Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Help please with AV sender system.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-11-2013, 20:32
HollyC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home, on my computer!
Posts: 5,368

I have a V+ box downstairs and have bought an SLX wireless AV sender, so that I can watch TV upstairs.

I've finally found the IR sensor on the V+ box (through trial and error) and have set the sender up, and there is no sound or picture on the TV upstairs, although using the remote control upstairs does control the V+ box on the TV downstairs.

I've checked all the connections and it is set up correctly (i.e. the receiver with the correct lead is upstairs & the transmitter with the correct lead is downstairs, everything seems to be plugged in correctly, etc)

The instructions say to make sure that the Scart output/input are set to CVBS, which the upstairs TV is, but changing the settings on the V+ from HDMI to Composite does nothing.

Can anyone suggest anything else I can try, or anything that I have missed?

Thanks in advance for any tips.
HollyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 17-11-2013, 20:39
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 20,367
Does your telly have a SCART socket? If so plug the SCART lead from the Virgin box to the TV. That way you can confirm that you are getting a picture out of the Virgin box.

If you can, also try a different SCART lead in case that is the problem.

And try the sender with some other device if possible to confirm it is working. Perhaps try putting the receiver next to the transmitter just to eliminate signal issues.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2013, 21:21
poppasmurf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arley, Worcs
Posts: 1,292
I thought AV senders didn't work with Virgin boxes. My sister couldn't get one to work on hers and when we contacted Virgin, they told us they don't work with their boxes.
poppasmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2013, 22:10
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 20,367
I thought AV senders didn't work with Virgin boxes. My sister couldn't get one to work on hers and when we contacted Virgin, they told us they don't work with their boxes.
A video sender simply requires composite video and stereo audio signals to work. Unless the Virgin box disables the SCART output when you are using HDMI or has no Composite video output at all there is no reason why a video sender cannot work with a Virgin box.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2013, 23:35
Deacon1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 6,292
A video sender simply requires composite video and stereo audio signals to work. Unless the Virgin box disables the SCART output when you are using HDMI or has no Composite video output at all there is no reason why a video sender cannot work with a Virgin box.
From what I can remember from my V+ days, I think the TV scart is disabled when in HDMI mode, but I think the VCR scart is still enabled.

Pretty sure the op will get the sender working if they tried the VCR scart on the V+ box.
Deacon1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2013, 00:55
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,547
From what I can remember from my V+ days, I think the TV scart is disabled when in HDMI mode, but I think the VCR scart is still enabled.

Pretty sure the op will get the sender working if they tried the VCR scart on the V+ box.
That would seem to be correct according to this
http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/...dmi/td-p/91998
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2013, 18:07
HollyC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home, on my computer!
Posts: 5,368
Thank you everyone! I appreciate your help.

It sounds like I need to disconnect the HDMI and connect the downstairs TV via scart, to get it to work. I'll try that this evening.

Thanks again.
HollyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2013, 19:53
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 20,367
Thank you everyone! I appreciate your help.

It sounds like I need to disconnect the HDMI and connect the downstairs TV via scart, to get it to work. I'll try that this evening.

Thanks again.
No.

Just plug the sender into the VCR SCART on the Virgin box. Leave the TV connected via HDMI.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 11:07
poppasmurf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arley, Worcs
Posts: 1,292
I knew I wasn't going barmy.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Qose-5-8Ghz-...uctDescription

This states at the bottom that it is not compatible with Virgin boxes. How many more are there?
poppasmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2013, 12:16
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 20,367
I knew I wasn't going barmy.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Qose-5-8Ghz-...uctDescription

This states at the bottom that it is not compatible with Virgin boxes. How many more are there?
From what I can gather there would only be three reasons why they would say it's incompatible with Virgin boxes.

They only tried the TV SCART with the box in HDMI mode.

The sender only does RGB video and the Virgin box VCR SCART only supports composite.

They are referring to the remote control aspect only.

I can't see what is particularly special about the video and audio output from the SCART sockets on a Virgin box that would make it incompatible with any video sender device. If it was then surely TVs, VCRs or DVD Recorders would have issues working with the boxes as well?
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:48.