Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

optical out from TV or Sky HD to SoundBar


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-11-2013, 23:58
neilcoates
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 87

Hi,just purchased a Onkyo LS-T10 for my Sony TV and Sky HD setup.The TV optical out has Dolby Digital output, the Sky HD box is enabled for Dolby Digital via HDMI, so is this as good a connection as I can get?? Or is there an advantage in going directly from Sky+ optical out(also set to DD output) to the Onkyo??
neilcoates is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-11-2013, 09:09
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,613
Provided the TV doesn't mangle the audio data between HDMI in and Optical out it won't make a blind bit of difference to anything whether you go via the TV or direct from the Sky box.

The other advantage of going via the TV is that anything else you have connected to it will also play out of the soundbar, eg a DVD or Blu-Ray player. Plus of course you get audio from the TV's built in tuner should you need that.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2013, 17:43
jem101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bexley-and not the good part!
Posts: 232
You really will need to check your TV manual. The optical out on many TV sets are notorious for only outputting 2.0 stereo sound and not the 5.1 which they are receiving for an external source.

There is a caveat to this though, if the TV is also a Freeview HD receiver and you are watching, say, BBC1 HD in 5.1 then the TVs can often output that properly via optical - they just don't seem to be able to pass-through 5.1 from an external source.
jem101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2013, 16:16
anthony david
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 658
My Sony 40HX753 passes Dolby 5.1 from my Humax Fox T2 to my aging Sony DAV-IS10 surround sound system automatically via optical so you should be OK. Sony TVs also convert analogue sources (Humax 9200) to digital, presumably PCM, via optical as well, so you don't need an analogue connection for old equipment either.
anthony david is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:18.