Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

DTT Reception in Poole


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2002, 13:33
digiberks
 
Posts: n/a

Hi,
I'm moving to Poole, Dorset in 2 weeks and will be getting NTL Digital Cable or Sky Digital for the main TV. However, I would like to keep my ex-ITV Digital box for the bedroom. Does anyone on this forum live in Poole or Bournemouth? If so, could you tell me what the digital and analogue terrestrial reception is like down there? Do I have a chance of getting a DTT signal?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Digiberks

Ps. I have already done a postcode check on my new address and it says uncertain coverage. Although, it also says that where I live now, in Bracknell, even though I can receive muxs 1,2, B and D with an indoor aerial!
  Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-09-2002, 08:51
mrphil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 334
Yes, I can confirm there is full reception here in Poole, and also in Bournemouth. However, Depending on your location you will probably need a new high gain aerial, as I found that the signal was poor before I upgraded. I still get some "fridge" generated breakup now, though picture is good 99% of the time. Bear in mind that Poole is quite a big place, the closer you are to the coast the better the signal, as the transmitter in on the Isle of White.
mrphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 17:10
jamesl
Banned User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: East Midlands
Posts: 365
what would happen if you lived in an area with "uncertain coverage" - as the digital tv website calls it????

Would the picture be of a poorer quality - like analogue tv (when the picture is slightly fuzzy etc)

or would you simply recieve no signals at all??

i was wondrering as that is what their website says for my area.

please let me know

james
jamesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 17:41
jra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 33,180
In general the ATT picture tends to fade away gracefully, whereas the DTT signal is more of an all or nothing/off or on type picture. Once the decoder fails to decode the signals properly, you can get anything from noise clicks and a green mosaic pattern to catastrophic failure.

The only way to be sure in an uncertain area is to try it and take the STB box back if the signal is no good, using your existing aerial and if it's still inadequate after an aerial upgrade. It may pay dividends to use a mast head amplifier or other type, but these can have a negative effect (just amplify noise) as well as a positive effect.

jra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 18:56
jamesl
Banned User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: East Midlands
Posts: 365
hi

thanks for your advice

thing is, i was thinking of buying a second hand box from the internet, so what would your advice be in a "uncertain signal" area??? i wouldnt be able to send it back if i could recieve it!

please let me know

james
jamesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 19:58
lolmil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 94
I live in Christchurch and don't get the ITV/Ch4 mux. All other channels are OK, no breakup, etc...

When the new system is up and running I am hoping that I will get all channels.

Don't belive you can get NTL till you've got it. I live in an area that I should be able to get it and they have been messing me about since May. I didn't like Skys CS much but compared to the NTL set up they are brilliant.
lolmil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 20:20
jra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 33,180
thing is, i was thinking of buying a second hand box from the internet, so what would your advice be in a "uncertain signal" area??? i wouldnt be able to send it back if i could recieve it!
If you post where you live, somebody here may be able to comment on the quality of the DTT signal.

I take it you've done a reception prediction somewhere like here http://www.dtg.org.uk/retailer/coverage.html.

Have you seen what http://www.wolfbane.com/cgi-bin/tvd.exe? says?
jra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 21:26
digiberks
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for your replies.

Originally posted by mrphil
Yes, I can confirm there is full reception here in Poole, and also in Bournemouth. However, Depending on your location you will probably need a new high gain aerial, as I found that the signal was poor before I upgraded. I still get some "fridge" generated breakup now, though picture is good 99% of the time. Bear in mind that Poole is quite a big place, the closer you are to the coast the better the signal, as the transmitter in on the Isle of White.
Glad to hear that reception is good down there. I do expect to have to get a new aerial anyway, because I presume the existing one is a Group A aerial, so the ITV/C4 mux will be out of band. BTW, The area I am moving to is Canford Heath.

Originally posted by lolmil
I live in Christchurch and don't get the ITV/Ch4 mux. All other channels are OK, no breakup, etc...

