Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Astra 1, 19.2E with a Sky Digibox


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-02-2005, 11:40
un002419
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newcastle/Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 242

Is it possible for me to connect my old Sky dish from the analogue system, which the engineer didn't remove and hasn't been touched since, to my Sky Digibox and receive the channels listed on this site?

http://www.digitalsat.co.uk/astra1_19e.html

If so, which settings will I have to change in the 'Services' menu and what will I have to set the default transponder to?

Any help is greatly appreciated!
un002419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-02-2005, 12:02
Arrow 675
 
Posts: n/a
If you want the signal meter to work you need to go to Services then press 4, 0, 1, select.

From here go to default transponder and change the FEC to 3/4 (I think...).

Then add channels through the Services, System Setup menu.

If the dish doesn't have a Universal LNB it won't work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2005, 12:24
modern
 
Posts: n/a
If it has a low band LNB you will least get MTV Central.

Dont store anymore than 25 channels or the box will forget them. Also remove the viewing card if there is one already in the box.

The way I add channels is press Services then System Setup and select Add channels. To view them Press Services and 6 for the other channels menu for the stuff you added.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2005, 12:49
un002419
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newcastle/Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 242
What is the frequency for MTV Central please?
un002419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2005, 13:48
modern
 
Posts: n/a
11739 V 27500 3/4 its also known as MTV Germany but when you add the channel its displayed as 'MTV Central'.

You also might want to add these:
12188 H 27500 3/4 RTL
12226 H 27500 3/4 MTV POP
12285 V 27500 3/4 BBC World
12480 V 27500 3/4 Sat.1 / DSF
12552 V 22000 5/6 VIVA
11568 V 22000 5/6 Rai, tv5
11836 H 27500 3/4 Ard
11954 H 27500 3/4 ZDF, Eurosport
  Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2005, 14:12
un002419
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newcastle/Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 242
Thanks a lot for those

P.S. Will my old Sky Analogue dish work even though it hasn't been in operation since i had Sky Digital installed, which was in June 2000 and is a Universal LNB necessary even to just receive MTV Central?
un002419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2005, 14:28
Analoguesat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 19,185
Universal lnb is required for any frequencies above 11700Khz
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2005, 14:33
Arrow 675
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Analoguesat
Universal lnb is required for any frequencies above 11700Khz
My mistake - got something confused when I said he'd need one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2005, 15:15
un002419
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newcastle/Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 242
So this means that MTV Central won't work then considering its frequency is above 11.700Khz?
un002419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2005, 16:21
modern
 
Posts: n/a
Someone I knew use to have this dish up http://www.selkirkshire.demon.co.uk/...radadvert.html with the same LNB on the picture but the dish was very rusty.

And when I took my digital comag receiver round I could least get MTV Central and CNN and some others like VIVA. But I couldnt not deffently get RTL. And this was only a few years ago and I think none of the frequenceys have changed from then to now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2005, 10:44
vinnielo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East England
Posts: 5,055
Originally Posted by modern
Dont store anymore than 25 channels or the box will forget them.
That's just your box!
vinnielo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2005, 20:29
nannyb
Banned User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 187
I have just done this with my old digibox and have already 40 channels including BBC World,Sky News,Mtv Central,Terranova andalot of french and german channels. Use the frequency list and have a lot of patience!
nannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2005, 21:03
Analoguesat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 19,185
Originally Posted by modern
Someone I knew use to have this dish up http://www.selkirkshire.demon.co.uk/...radadvert.html with the same LNB on the picture but the dish was very rusty.

And when I took my digital comag receiver round I could least get MTV Central and CNN and some others like VIVA. But I couldnt not deffently get RTL. And this was only a few years ago and I think none of the frequenceys have changed from then to now.

Those old amstrad dishes would have had one of the ancient pre-universal lnb (with horrible noise figures. )
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2005, 21:48
modern
 
Posts: n/a
them fidelity dishes are right legends it hasnt gone out of alignment from when it was installed in 1990 and MTV has no sparkles so its aligned very well.

