Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Excel 2010 Drop Down List Help


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25-11-2013, 16:15
Master Ozzy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13,060

I ahve an absolutely huge spreadsheet of data at work. I have previously been using Excel 2003 at work. On this particular spreadsheet I had the data filtered so that I could just click the little arrow at the top of each column and it would display all of the data in drop down lists. However, I've just been upgraded to Excel 2010 at work and when I now click the little arrows, all of the data is displayed but you have to 'de-select' or 'select all' to get the data you want. Is there no way to just have it the same way I sued to like in Excel 2003? I can't use Data Validation as the particular spreadhseet is updated multiple times a day with information and so it would mean em cosntantly having to change the Data Validation settings/options etc.
Master Ozzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 25-11-2013, 21:25
Migster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Posts: 3,439
I ahve an absolutely huge spreadsheet of data at work. I have previously been using Excel 2003 at work. On this particular spreadsheet I had the data filtered so that I could just click the little arrow at the top of each column and it would display all of the data in drop down lists. However, I've just been upgraded to Excel 2010 at work and when I now click the little arrows, all of the data is displayed but you have to 'de-select' or 'select all' to get the data you want. Is there no way to just have it the same way I sued to like in Excel 2003? I can't use Data Validation as the particular spreadhseet is updated multiple times a day with information and so it would mean em cosntantly having to change the Data Validation settings/options etc.
Not sure I understand the problem. The 'filter' in Excel 2010 allows you to select single or multiple values. Is that no good? Quickest way to select a specific value is to untick the 'select all' option and then tick the value you want or alternatively you can type the value in the search box above (as you type it will reduce the list of available values).
Migster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2013, 22:41
Master Ozzy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13,060
Not sure I understand the problem. The 'filter' in Excel 2010 allows you to select single or multiple values. Is that no good? Quickest way to select a specific value is to untick the 'select all' option and then tick the value you want or alternatively you can type the value in the search box above (as you type it will reduce the list of available values).
See I much prefer it the old way in Excel 2003, but it seems there's no option to have it that way in Excel 2010.
Master Ozzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2013, 22:54
Migster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Posts: 3,439
See I much prefer it the old way in Excel 2003, but it seems there's no option to have it that way in Excel 2010.
Unfortunately I can't remember how it worked in 2003, so not really sure what you're getting at and how 2010 is different.
Migster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2013, 08:15
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,888
See I much prefer it the old way in Excel 2003, but it seems there's no option to have it that way in Excel 2010.
I don't understand the problem either, but I'm fairly sure that anything in Excel 2003 is achievable in 2010 - the interface is just different.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:59.