Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Cables behind TV unit


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13-11-2013, 21:45
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,106

Hey all,

I have one of the black glass cabinets for my TV, and I removed the plate from that back that you're supposed to feed cables through as it got in the way.

Is there a decent solution I can use to the mess behind my tv unit?! I've tried using cable tidies but even then they go all over the place and not all cables can be put through them.
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 13-11-2013, 22:46
Doghouse Riley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North-West England
Posts: 17,505
Scart cables can be a bit of a pain, particularly if like us, under our Freeview TV, you've got a PVR, DVD/CD player and a Video recorder. You can buy shorter cables, or the flat ones and you can buy cables with right- angled plugs to stop them sticking out so far.

I've got none of those and I've an auto selector, these can cut down the number of scart leads you need. But I can push all the surplus cable under the bottom shelf and also the auto selector. Unless I look behind the TV then I don't see them.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/11/2l7a.jpg/

In the other room we've Virgin cable for that TV and all the nonsense and flashing lights that goes with that.

Maybe someone can suggest something better.
Doghouse Riley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 23:50
coachtrip_fan99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,970
Lol. You dont want to see the back of my tv.

It has 5 things plugged in to it. One being a PC.
Then theres the modem and separate router...
coachtrip_fan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2013, 00:02
niall campbell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,005
can you not cut the back panel ??

or get a bit of carboard , paint it black and feed the cables through
niall campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2013, 02:55
Sibeber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 504
can you not cut the back panel ??

or get a bit of carboard , paint it black and feed the cables through
Have done that with my tv stand and tv ..thick duty card painted black and cut to be a tight fit ...not a cable in sight ..give it a go !
Sibeber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2013, 08:49
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,106
Have done that with my tv stand and tv ..thick duty card painted black and cut to be a tight fit ...not a cable in sight ..give it a go !
How did you stick it to your cabinet?!

Also, that means no ventelation for consoles/boxes?
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 10:48
Sibeber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 504
How did you stick it to your cabinet?!

Also, that means no ventelation for consoles/boxes?
put the support or cable organizer back in the cabinet covr them with black painted card , no glue needed just make each piece of card a tight fit so it stands on its own cut a slot on the bottom of each card to put the cables through ..these will be hidden by the sky box dvd etc .I wish I could insert a photo to show my efforts that hide everything.
Sibeber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 20:00
Gneiss
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 13,964
You could use spiral wrap to tidy them up a bit..

http://www.maplin.co.uk/spiral-cable-wrap-26849

Larger sizes are available elsewhere...

The downside is if there are a lot of cables it ends up as stiff as an iron bar!
Gneiss is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:47.