Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Astra 28 and 19 plus Hotbird 13 on one dish?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18-08-2005, 20:33
givecredit
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ireland.
Posts: 439

Hi,

is it possible to have astra 19 and 28 deg plus hotbird 13 on one dish. Or more to the point is it possible to feed 4 Sky digiboxes and one sky plus from 28deg, Possibly with Quattro lnb and Multiswitch. and also feed separate receiver with Astra 28 and 19 and Hotbird 13. with 3 way disque switch? feeding the separate receiver from 19 and 13 lnbs and one output from multiswitch for 28 deg.

is this the way to do it, or is there a better way?
givecredit is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-08-2005, 20:39
far
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: York
Posts: 3,091
Originally Posted by givecredit
is it possible to have astra 19 and 28 deg plus hotbird 13 on one dish.
Certainly so - I have this setup using a 78cm dish and it works fine but you might want to get a 90cm dish for a better rain margin.

Or more to the point is it possible to feed 4 Sky digiboxes and one sky plus from 28deg, Possibly with Quattro lnb and Multiswitch. and also feed separate receiver with Astra 28 and 19 and Hotbird 13. with 3 way disque switch? feeding the separate receiver from 19 and 13 lnbs and one output from multiswitch for 28 deg.

is this the way to do it, or is there a better way?
Again I believe it's possible but what about a octo LNB for 28.2E which would provide up to 8 outputs? Not sure how much it would cost though.
far is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2005, 20:42
givecredit
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ireland.
Posts: 439
i thought about the Octo Lnb, but i believe that the weight of that with 2 lnbs for 19 and 13 deg, would be very heavy for sat dish, esp for west of Ireland where it can be quite windy at times..
givecredit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2005, 23:07
Sam Radford.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N Yorks
Posts: 13,712
See http://www.satcure.com/tech/page9.htm
Sam Radford. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2005, 11:46
jeallen01
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: W.London
Posts: 707
Originally Posted by far
Certainly so - I have this setup using a 78cm dish and it works fine but you might want to get a 90cm dish for a better rain margin.
Again I believe it's possible but what about a octo LNB for 28.2E which would provide up to 8 outputs? Not sure how much it would cost though.
Raven Gemini 90 or similar (e.g Archersat DJ85) is good for this sort of application - I used a Gemini 90 to (just about!) get 28E to 5W, but neither limit was very good. However it worked pretty well on 19E to 1W (= 20 degrees) when centred on 13E (Hotbird), so it will easily deal with 28E to 13W (= 15 degrees) but centre it on 19E (Astra 1).

A general problem with multiple LNB's on the arm is the weight which makes it very wobbly. Simple and cheap solution is to go to a B&Q Superstore (small stores won't stock!) for some of the 60-80cm long zinc-plated metal strips which are used for roof trusses and similar applications. Look in the building section where they have all sorts of brackets for bolting trusses and joints together.

A pair of these will cost you less than 3, and you simply screw one end of each strip onto each side of the dish rim and then strap the other end of each strip to the feed arm near the LNB mount. Use the LNB holder bracket bolt if it is in the right place, or simply use a small car exhaust "U" bolt clamp around the arm and the ends of the strips. Total cost <4!

You can even add further zinc strips from the dish rim to the outer ends of the bracket which holds all the LNBs - done this and it works well.

John A
jeallen01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2005, 18:51
givecredit
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ireland.
Posts: 439
Thanks for all the very helpful replies. Before i proceed with yer advise, i need to know, if the LNB for Astra 28 is a Quattro lnb,(To feed other Sky digiboxes and Sky+) Will a 4 way Disque Switch work with this set up, (IE switching between 13deg lnb 19 deg lnb and one of outputs from Multiswitch,Multiswitch being feed from 4 outputs from quattro lnb, NOT quad lnb)
givecredit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 11:21
lambchop
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Worcester
Posts: 23

I am relatively new to this so please forgive me if all these questions have been asked before I have had a good look around the site before asking honest!

I currently have sky box, FTV card and a sky mini-dish with a quad LNB. I have just purchased from Lidl the 80cm dish, one universal LNB, the satellite finding gismo and the silvercrest box. I would like to pick up Astra 28 and 19 plus Hotbird 13 all on the same dish as well.

