Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Are AMD processors almost as fast as the Intel ones?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-11-2013, 13:40
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 66,096

Been having a look at some high end AMD motherboard bundles and the prices are a lot cheaper than the high end Intel ones. I realise that the Intel processors might be faster, but it's probably only in milliseconds or a second, right? A couple of the AMD processors in the bundles also have 8 cores as well. I was just wondering, what are they like for staying cool? Does the temperature in them get high, or are they good for keeping the temperature at an acceptable level? I don't fancy forking out for an Intel bundle for the same price if the AMD can out perform it because of the extra cores. I dunno, I just think AMD might provide me with all the processing power that I require for different tasks in the future. I won't be building the tower until about February next year.
zx50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 15-11-2013, 14:27
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 459
Its a case of horses for courses. You don't say what you use computers for. If its multicore power for video rendering, converting, authoring DVDs etc I'd say go for Intel (I can't advise on gaming). You can compare cpu performance on this site - higher is better.

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_list.php

re 8 cores - the quad core Intel i7s are hyperthreaded which means unused portions of each core are re-used to create a virtual core. While not being the same as 8 real cores its pretty close. When you look in task manager you see 8 cores. I suspect AMD uses this system, but call their chips 8 core not 4C/8T. Also bear in mind that not all applications are coded to use all the cores you have installed.
Mr Dos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2013, 14:31
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,375
What's your max budget if i may ask?
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2013, 15:29
captainkremmen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DAVEVILLE, Daveshire DA1 1VE
Posts: 33,623
This PC uses a quad core AMD processor that is an generation behind the current ones.

It copes fantastically well with video capture, rendering, converting and authoring both DVD and BluRay discs, has no problem with any HD material I have thrown at it so far.

Runs Sony Vegas without issue, runs Pinnacle Studio 16 perfectly well.

I've also happily run the demo versions of Hitfilm2, in fact quite a few demo DVD/BluRay video editing and authoring apps and it has run them all without issues. This is all running on an Asus motherboard that is also a generation behind using just the onboard graphics card, but the PC does have 8Gb of ram.

Can't vouch for gaming as I don't use it for that, but I suspect the graphics card and not really the processor would be the major stumbling block.

Which processor etc. really depends on your budget and what your main uses of the system will be.
captainkremmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2013, 15:33
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 66,096
What's your max budget if i may ask?
About 250. If I decide to get an i7, I might just get all the parts separately because the i7 bundles only start at about the 350 mark.

Edit: Hmm... The i7s are too expensive at the minute. I might just get a cheaper processor. I'll have to wait a while to get an i7. I'll either just get an 8 core AMD, or an i5.
zx50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2013, 15:43
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 66,096
This PC uses a quad core AMD processor that is an generation behind the current ones.

It copes fantastically well with video capture, rendering, converting and authoring both DVD and BluRay discs, has no problem with any HD material I have thrown at it so far.

Runs Sony Vegas without issue, runs Pinnacle Studio 16 perfectly well.

I've also happily run the demo versions of Hitfilm2, in fact quite a few demo DVD/BluRay video editing and authoring apps and it has run them all without issues. This is all running on an Asus motherboard that is also a generation behind using just the onboard graphics card, but the PC does have 8Gb of ram.

Can't vouch for gaming as I don't use it for that, but I suspect the graphics card and not really the processor would be the major stumbling block.

Which processor etc. really depends on your budget and what your main uses of the system will be.
Video encoding and gameplay.
zx50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2013, 20:59
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,375
About 250. If I decide to get an i7, I might just get all the parts separately because the i7 bundles only start at about the 350 mark.

Edit: Hmm... The i7s are too expensive at the minute. I might just get a cheaper processor. I'll have to wait a while to get an i7. I'll either just get an 8 core AMD, or an i5.
Why not delay it a bit save up a bit more and just make one good purchase? You will be sorted for a good length of time. Would only need to upgrade gpu later on if you are gaming and want to play with high detail.

I was considering the AMD 8350 but just decided what the he'll let me grab the i7 4770 and not worry for a good while. Will probably just sell my gpu and get something better and I'm good to go for a good many years.

No new AMD cpus due out next year apparently, so I would say go for one of the haswell i7s of you can save up a bit more pick up a good mother board along with it.
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2013, 21:05
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 66,096
Why not delay it a bit save up a bit more and just make one good purchase? You will be sorted for a good length of time. Would only need to upgrade gpu later on if you are gaming and want to play with high detail.

I was considering the AMD 8350 but just decided what the he'll let me grab the i7 4770 and not worry for a good while. Will probably just sell my gpu and get something better and I'm good to go for a good many years.

No new AMD cpus due out next year apparently, so I would say go for one of the haswell i7s of you can save up a bit more pick up a good mother board along with it.
I might get an i5 (although I'm still thinking about AMD) and then just start putting money away until there's enough to get an i7. I was wanting the tower finished by earlyish next year.
zx50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2013, 21:32
d'@ve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Darn Sarf
Posts: 20,890
About 250. If I decide to get an i7, I might just get all the parts separately because the i7 bundles only start at about the 350 mark.

