Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Connect your Freeview box to a PC LCD Monitor


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16-08-2005, 15:42
cobra427
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 30

Can the scart output signals of a freeview box be applied to a basic PC LCD monitor succesfully?
I can make a suitable connector up but are they electrically compatible (i.e. if the freeview box has a RGB output etc?)


Y'see, I've got a 15" Dell PC monitor laying around and want to use it as a TV screen - wondering what's the easiest way to do it?
cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 16-08-2005, 15:52
Bezzers1406
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 618
unfortunatly not, you will need to have a card on a pc that will allow you to input video (win tv cards do have it) but you can't directly plug a freeview box (or any type of box other than pc) into a moniter.

if you want to use it as a tv screen have a look at getting a media centre pc (www.ebuyer.co.uk will have the parts, or dell may do them now) and use it as a tv box, you can get video input cards for pc that you will be able to plug the freeview box into.

Hope this helps.

Bez
Bezzers1406 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 15:55
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,289
There is an option...

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?...16m8&source=15

Just don't kook at the price list before you click "Give me one of these NOW"
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 15:59
Bezzers1406
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 618
Originally Posted by chrisjr
There is an option...

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?...16m8&source=15

Just don't kook at the price list before you click "Give me one of these NOW"
though it does say
Not suitable for monitors designed solely for computer use.
So prob not wise with a computer moniter, LCD or not
Bezzers1406 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 16:40
Alex Oughton
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,523
Indeed, that cable is not suitable at all.

You can buy RGB to VGA boxes, but I don't know where to get one from off the top of my head.
Alex Oughton is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 16:46
pcfreeviewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,427
Why do those cables cost so much?
pcfreeviewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 16:47
gormo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 225
^ they sell them on ebay.
i find searching something along the lines of "xbox to vga" works.
gormo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 16:48
Alex Oughton
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,523
Careful. It's possible to get real VGA output from an Xbox, so make sure you don't end up with something which doesn't actually do what it is you want.
Alex Oughton is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 16:50
gormo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 225
although it might be cheaper just to get a tv card.
gormo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 16:56
aaa123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SLOUGH, BERKS
Posts: 2,663
you can get the box that everyones talking about above. Im considering the same option. You can get it for around 30pounds incl. del, from ebay. Some have timer and they make your LCD monitor into a fully functioning tv.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Combo-TV-Box-V...QQcmdZViewItem
aaa123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 16:57
cobra427
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 30
Originally Posted by Bezzers1406
though it does say

So prob not wise with a computer moniter, LCD or not
good link Chrisjr!

mmm tho it does qualify this a bit and mentions CRT at the end of the line and kinda mentions Lcd in the ok part...

mmmm I'll dig out the spec of the screen..
cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 16:59
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,289
Originally Posted by Bezzers1406
though it does say

So prob not wise with a computer moniter, LCD or not
I notice you've edited out the bit where it says...

(The screen must support a horizontal scan rate of 15.625KHz- most projectors, plasma and LCD panels do whereas CRT monitors dont)
Especially the bit about most LCD's supporting the required horizontal scan frequency.

Of course it would be necessary to check the spec sheet of the actual LCD monitor to confirm it can operate at the required frequency. But with the exact Dell model number that shouldn't be too big a problem.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 17:00
Alex Oughton
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,523
That one is less than ideal, as it uses an RF or RCA composite input, so the quality would be low.

S-Video or RGB would be far far better.
Alex Oughton is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 17:14
KenSevens
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
I currently use a 19" ViewSonic monitor (which includes DVI and VGA connections) to view freeview. One of these babies ---> http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...roductID=60008 is all you need to convert S-VHS or composite to VGA. To convert the scart signal to S-VHS or composite, you need one of these: http://www.comparestoreprices.co.uk/...o-sisvr112.asp - I bought mine at the Sony centre.
KenSevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 17:22
tin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,739
Originally Posted by Bezzers1406
though it does say

(The screen must support a horizontal scan rate of 15.625KHz- most projectors, plasma and LCD panels do whereas CRT monitors dont)

So prob not wise with a computer moniter, LCD or not
OMG!! if they are saying the computer monitor must sync down to 15.625KHz, then you could just make your own lead for about a fiver - rip off merchants!!!!
tin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 17:56
1010101010
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: South Coast
Posts: 18
How about this one:-

http://www.mediaatlantic.com/product.php/45702/0/
1010101010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2005, 19:55
aaa123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SLOUGH, BERKS
Posts: 2,663
most of them are expensive, i suggest you get what i've suggested, and your off, theres many others there too.
aaa123 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:52.