My partner isnt very keen on two dishes on the side of the house, so my preferred solution is to take down the mini dish and replace it with the 80cm dish. I would like to retain the quad LNB as it feeds a couple of rooms and would allow sky+ in the future, what I did like was the setup on this site: http://www.satcure.com/tech/page9.htm.

So my questions

What is the simplest method for achieving this? Is this the best approach? Any ideas?

Does anyone know if the Extra LNB bracket kit would fit the lidl dish? http://www.satcure.com/accs/page2.htm#wall

Would this help me? http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/UNIVERSAL-SATE...QQcmdZViewItem

Should I just go with a second dish and use something like this?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BRAND-NEW-0-6D...QQcmdZViewItem

thanks in advance

Kevin
lambchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 12:52
SteveMcK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,731
Originally Posted by lambchop
I am relatively new to this so please forgive me if all these questions have been asked before I have had a good look around the site before asking honest!

I currently have sky box, FTV card and a sky mini-dish with a quad LNB. I have just purchased from Lidl the 80cm dish, one universal LNB, the satellite finding gismo and the silvercrest box. I would like to pick up Astra 28 and 19 plus Hotbird 13 all on the same dish as well.

My partner isnt very keen on two dishes on the side of the house, so my preferred solution is to take down the mini dish and replace it with the 80cm dish. I would like to retain the quad LNB as it feeds a couple of rooms and would allow sky+ in the future, what I did like was the setup on this site: http://www.satcure.com/tech/page9.htm.

So my questions

What is the simplest method for achieving this? Is this the best approach? Any ideas?

Does anyone know if the Extra LNB bracket kit would fit the lidl dish? http://www.satcure.com/accs/page2.htm#wall

Would this help me? http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/UNIVERSAL-SATE...QQcmdZViewItem

Should I just go with a second dish and use something like this?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BRAND-NEW-0-6D...QQcmdZViewItem

thanks in advance

Kevin
It's a do-able approach, but one thing to consider is that an LNB for a minidish won't fit a standard dish like the Lidl one, so you'd need to buy a new quad LNB for a standard dish. I use a Triax 105cm dish with room for 4 LNBs. Currently I have a quad for 28E, a twin for 19E and a single for 13e. My wife isn't too keen on the 105cm dish, but tolerates it more than she would two 80cm ones...

The second dish is the easier approach, and also means that you won't risk upsetting the Sky reception while you fiddle with the alignment for the others.
SteveMcK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 13:26
pmiller056
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 91
I'm interested in 3 sats off the one dish - I can do it with
a diseqc LNB switch at the back of the dish controlled by the
receiver. (Non-sky receiver in use).

However, the current that the receiver can supply is limited
and if all 3 LNBs are powered simultaneously, the receiver
will be overloaded. Can anyone tell me if any of the diseqc
switches available only power the LNB currently selected.

A trawl with google etc doesn't elicit anything useful. Are
there any installation/operating manuals for these switches
available on the net, just to get an idea of what can be
bought?

Thanks

Peter
pmiller056 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 14:43
jno
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Middle of nowhere
Posts: 813
Get the 90cm Wavefrontier or Force dish - www.wavefrontier.com

I get 42E to 1W no problem at all, can be extended also but this is a real enthusiasts dish - I love it though, because once the middle is lined up, the rest just move along the pole, each degree shown by a line - bloody great stuff!

Where I am, when I have 19e in the middle of that dish I get almost 100% quality and strength of all 19e transponders - madness, never seen anything like it.

I currently have 2x 4-way DISEQC switches and a dual LNB at 28e (this gets me BBCi transponders) outside the 2D zone wth a FTA box. When people come around they are amazed by the dish!

I've seen FORCE dishes for sale in the UK - check out any sat mags for this. No supplier to the UK mentioned on that site though, even though it is in English.
jno is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 15:16
leetait
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 392
I have an 80cm dish, which currently has a monoblock lnb receiving Hotbird and Astra 1. I'd like to add 28.2e to it.

I assume the monoblock, added to a 9degree bracket and single lnb will do the trick?

Any comments gratefully received.
leetait is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 09:18
Adrian Mole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Lat: 47N; Long: 8E
Posts: 1,416
yes it should although monoblock LNB is not the most ideal for a multi-sat fixed setup.