Compaines should build dishs like amstrad really good build quaitly.

Last edited by modern : 22-02-2005 at 22:03.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 15:27
nothingman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: chelmsford
Posts: 240
hi everyone , i too wondered if it was possible to use my digibox to pick up astra 19.2e. Following the advice given, i moved my 80cm dish to that postion. and changed the FEC to 3/4, and using the frequency list, i tried to find some channels, but found nothing.
I looked at the signal test and i am recieving something
Signal strength 50%
signal quality 25%
Lock indicator OK
Network id 0001
Transport stream 042c
Does this sound right, or am i not fully aligned.
I found the signal using my old pace analogue box , (a few of the channels have snow on them) and i am using a universal lnb.
Any ideas?
Cheers Daz
nothingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 15:41
nothingman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: chelmsford
Posts: 240
Hi its daz again, ive just use the frequencies that modern posted and loads of channels have appeared, but if anybody can help with the previous post and also is there a list that tells u just the channels you can recieve , because certain channels i went to e.g mtv2 didnt work, as my box can hold only 50 extra channels
Cheers
nothingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 15:50
carthage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 293
Is there a website that provides you with all the frequence detaisl for the chanels up there
thanks
carthage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 16:35
modern
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by nothingman
hi everyone , i too wondered if it was possible to use my digibox to pick up astra 19.2e. Following the advice given, i moved my 80cm dish to that postion. and changed the FEC to 3/4, and using the frequency list, i tried to find some channels, but found nothing.
I looked at the signal test and i am recieving something
Signal strength 50%
signal quality 25%
Lock indicator OK
Network id 0001
Transport stream 042c
Does this sound right, or am i not fully aligned.
I found the signal using my old pace analogue box , (a few of the channels have snow on them) and i am using a universal lnb.
Any ideas?
Cheers Daz
I can get 60% on a 43cm sky minidish have you adjusted the elevation to 31degress
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 16:53
Libra28
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by carthage
Is there a website that provides you with all the frequence detaisl for the chanels up there
thanks
http://www.lyngsat.com

C.Barber
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 17:04
modern
 
Posts: n/a
I find lyngsat poor it doesnt even list TMF on 19.2e and is very confusing and has a bad layout

For a more simple satellite charts on the main sats see: http://www.digitalsat.co.uk/frontpage.html lists all FTA channels

Or www.kingofsat.net is the best.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 17:08
Libra28
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by modern
I find lyngsat poor it doesnt even list TMF on 19.2e and is very confusing and has a bad layout

For a more simple satellite charts on the main sats see: http://www.digitalsat.co.uk/frontpage.html lists all FTA channels

Or www.kingofsat.net is the best.
The other day I was looking for TMF on Lyngsat and couldnt find it, so it is still there!

Thanks for clearing that up

Looks as if Kingofsat is a lot better then

http://www.kingofsat.net
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2005, 22:54
Analoguesat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 19,185
You cant rely on any one website - you need to get your head around a selection. Try:

www.flysat.com
www.lyngsat.com
www.satcodx.com (Personally dont like this one)
www.kingofsat.net
For fta only my www.digitalsat.co.uk (Im the first to admit its not fully up to date, but can be useful for beginners )

And if you are still into analogue: www.analoguesat.co.uk
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 07:51
Libra28
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Analoguesat
www.satcodx.com (Personally dont like this one)
I dont like that one either, it has a bad layout, choice of colours and looks tatty too
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 17:02
un002419
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newcastle/Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 242
Will my Sky dish from the analogue installation which was done in 1994 already be aligned to 19.2E because although I've connected it to my Sky Digibox and changed the FEC to 3/4 I am recieving no signal.

Could it be a problem with the dish because it doesn't have a universal LNB?
un002419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 17:15
modern
 
Posts: n/a
have you tried to add mtv central even tho they are no singal bars?
  Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:22.