Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

HELP. Can I use TV Coax cable for my satellite installation?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18-12-2005, 15:37
Tiffy
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 399

HELP. Can I use TV Coax cable for my satellite installation?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have just been out looking for some new sat cable but the guy in Homebase said I could use standard coax cable.

Is he right?

Thanks.
Tiffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-12-2005, 15:50
Zaphod_B
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 752
Originally Posted by Tiffy
HELP. Can I use TV Coax cable for my satellite installation?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have just been out looking for some new sat cable but the guy in Homebase said I could use standard coax cable.

Is he right?

Thanks.
Don't think so but I'm not sure.

A quick check on various websites . . .

Standard co-ax is 75 ohms per metre (80 x 0.12mm dia copper braid).

Satellite cable also appears to be 75 ohms per metre (1 x 1mm dia solid copper conductor with 64 x 0.12mm dia copper braid).

Is there any price difference? I suspect the satellite cable would be viewed as a 'permium' product and therefore more expensive! So ordinary co-ax seems to be OK to use! Go with the cheapest and if it's the ordinary brown co-ax, let us know how you get on.

Zaph
Zaphod_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 15:52
sskywatcher
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Tiffy
HELP. Can I use TV Coax cable for my satellite installation?
Not outside. Use screened satellite cable designed for that purpose.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 16:04
JBlink
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,926
Originally Posted by sskywatcher
Not outside. Use screened satellite cable designed for that purpose.
Why not outside? Surely the issue is one of electrical (RF) compatibility rather than environmental protection. Aerial coax is just as waterproof - in the same way that the termination is not.
JBlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 16:08
Zaphod_B
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 752
Originally Posted by sskywatcher
Not outside. Use screened satellite cable designed for that purpose.
Why not? Ordinary terrestrial TV from your aerial is routed outside in about 98%+ of households. Do you have a good reason for posting that ordinary TV co-ax should not be used outdoors?

Zaph
Zaphod_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 16:30
RattledRat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 53
Originally Posted by Tiffy
HELP. Can I use TV Coax cable for my satellite installation?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have just been out looking for some new sat cable but the guy in Homebase said I could use standard coax cable.

Is he right?

Thanks.
NO he should not be giving duff advice.

TV coax has to much antenuation per metre.
There is a good chance the coax will not slide through the connection barrel.
Use what is correct for the hardware being connected.
RattledRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 17:44
tight fart
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hainault
Posts: 76
It would depend on a few things and being in or outside is not one of them. The most important thing is the length of run and the quality of the cable. I would be suprised if Homebase sell anything but the cheapest coax available. If your cable run is no more than 4/5 metres it will probably be fine. The main difference between older type TV cable and "satellite" cable is screening. If you have already got the cable then it's worth a try. If not get a good quality cable such as CT100, H109f or any benchmarked cable.
tight fart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 17:57
mob227
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 155
im in the satellite trade and if you go to any good eletrical wholesalers the will probley hook you up with a 100 metre roll of ct100 for about 9 to 10 pounds plus the vat i only pay 7.87 plus vat for 100m roll of it, with cable the main thing is to have the main center core sheilded useing foil cheap brown tv coax does not have this and is a bit thinner so the f connectors dont fit as well,

so what your saying is correct ,

some people must be mad buying cable from places like homebase and b&q have you seen the price's they charge

Originally Posted by tight fart
It would depend on a few things and being in or outside is not one of them. The most important thing is the length of run and the quality of the cable. I would be suprised if Homebase sell anything but the cheapest coax available. If your cable run is no more than 4/5 metres it will probably be fine. The main difference between older type TV cable and "satellite" cable is screening. If you have already got the cable then it's worth a try. If not get a good quality cable such as CT100, H109f or any benchmarked cable.
mob227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 18:05
Tiffy
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 399
I posted this same question in the Technical section of the Satellite forum and only got one response.

Huge thanks to all those in the Sky+ forum - I know where to ask next time
Tiffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 18:26
jeallen01
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: W.London
Posts: 707
Originally Posted by sskywatcher
Not outside. Use screened satellite cable designed for that purpose.
Don't ordinary TV coax indoors either!

There is far more interference inside the house - from all the appliances and AV equipment AND SAT set-top boxes - and many of us have had a lot of trouble in this area. Personally, I certainly had a lot of trouble with a very early PACE digibox when I used the patch lead that came with it and there was a lot of interference to the TV picture.
(never had any trouble with the previous analogue sat kit!)

Only solved the problem when I replaced ALL the cables around the AV set-up with proper double-screened sat cable. Never used anything else since and rarely have trouble.

Cheap double-screened sat cable may not be as good as the best foam-filled WF100 etc (which I tend to use outdoors), but it is a damn sight better than cheap TV coax - if you remove the sheath from some of it there is hardly any screening there at all, just a few strands of thin screening wire that covers only 25-50% of the insulator.

Also, you can fit ordinary TV coax plugs to sat cable quite easily, and the latter is smaller in diameter so it is easier to route. But DON'T bend it sharply or, like TV coax, it will flatten and kink and that will seriously affect the signal.

Don't waste your time and money on the cheapest stuff as you may well have to do the job again later - and the guy in Homebase is obviously a complete and/or untrained idiot (and you tell him that from me the next time you see him!)

John
jeallen01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 18:45
clockworks999
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 2,014
If you can't get to an electrical wholesaler (CEF, Senate, etc.), B&Q sell proper CT100 satellite grade coax. A 50m drum will cost about 10.

I normally buy mine from CEF, but the last time I tried, they had sold out!

I use CT100 for all my coax - aerial and Sky - except for the main feed from the dish (Sky+ "shotgun" cable).
clockworks999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 18:59
tight fart
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hainault
Posts: 76
mob227 !!
First thing first, If your in the satellite trade you should know the difference between CT100 and RG6, you can only buy CT100 at 7.87 if it's stolen or not CT100. i.e. RG6.
If I'm wrong I'll buy 50 kms from you at 9 per 100m netting you a nice profit. I would prefer it on 250m rolls though please.
tight fart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 20:24
sskywatcher
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Zaphod_B
Do you have a good reason for posting that ordinary TV co-ax should not be used outdoors?
There are several which other posters have already mentioned on this thread. They are mainly to do with interference from mobile phones, car ignition systems etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2005, 20:27
sskywatcher
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by jeallen01
Don't ordinary TV coax indoors either!

There is far more interference inside the house -Don't waste your time and money on the cheapest stuff as you may well have to do the job again later - and the guy in Homebase is obviously a complete and/or untrained idiot (and you tell him that from me the next time you see him!)
Good quality cable is worth paying the extra for, even down to the scart lead that connects your digibox to your TV.
  Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:14.