I have one on a 1m Gilbertini dish with 28e slightly offset and the monoblock way, way, way offset....
Adrian Mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 11:51
aljdavie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Here and there
Posts: 636
I did this a while ago using a zone two dish and a few bits from around the house. Works like a dream. If any ones intrested, I can mail them the pictures - let me know
aljdavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 11:51
jno
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Middle of nowhere
Posts: 813
I once contacted a dealer here about this and he mentioned that to achieve such feat the dish should be 80cm or above, nothing less. Hence I opted for the Wavefrontier but a motorised setup would work jsut as well if set up correctly.
jno is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 14:26
leetait
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 392
Originally Posted by aljdavie
I did this a while ago using a zone two dish and a few bits from around the house. Works like a dream. If any ones intrested, I can mail them the pictures - let me know
I could do that too...I have a zone two dish lying around. How could I get the pics???
leetait is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 18:11
ivrm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 239
Originally Posted by givecredit
Hi,

is it possible to have astra 19 and 28 deg plus hotbird 13 on one dish. Or more to the point is it possible to feed 4 Sky digiboxes and one sky plus from 28deg, Possibly with Quattro lnb and Multiswitch. and also feed separate receiver with Astra 28 and 19 and Hotbird 13. with 3 way disque switch? feeding the separate receiver from 19 and 13 lnbs and one output from multiswitch for 28 deg.

is this the way to do it, or is there a better way?
Yes I do it with a 1.2m dish no problems on any all three sats good quality signal
ivrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2005, 15:12
aljdavie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Here and there
Posts: 636
If you want a copy of the pics - send me a mail

aljdavie@techemail.com
aljdavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 21:55
bunnyhutch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12

Quote: "Raven Gemini 90 or similar is good for this sort of application - I used a Gemini 90 to (just about!) get 28E to 5W, but neither limit was very good. However it worked pretty well on 19E to 1W (= 20 degrees) when centred on 13E (Hotbird), so it will easily deal with 28E to 13W (= 15 degrees) but centre it on 19E (Astra 1)."


Hi there.

I'm considering getting either a Raven Gemini 70 (mesh) or 90 (solid) dish with multi-ln clamps.

I'm wanting to get 28e, 19e & 13e on the same dish. Will the R.G.70 acheive this? (I'm in Whitby, North Yorks - NE coast) Obviously 90 would be better, but is it possible with 70 as a smaller mesh dish would be better? Windy location, etc.

Ideally, I'd like to get either:
1) 42e (for footy on TV8), 33e, 28e, 19e, 13e, or
2) 33e (for footy on Fox Turk), 28e, 23e, 19e, 13e

I know this would have to be the R.G.90, it anything. But would the outer sats be far to weak? The above quote says that they've acheive a 33 degrees overall, but weak outers.

Thanks
bunnyhutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 07:54
Sam Radford.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N Yorks
Posts: 13,712
If you want a copy of the pics - send me a mail
Nice one. That email address will now see an increase in spam.

Anyway, save a stamp. Upload your pictures so everyone can see them:

http://www.imageshack.us
http://www.pictiger.com
Sam Radford. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 08:23
Chris Simon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Snowdonia
Posts: 2,723
Well, the address might not even exist now, considering it was 2 years ago! Probably got overwhelmed with spam...
Chris Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 14:06
Sam Radford.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N Yorks
Posts: 13,712
Good grief, so it was? Who woke this old thread up?
Are your long floppy ears burning, Mr RabbitHouse?
Sam Radford. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 10:39
bunnyhutch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Good grief, so it was? Who woke this old thread up?
Are your long floppy ears burning, Mr RabbitHouse?
Yeah...Ouch!!
bunnyhutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 10:41
rai uno
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tremp (Catalunya)
Posts: 20,821
Nevertheless, I have attempted to answer your identical question on the other Thread you re-awakened


................ here
rai uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 17:54
JamesE
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hibaldstow, N. Lincolnshire
Posts: 5,735
Bunnyhutch, it is perfectly possible with an ancient mesh dish, around 70cm, here:
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/3696/dish2s8sh.jpg
It was all home-brew and worked a treat.
JamesE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 18:02
rai uno
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tremp (Catalunya)
Posts: 20,821
Ah, but you only have half the story, Jim.

On the other old Thread he restarted, his proposal is slightly different in that he also wants 42E and, rather more wishfully, 33E.
rai uno is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:38.