Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Lack of Teletext services on Sky Digital channels.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-05-2005, 21:30
bendolino
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 994

Hi all,

Apologies if covered elsewhere, a forum search appeared to unearth no previous post on this subject.

My Panasonic digibox received the new software upgrade last week and roughly since then I have been unable to get Teletext on any channel to work.

Because I'm lazy and a tight "B" I have the Sky box connected to the VCR, and through that I have the Sky output on my bedroom TV via an RF cable run through between rooms and there is no Teletext present on either.

I did have some problems with picture break up, especially on Channel 4 recently, but I did a cold reboot of the box and this seems to have reduced.

Anyone had this problem with Teletext services too?

I stress that the 'red button' and digital text services are functioning and this is the normal Teletext I am not getting.

Any cures / suggestions / observations welcome.
bendolino is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-05-2005, 21:51
Chris E
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 7,622
Same here, no analogue teletext since the update.

If you reset the box the teletext will return for a few hours but soon disappears.

I can see EMAP not being happy with this situation as their channels depend on teletext to allow viewers to find selection numbers etc.
Chris E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2005, 22:05
bendolino
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 994
Thanks me dear.

Now next question. Anyone else reported this as a fault?


EDIT: I have reported this through the customer feedback section on sky.com
bendolino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2005, 22:39
PK - the King
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,465
Aye, I think I'll fire off an e-mail to them too. Haven't had a good moan for a while......
PK - the King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 06:55
Otis
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,148
Hang on (switches mirror sub box - with latest OS to BBC 1 and selects 'Text' on TV remote) - yep, theres the CEEFAX fallback teletext page right where its supposed to be ...

Don't understand your problem, I still have "analogue teletext" available via my (updated) Sky Digibox ...
Otis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 09:49
Chris E
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 7,622
It may only affect certain boxes. Mine is a Panasonic, as is the original posters.

I've reset it on numerous occasions and the analogue teletext always dissapears after a few hours.
Chris E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 16:00
Dave_Dublin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dublin
Posts: 288
I noticed this a few weeks ago when I got the update - I have a Panasonic Digibox too.

I've posted this in a couple of threads but nobody answered me - At least now I know I'm not the only one with this problem.

I informed Sky myself but got no response.

Luckily my Sky+ box has not been updated or I'd have NO access to analogue text at all !
Dave_Dublin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005, 19:12
bendolino
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 994
Well, here's today's update.
I've spent 35 minutes on the phone to the technical assistance call centre and got precisely nowhere.
Firstly I was told that the teletext would function correctly if I run my RF cables through the box. Err, no, that wouldn't make a shred of difference seeing as though the box is connected via Scart to the television and I access the teletext services on the Sky channels when the TV is on the AV channel.
The senior engineer then told the operator that the box is behaving correctly(!) I pointed out that if the EPG upgrade was to remove analogue teletext signal from channels it doesn't work all that well seeing as though it comes back for a time after cold reboot.
That still doesn't wash, and I informed the operator of your very useful input here that others still have it, and the operator has advised me to go to the engineers' direct via email to pursue the matter. So I will.


*********************

EDIT: Here is a copy of the email - influenced by a lot of your points;

Hi,

I have been directed here by first your web query form and later your first-line technical call centre staff.

My Panasonic Sky Digibox, installed in September 04, has recently successfully installed the new version of the EPG software. All the features that I have been made aware of being in the EPG software upgrade function correctly.

However, at roughly the same time I noted the EPG software upgrade had been done, I then found that no channels carried any form of analogue teletext, subtitling on 888 or otherwise.

I am a forum member at Digital Spy (.co.uk) and I first went to ask other Sky digital users whether they have noticed the same thing. Another person with a Panasonic digibox has the same problem and pointed out that the Teletext returns when you cold reboot the box, then it again disappears after a few hours. Other users say that they have a different box, the new EPG software, and teletext service has not been interrupted.

The call centre person was helpful, however I think under prepared for the questions I had. I am aware that the teletext is sent through the channel's signal and that the television set then decodes it using its text card and it is wholly different to digital teletext and 'red button' services.

What bothers me is the fact that the operator was told that the reason for the loss of the analogue service is in readiness for all channels to transfer over to digital teletext services. Whilst this is a logical technological progression, 100% service to 0% service from one day to the next is a somewhat extreme change.

This raises the following questions;

1. Why is the teletext signal available after switching the box on 'from cold' for a certain amount of time?
2. Why only then does it disappear or become supressed?
3. Why were there no warnings that the new EPG software would, allegedly, make teletext behave in this way?
4. What is the interim alternative or permanent solution?

I know that some of the channels on the EPG, such as The Hits/458 and Q/453, have a heavy reliance on analogue teletext to provide extra services to the viewers. My main use of teletext was for subtitling, a feature now easier to use through the Sky box now the EPG software allows you to toggle subtitles on or off on the main viewing screen.

To note is that I have my Sky box connected to my main living room TV and VCR through Scart cables, and there is a (for want of a better word) crude connection from the VCR to the bedroom TV to allow us to relay the Sky output in there. (Sky Multiroom no good here, block of flats and a communal dish.) Teletext does not work on Sky channels on either in the fashion outlined above.

There is normal teletext service available via analogue terrestrial television on both TV sets.

I have meticulously checked every channel on the EPG (for shame!) and each does not give me analogue teletext, even the ones I expect to have it.

Your thoughts and comments on the above are most appreciated,

Regards,
Ben Haslam
(Viewing Card No: *** *** ***)

Last edited by bendolino : 31-05-2005 at 19:27.
bendolino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 19:25
bendolino
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 994
Still waiting a reply from technical support re above...
bendolino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 19:52
Orry Verducci
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Soham, Cambridgeshire
Posts: 2,774
I just looked on my recently updated Pace 2500 (Black) and Teletext is running as usual. Panny's seem to be the worst affected over this.
Orry Verducci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 22:47
PK - the King
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,465
My Pace DS430-N seems to have settled itself down also. Its now displaying teletext on all analogue channels which would normally transmit analogue teletext, and seems to be doing so without any problems.

Fingers crossed
PK - the King is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:09.