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:30.