Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

panasonic software update


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-05-2005, 13:20
Brian Damage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50

my panasonic tx28 dtx1 has just crashed following a software update at about 12.00 and i'm unable to recover it... this happened to anybody else? any ideas ?
ps transmitter is winter hill ....
Brian Damage is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-05-2005, 23:53
East London Boy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: East London, Crystal Palace
Posts: 14

PHEW!! Thought I was the only one with this. I have done the update but it crashed and now I have a blank black screen the on screen menu is flickering and is not working properly. So can't re-start the update. Who do we contact to get this sorted?? Freeview, Panasonic. Basicly the TV is now useless with no DVB operation. Would appreciate some advice here. Thanks.
East London Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 07:13
Royal45
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
You are not the only ones!

My mothers Panasonic TV, down loaded updated software, then whilst installing the program switch the TV off and now no digital.

Have email Panasonic, hope to receive reply today!
Royal45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 08:21
Gr9h9m
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: North-East Surrey
Posts: 2
Yesterday morning I tried the update several times but nothing happened other than being told to "please wait". Last night when I got in from work, I switched the TV off, unplugged it, waited for 5 mins then tried again and it downloaded OK. I switched off and on and it worked perfectly. Not exactly sure what has changed but I have no complaints. Touch wood.
Gr9h9m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 09:53
Brian Damage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Originally Posted by East London Boy
PHEW!! Thought I was the only one with this. I have done the update but it crashed and now I have a blank black screen the on screen menu is flickering and is not working properly. So can't re-start the update. Who do we contact to get this sorted?? Freeview, Panasonic. Basicly the TV is now useless with no DVB operation. Would appreciate some advice here. Thanks.

hello mate... I've got exactly the same symptoms but mine now has "invalid DVB channel" in red print centre screen... I tried to ring panasonic yesterday, no joy with the Bank Holiday. do you know their email address? thx mate
Brian Damage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 11:41
East London Boy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: East London, Crystal Palace
Posts: 14

Originally Posted by Brian Damage
hello mate... I've got exactly the same symptoms but mine now has "invalid DVB channel" in red print centre screen... I tried to ring panasonic yesterday, no joy with the Bank Holiday. do you know their email address? thx mate
Yeah same on mine now, invalid DVB channel. I phoned Panasonic this morning they told me there are many people with the problem. I got told to press -V on the front of the TV whilst holding this press the i button on the remote. You get a load of numbers on the screen then turn the TV off. Then turn on again and guess what suprise suprise it didn't correct it!! Tried phoning again, it's impossible now to many people calling, so e-mailed them via: www.panasonic.co.uk through customer support section. I wait to hear the next stage........
East London Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 11:50
Tadpole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Solihull, West Mids
Posts: 1,580
Can the mods make this thread sticky until 10am Wednesday when the upgrade is over?
Tadpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 12:35
mentore
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 854
And the moral of this story is........NEVER EVER buy an IDTV.......if it's a 50 Freeview box and the software gets irreversibly screwed up then you just go out and get another Freeview box (with or without a CAM socket).


I shall be interested to see how this one pans out....do these IDTVs have an RS232 socket for a cable download?...does this mean that the little Panasonic engineer is going to have to go round all those houses with these "en panne" Panasonic IDTVs with his laptop and manually download unbuggy software?

If the software is so corrupted how can another over-the-air download be accomplished?
mentore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 13:07
Brian Damage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Originally Posted by East London Boy
I wait to hear the next stage........
been phoning all morning, just gettin the "please try later" message. sounds like one big CU at their end.
Thx for the email address by the way. you had a reply yet, or is that too much to ask d'y reckon?
Brian Damage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 13:26
Mark_G
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
I've just had this "help" from Panasonic........

"Thank you for your email enquiry.

In response, your most appropriate course of action would be to refer to
your local authorised service centre for a solution. Details of those in
your area can be found on our website, www.panasonic.co.uk, under 'Customer
Support' and 'Find a Service Centre'.

I trust that this information has been of assistance to you. However, of
course, if you should have any further queries, please do not hesitate to
contact us on 08705 357357 or customer.care@panasonic.co.uk and we will
endeavour to assist."
Mark_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 13:34
DEmmerson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Home Counties
Posts: 1,441
Same thing happened last year to Panasonic IDTVs

http://forum.digitalspy.co.uk/board/...ight=panasonic

You'd have thought they'd have learned a lesson. Apparently not.
DEmmerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 18:42
East London Boy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: East London, Crystal Palace
Posts: 14

Hi Brian, still no reply to my e-mail. I think it's gonna be a while judging by all the calls about this problem they're getting. I have read on one forum that someone has had a reply and been told to contact their local Panasonic dealer. Talk about shrugging all responsibilty! Someones got to do something for us, this is madness! They programmed the download now they should face up to sorting this b*lls up out!! Let me know if you hear anymore. Cheers.
East London Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 19:50
cammy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Renfrewshire (Black Hill TX)
Posts: 75
According to the DTG website, they've pulled the update.

