Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

TV's in Hotels


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27-11-2013, 15:05
Craig_Davies
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2

Im going to Paris for month for work, i want to take my dvd player to plug into the hotel TV.

Someone told me that hotel TV's in general dont allow this so dont have a scart connection, just wondering if this is true or if anyone has done this, i know it depends on the hotel but i was wondering in general is this a known fact?

I cant remember in the last few years being able to buy a TV without a scart connection so cant see how this would be possible
Craig_Davies is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 27-11-2013, 15:53
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,628
Assuming it's a proper hotel TV even if it has SCART it could well be disabled in the hotel mode settings.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2013, 16:04
Craig_Davies
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
thanks,

is there anyway around this ?
Craig_Davies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2013, 16:47
trayhop123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 538
yup ,,,,,, take a cheap portable dvd player ,,,,,,,,, even brand new theres an argos value jobby for around 50 squids

hotel/b'n'b tellies are usually 14inch square out the ark tv's perched on a bracket high up on the ceiling a million miles from your bed lol

sooner have a little widescreen directly infront of my eyes laying in bed in comfort
trayhop123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2013, 16:50
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,628
thanks,

is there anyway around this ?
We don't even know if that's the case

But if so, essentially not.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2013, 18:11
skinj
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: In my own little world!
Posts: 1,454
If you've got a laptop with DVD player just use that instead, saves messing around with a TV that may or may not work.
skinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2013, 19:27
LCDMAN
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yorkshire, God's County
Posts: 4,787
Thoughts;

1) SCART is a French invention and ALL TVs sold in France used to have to have a SCART on by law! (might have changed now)

2) Travelled the world (Europe, Asia, US, OZ/NZ) and with very few exceptions the hotel TVs (CRT or flat screen) have had an AV input on Phono (aka RCA/Cinch) connectors for me to plug my ancient camcorder into and review footage, so take the right lead- you might not need SCART. Sometimes on the front - behind a flap, sometimes on the side/rear but usually there is one available.
LCDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2013, 21:50
xp95
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: At the bottom of the staircase
Posts: 2,412
If you've got a laptop with DVD player just use that instead, saves messing around with a TV that may or may not work.
Or even better, the TV might happen to have an integrated DVD player.
xp95 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:38.