DS Forums

 
 

Really strange SMS problem.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2016, 21:29
tdenson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,271

I am having this really strange problem trying to text someone in Kenya from the UK with an iPhone. I get the error "sorry numbers beginning 07 should be 11 digits long”. However I am putting in 00254 726 972 xxx which is a perfectly valid number. I can ring the exact same number with a voice call fine. I can text the same number from my wife's iPhone. I can text any other number (I have tried a few) in Kenya without a problem from the phone in question. I first had this problem a couple of years ago but with another number. I never did fix it, but I did discover that a factory reset on the phone clears it, but it comes back if I restore the backup. However, as the solution was worse than the problem I decided to live with the one problem number. Just today the problem resurfaced on another number. Anyone any ideas on this ?
tdenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-04-2016, 21:33
Adamuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 130
You could try turning off Dial Assist under settings?
Adamuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 21:45
tdenson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,271
You could try turning off Dial Assist under settings?
I think I tried that previously, and anyway I still don't understand how the problem could be so selective (only one number affected). However, I will give it a go. Problem is because of the time difference I don't want to send a test message tonight and risk it getting through and disturbing the recipient (who has a brand new baby and won't thank me for a communication in the middle of the night !) I'll try in the morning.
tdenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 21:46
Yogimax
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belfast
Posts: 139
Try replacing the 00 with a + and remove the spaces?
Yogimax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 22:29
tdenson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,271
Try replacing the 00 with a + and remove the spaces?
Tried that. And yet again, why should it only apply to one number ?
tdenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 11:54
tdenson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,271
Try replacing the 00 with a + and remove the spaces?
Sorry, I should also have said I'm not really putting the spaces in, I just included them for ease of counting
tdenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 18:55
InfamousTeal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 320
That is a strange one.. Is this number a contact? Try that maybe?

And yeah I'd have tried +254 as well as 00254. But neither of those worked?

Might be a bug in the phone or something. I'd suggest customer services of your network but they probably will not understand and they'll tell you useless advice. Maybe try apple? Genius bar perhaps?
InfamousTeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 23:28
tdenson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,271
That is a strange one.. Is this number a contact? Try that maybe?

And yeah I'd have tried +254 as well as 00254. But neither of those worked?

Might be a bug in the phone or something. I'd suggest customer services of your network but they probably will not understand and they'll tell you useless advice. Maybe try apple? Genius bar perhaps?
Yes, I tried everything the first time round. I deleted the contact, put it in again, tried it manually. It just doesn't like the number, but not a problem with the hardware because a factory reset fixes it. I took it into both EE and Apple (who happen to be next door to each other in Leeds where I am) and they both just scratched their heads.
tdenson is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:46.