Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

aerial - static caravan


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-08-2005, 14:01
mikeho
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2

advice please on fitting an aerial for use in a static caravan.

I will be buying a 15" or 17" LCD tv and not too bothered about sky but may consider freeview. If possible in the future (not available yet) due to poor signal I believe. TQ13

Mike
mikeho is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 17-08-2005, 16:07
David (2)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Wiltshire
Posts: 16,316
Just use a normal aerial just as with a house. You might find you need a larger aerial or have it installed on a higher pole due to the caravan not having an upstairs for the extra height.

Try putting in its post code into the freeview web site.

The only bit that might be different is the way the aerial is located/fixed - caravans dont have brick walls, you see. An aerial installer company should be able to cope with it - especially if they are local and based near the caravan site - you wont be the first to want an aerial.

Sky is also possible, just like with a house, but the attachment to the caravan might be different - like with the aerial. You can now have "Freesat" with a one off payment, and no subscription, but you wont get all the channels that Freeview provides over an aerial.

Dave
David (2) is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2005, 16:25
asdigi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 2,914
if the aerial is going to be low then you might not get a good picture, depends on your location.

you could get a second hand digibox and dish from ebay for about 40 if you have a good look. This would enable you to simply put the dish at ground level (put a pole in the ground and bolt the dish to it, iv'e done that before) and then you will get a perfect picture and have a lot more channels. To get itv, ch4 and five you would need a freesat card from sky for 20. also doing this if you have sky at home you can take your viewing card to the caravan and watch all the channels apart from movies and sport channels as the card needs to be paired to the box.
asdigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2005, 16:27
o u 8 1 2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: middle of know where
Posts: 4,855
if in a very poor signal area try to get the aerial as high as possible and get a high gain one that you would use at home or in the loft
you could also get an amplifier if the signal was still poor
o u 8 1 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2005, 17:23
asdigi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 2,914
if you don't want to speand too much this has everything you would need for a satellite setup including a freesat card, all you need is a way of securing the dish

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AMSTRAD-DRX100...QQcmdZViewItem
asdigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2005, 21:00
freeview_mad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,918
lol, when i saw the thread title i thought you were having trouble with static electricity jumping to your aerial
freeview_mad is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16.