Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Installing sky plus myself


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23-03-2006, 02:17
dp_polo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 15

hi,
bought a sky plus box today on ebay and was wondering how i would go about installing it. I have normal sky at the moment but only one line from my minidish. How would I go about getting a second or would there be a fitting available to split the original.
Thanks Damian
dp_polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 23-03-2006, 06:58
Paul from Ulm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 765
You can't split the existing feed, you'll have to run a complete new second feed from the dish to the box. Also you'll of course have to change the LNB on the dish for one that has at least 2 outputs (unless of course it already has).

Finally, I assume you are aware that unless you're on one of Sky's "premium packages" that it'll cost you 10 a month to have the Sky+ features enabled on your box?
Paul from Ulm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 13:19
dp_polo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 15
Yeah paying 40 odd pound a month at the minute so i'll not be paying the extra 10 thank god. looks like i'll be calling out someone to do it for me, i'll not be able to do that!! Thanks
dp_polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 13:31
coopermanyorks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Gods Own County
Posts: 20,012
Hi

You could also go multiroom and have the std box installed in the or a second room an extra 10 per month for a mirror subscription .

But this will allow you to watch the footy whilst the wife watches Ready steady cook
coopermanyorks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 18:09
dp_polo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 15
Its my da paying the bill and thinking i'm pushing it already with the price.lol How much would a quad LNB cost as I see they're on ebay for 5-10. I've a mini dish and not sure if that means I'll need a RAVEN, THOMSON or SKYWARE on or if it makes a difference. Thanks
dp_polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 18:11
dp_polo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 15
Would any of these be suitable?!
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/High-Quality-Q...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BRAND-NEW-BOXE...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BRAND-NEW-QUAD...QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks
dp_polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 19:57
Tony Hoyle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,663
The first two look like the same thing.. the third one has no pictures so I'd personally avoid that.

If you'd rather not risk ebay then you can buy them new from satcure: http://www.satcure.co.uk/accs/page1.htm

Checkout the 'ultimate lnb' halfway down the page.
Tony Hoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 20:54
imprator
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 231
Satcure are a good company, but tend to be expensive on many products in my opinion.

Try DAS at http://www.dastv.co.uk/ProductSearch.aspx?Category=171. They do quad LNG's for Sky dishes at 27. (NOTE - Prices on the website do not include VAT.)

They also sell Pace PVR3's for 100 (or 110 if you also want an LNB). Seems a good price to me - but I don't really know what might be available elsewhere.
imprator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 23:21
mongosito
Banned User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,307
If you get Sky to install it,they will fit a new LNB,possibly a new dish,and you'll even get a guarantee even though the box is not from Sky.
All for 60.
Multiroom may even mean a free install.
Don't waste time with an independent on this occasion.
If the box goes wrong neither the installer nor Sky will help for free and you'd be lucky to get an all in price under 60 anyway
mongosito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 23:49
dp_polo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 15
I bought an Amstrad DRX180 and a skyware quad lnb for a total of 75. Sorta regretting the Amstrad cus of the slagging off it seems to be getting on here!! Getting a family freind to put it in, he's a local engineer. It'll prob all end in disaster but I've been wanting sky + that much I hope it all works out!!
dp_polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2006, 08:58
ejim03
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,758
I've had an Amstrad Sky+ box for 18 months which I installed myself - absolutely fine, and I've never even heard the clicking or the fan coming on which is reported on here a lot.

I know they have their problems, but I think a few posts are just people repeating what others have said - making it seem like more people have problems with them.
ejim03 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:03.