<stable door slams shut>
cammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 20:24
mobidude
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Hi,

I have the same problem.

My Panasonic TX-28DTX1 Television which I bought from one of the internet retailer located in Bolton (and I am in London) back in January 2005 and was working without any problems (both digital & analogue) until Monday evening, 30th May 2005.

When I turned the TV on, a message prompted me to download software update, I pressed 'OK'. It took few minutes to download and then screen went blank. I waited 3/4 minutes and nothing happened so turned on and off.

It initially, it turns itself on automatically (without pressing the remote control after few seconds) whenever I turned it on, and tries to retune. It finds all analogue channels (picture quality seems to be lower / order of channels are incorrect) but it cannot find any digital channels. The screen goes blank with a message: 'Invalid DVB Channel'. The message & setup menu flickers, and also there is a small coloured vertical line closer to the message (left side). If I press the menu, the coloured vertical line gets longer & goes to the right..The line can be seen if I go closer to the TV. This happens every time I turn the TV on, hence, even the analogue channel are not stored.

I tried 'shipping condition' option several times, no result. Left the system of for sometime, no result, etc...

I also cannot get some menu like 'DVB System Setup' Menu . If I try to retune by pressing 'DVB Auto Setup', nothing happens. I get the above 'Invalid DVB Channel' after few seconds.

Now, it turns on but no picture intially. When I turn off, it takes about 30/40 seconds to turn off.

I sent an email to the dealer and hoping that they will respond. I did not tell them about the software upgrade thing...just described the problem. My biggest problem is the fact the dealer is in Bolton, and if they do not respond, then things will get complicated.

I did not contact Panasonic as they state on their web site to contact dealer.

This is so irritating....
mobidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 20:38
Certs
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by mobidude
Hi,

I have the same problem.

My Panasonic TX-28DTX1 Television which I bought from one of the internet retailer located in Bolton (and I am in London) back in January 2005 and was working without any problems (both digital & analogue) until Monday evening, 30th May 2005.

When I turned the TV on, a message prompted me to download software update, I pressed 'OK'. It took few minutes to download and then screen went blank. I waited 3/4 minutes and nothing happened so turned on and off.

It initially, it turns itself on automatically (without pressing the remote control after few seconds) whenever I turned it on, and tries to retune. It finds all analogue channels (picture quality seems to be lower / order of channels are incorrect) but it cannot find any digital channels. The screen goes blank with a message: 'Invalid DVB Channel'. The message & setup menu flickers, and also there is a small coloured vertical line closer to the message (left side). If I press the menu, the coloured vertical line gets longer & goes to the right..The line can be seen if I go closer to the TV. This happens every time I turn the TV on, hence, even the analogue channel are not stored.

I tried 'shipping condition' option several times, no result. Left the system of for sometime, no result, etc...

I also cannot get some menu like 'DVB System Setup' Menu . If I try to retune by pressing 'DVB Auto Setup', nothing happens. I get the above 'Invalid DVB Channel' after few seconds.

Now, it turns on but no picture intially. When I turn off, it takes about 30/40 seconds to turn off.

I sent an email to the dealer and hoping that they will respond. I did not tell them about the software upgrade thing...just described the problem. My biggest problem is the fact the dealer is in Bolton, and if they do not respond, then things will get complicated.

I did not contact Panasonic as they state on their web site to contact dealer.

This is so irritating....
I have the same television from (I believe) the same Bolton dealer. Luckily for me, the latest software update seemed to go without a hitch (though I might not have risked downloading it had I heard of all the past problems). The dealer in question seems to be on the ball: when my under-warranty Panasonic VCR broke down a few weeks ago, the dealer arranged a collect/return (for 15). I haven't got it back yet though, so can't give a final verdict.
Certs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 20:40
mobidude
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by Certs
I have the same television from (I believe) the same Bolton dealer. Luckily for me, the latest software update seemed to go without a hitch (though I might not have risked downloading it had I heard of all the past problems). The dealer in question seems to be on the ball: when my under-warranty Panasonic VCR broke down a few weeks ago, the dealer arranged a collect/return (for 15). I haven't got it back yet though, so can't give a final verdict.
Are we talking about sound and vision? If yes, then it is a good news...otherwise, I will wait and see, what they do?
mobidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 22:05
East London Boy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: East London, Crystal Palace
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by mobidude
Hi,

I have the same problem.

My Panasonic TX-28DTX1 Television which I bought from one of the internet retailer located in Bolton (and I am in London) back in January 2005 and was working without any problems (both digital & analogue) until Monday evening, 30th May 2005.

When I turned the TV on, a message prompted me to download software update, I pressed 'OK'. It took few minutes to download and then screen went blank. I waited 3/4 minutes and nothing happened so turned on and off.