Edit: Hmm... The i7s are too expensive at the minute. I might just get a cheaper processor. I'll have to wait a while to get an i7. I'll either just get an 8 core AMD, or an i5.
Novatech ATX mobo bundle 250 AMD FX-8 8320 Processor - 8GB 1600Mhz DDR3 Memory.

Almost twice the CPU performance of my brilliant AMD 964 black edition setup, which has been as fast I've needed for the last few years, with realtime full HD video conversion into h.264. I don't think you'll find an equivalent Intel bundle with its performance for that money or less, it's how AMD are still managing to compete - on price.

I'd expect to see a big improvement with this '8 core' so it's got me thinking... though I've already got the memory so would pick and mix mobos and CPU, probably the 8350 which is only 18 more. Christmas is nearly here!
d'@ve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2013, 14:09
captainkremmen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DAVEVILLE, Daveshire DA1 1VE
Posts: 33,623
Novatech ATX mobo bundle 250 AMD FX-8 8320 Processor - 8GB 1600Mhz DDR3 Memory.

Almost twice the CPU performance of my brilliant AMD 964 black edition setup, which has been as fast I've needed for the last few years, with realtime full HD video conversion into h.264. I don't think you'll find an equivalent Intel bundle with its performance for that money or less, it's how AMD are still managing to compete - on price.

I'd expect to see a big improvement with this '8 core' so it's got me thinking... though I've already got the memory so would pick and mix mobos and CPU, probably the 8350 which is only 18 more. Christmas is nearly here!
That's a really good bundle. I used it to build a midrange PC for a friend recently. I was so jealous once the system was up and running, it absolutely flies.

zx50, as gaming is one of your requirements you need to budget for a decent graphics card too, you'll probably want to be looking at something around the 150-200 for a decentish one without going overboard. You wont get absolutely top performance though, but enough to run pretty much any games at HD resolutions at decent frame rates. You wont get all the bells and whistles of the top end graphics card, but then you aren't spending 500 on the graphics card.
captainkremmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2013, 19:54
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Researchington
Posts: 24,597
Yes, strange question.

You buy the GPU/CPU combination that suits your scenario and budget.
Remembering that the Intel Ultrabook processors were more about lwoeraing wattage than providing top end speed AMD have gone the same route with some of theirs.

Their newly releasing quadcore chipsets for slimbook and tablets claim something '2 watts typical usage'.
SImilar to how ARM do it, making them quad core allows you to lower the Mhz/wattage whist keeping quite decent speed.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2013, 02:38
Nick_Challis
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 374
Unless you're doing some video encoding or something similar, the CPU is rarely the bottleneck. This includes gaming, unless you're wanting ultra graphics.

I use the fx-8120 which isn't even the greatest AMD proccessor but coupled with 8GB ram and an SSD, the system flies.
Nick_Challis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2013, 11:25
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 66,096
Unless you're doing some video encoding or something similar, the CPU is rarely the bottleneck. This includes gaming, unless you're wanting ultra graphics.

I use the fx-8120 which isn't even the greatest AMD proccessor but coupled with 8GB ram and an SSD, the system flies.
The FX 8350 is WAY ahead of the fastest i5 processor in the link below. The i5 has the equivalent to 8 cores and the AMD FX 8350 blows it away.

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html
zx50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2013, 11:28
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Researchington
Posts: 24,597
Anyone know if you can turn the new xbox or PS 4 into a PC ?

After all, they are simply quality PC architecture from AMD.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2013, 12:46
Andrew_Ballard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 474
The FX 8350 is WAY ahead of the fastest i5 processor in the link below. The i5 has the equivalent to 8 cores and the AMD FX 8350 blows it away.

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html
And for most applications the i5 will simply perform better, it has 4 physical cores and 4 threads, not 8, with significantly superior IPC, and an inbuilt gpu, though the 8350 is a great 'straight line' processor for 8 threaded grunt on a budget, coming in at about 35 cheaper than the best i5.

Sadly the biggest problem with the 8350 was the 8150, which the 8350 was a big improvement on. The 8150 came in late and was actually shit when it did arrive, so many people abandoned the platform and ebay was literally flooded with 8150s and motherboards for really cheap. Those people are likely still running their overclocked 2500k or simply don't trust AMD anymore.

as to the OP:

As above, Intel are faster per thread, AMD offer double the cores. The Intel chipset (H/Q/Z 87) is the best featured and the platform has much better matx/itx boards. AMD have the whole socket FM2 APU thing going on if that fits your needs.
Andrew_Ballard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2013, 13:43
captainkremmen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DAVEVILLE, Daveshire DA1 1VE
Posts: 33,623
Anyone know if you can turn the new xbox or PS 4 into a PC ?

After all, they are simply quality PC architecture from AMD.
I'm not aware (yet) of anyone trying it, but no doubt it will happen at some stage once the hacker communities get in on the act.
captainkremmen is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:02.