It initially, it turns itself on automatically (without pressing the remote control after few seconds) whenever I turned it on, and tries to retune. It finds all analogue channels (picture quality seems to be lower / order of channels are incorrect) but it cannot find any digital channels. The screen goes blank with a message: 'Invalid DVB Channel'. The message & setup menu flickers, and also there is a small coloured vertical line closer to the message (left side). If I press the menu, the coloured vertical line gets longer & goes to the right..The line can be seen if I go closer to the TV. This happens every time I turn the TV on, hence, even the analogue channel are not stored.

I tried 'shipping condition' option several times, no result. Left the system of for sometime, no result, etc...

I also cannot get some menu like 'DVB System Setup' Menu . If I try to retune by pressing 'DVB Auto Setup', nothing happens. I get the above 'Invalid DVB Channel' after few seconds.

Now, it turns on but no picture intially. When I turn off, it takes about 30/40 seconds to turn off.

I sent an email to the dealer and hoping that they will respond. I did not tell them about the software upgrade thing...just described the problem. My biggest problem is the fact the dealer is in Bolton, and if they do not respond, then things will get complicated.

I did not contact Panasonic as they state on their web site to contact dealer.

This is so irritating....
So are you saying we have to contact the original dealer we bought the TV from in my case: Argos, don't think they'll have anybody that'll understand about this, sorry no offence to anyone working there, it's just they're a big concern selling shed loads of stuff and wont (I doubt) know about this specific problem with Panasonic. I'm gonna try to contact a Panasonic dealer close to me here in London and see what they have to say if I don't get a reply from Panasonic Technical tomorrow.
East London Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 22:26
mediamaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 848
It seems odd that some peoples updates have gone ok and others have failed dramatically.

Can people list their tv model, the transmitter they are using or location and whether the update was successful or a failure?.

Mine is:

Model: Panasonic TX-28DTX1
Transmitter: Emley Moor
Result: Successful update to E10_2.45 from E10_2.43

I am also disappointed to hear that Panasonic aren't taking this problem more seriously, and telling people to go to the dealer that sold the set is bull. They made the TV, and the software which broke it so they are responsible!.

These TV's can be upgraded via the common interface slot, so AFAIK all they need to do is send you out a PCMCIA card to insert in the slot and this should re update the software.
mediamaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 22:29
East London Boy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: East London, Crystal Palace
Posts: 14

I've just had a reply on another forum site about the on going saga of the Panasonic upgrade. They contacted their dealer (Powerhouse) where the TV was purchased and Powerhouse said, Panasonic are supposed to be sending an engineer to every household affected by this problem. According to Powerhouse it's a widespread problem and this download has been a major headache for Panasonic. It's a major headache and a pain in the you know where for us customers too!!
East London Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 23:12
MIKEFL0
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lichfield, Staffs.
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by East London Boy
I've just had a reply on another forum site about the on going saga of the Panasonic upgrade.
Which forum is it?
I'd be interested to take a look.
MIKEFL0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 00:36
Techno
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 21
Looks like Panasonic have pulled the upgrade off the air ...

http://www.dtg.org.uk/retailer/download_schedule.pl

Last time I buy a Panasonic IDTV
Techno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 02:17
Cookie Crumbler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In the biscuit barrel...
Posts: 1,516
One thing I've read concerned me...
Originally Posted by Royal45
whilst installing the program switch the TV off
You're not supposed to do this, and it actually tells you not to do it. It is possible your warranty could be invalidated, then you're really screwed.

I turned mine on, it said there was a software update available, so I proceeded, and just left it. After about 8 minutes, it was all done and dusted.
Cookie Crumbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 09:18
Brian Damage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Originally Posted by East London Boy
It's a major headache and a pain in the you know where for us customers too!!
morning mate, any joy getting a fix sorted yet ?

i got fed up of trying to get through to pana-chronic so rang my retailer, Powerhouse instead. I think they're gonna send an engineer out with a fix-card or whatever

(fingers crossed)

I'll let you know what happens...

Johnny
Brian Damage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 09:58
Brian Damage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50

ok Folks, here's the deal.

Finally got thru to Panasonic at about 9.30 this am. spoke to some kid in a call centre who must have been away the last two days because he genuinely didn't seem to know what I was talking about...

anyway, all they will do is give you the phone number for your local authorised panasonic dealer who will come out with their kit and fix it. takes about 5 secs apparantly. However if it saves you the cost of a very long call to panasonic waiting in their queue, you may as well dig out your thompson local and just find your local dealer that way.

hope this helps.... (3 days without fview, nightmare!)

take care now.. Johnny
Brian Damage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 10:31
Royal45
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Cookie Crumbler;

The update switched the TV off!

Not me.

Panasonic have a major problem with this update.

We have an engineer visiting today.

So will tell the forum the result, tonight.
Royal45 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:37.