When the new system is up and running I am hoping that I will get all channels.

Don't belive you can get NTL till you've got it. I live in an area that I should be able to get it and they have been messing me about since May. I didn't like Skys CS much but compared to the NTL set up they are brilliant.
Thanks for the info. Are you sure that your aerial is not "out of band"? The reason I say this is that from Rowridge, analogue TV uses frequencies in the Group A aerial band. Whereas, with Digital all muxs except the ITV/C4 mux are in the Group A band. Therefore a wideband aerial may allow you to receive all channels. (Sorry if you have already tried this, but I just thought I would mention it.)

Thanks for the advice about NTL. I definitely know that I can get it, because the existing occupants have it.

Anyway, thanks for your help.

Digiberks
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 22:20
spikej
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Stratford-upon-Avon
Posts: 2,530
Originally posted by lolmil
I live in Christchurch and don't get the ITV/Ch4 mux. All other channels are OK, no breakup, etc...

When the new system is up and running I am hoping that I will get all channels.

Don't belive you can get NTL till you've got it. I live in an area that I should be able to get it and they have been messing me about since May. I didn't like Skys CS much but compared to the NTL set up they are brilliant.
Are you using a wide band areial? I live in Christchurch too and it's the only way to get Mux 2 (ITV/C4) due to the fact it is broadcasted on a frequency which is outside of group A, the frequency used out of Rowridge to broadcast the signal. (Correct me if I'm wrong) Mind you, you don't miss much without ITV2 I can tell you. Waste of space! Anyway.

The only way I got digital TV was to wack up a HUGE wideband areial, and have a signal booster so I can get a watchable picture (75% on BBC and SDN Mux, 60-65% on ITV). I know that when I had ONDigital, most of the pay channels (Mux B, C and D) were broadcasted from Rowridge at 3kw, but now they are broadcasted at 10kw (the same rating as Mux 1, 2 and A) and although I haven't been able to test it (Pace FTA user!) I think the 10kw and the soon to be used 16QAM should sort that one out! So hopefully Mux B to D will be fine come October.

As for the poster in Canford Heath, you should be fine, but will you be living in the valley part, behind Tower Park? If you are I'm not to sure what kind of signal you'll get. If any. I think there is a relay somewhere in Poole which serves that area.

I hope this rambling is of some help! Stu
spikej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 08:35
mrphil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 334
Originally posted by digiberks
The area I am moving to is Canford Heath.
Canford Heath is more of a problem because it sits in a valley. However, as long as the aerial is outside, is wideband, and is well adjusted, I believe you should be OK. Expect to have to buy a signal booster. It is all down to the terrain really. I live at the top of the valley, so dont have any problem.
mrphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 09:50
lolmil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 94
SpikeJ:

It is a communal aeriel as I live in a flat, so I have no idea. I can only put a new one in the loft as we can't put things outside (otherwise a SKY dish would have gone up the day we moved in). Will a better aeriel work if it is in the loft?
lolmil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 10:18
mrphil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 334
Originally posted by lolmil
SpikeJ:

It is a communal aeriel as I live in a flat, so I have no idea. I can only put a new one in the loft as we can't put things outside (otherwise a SKY dish would have gone up the day we moved in). Will a better aeriel work if it is in the loft?
Yes, mine is in the loft. Had to change it because I couldnt get the ITV mux. Bought a Labgear Highgain from B&Q for about 30, solved all my problems.
mrphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 11:36
Ignite
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,661
There are some parts of Canford Heath that don't have good reception from Rowridge, and they have their own relay transmitter running at an amazing 6 Watts !!! So, it all depends on where you are. Also, there is a Maplin store in Bournemouth, and they have a good range of aerials.
Ignite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 13:05
Mark C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 5,253
Originally posted by Ignite
There are some parts of Canford Heath that don't have good reception from Rowridge, and they have their own relay transmitter running at an amazing 6 Watts !!!
That's right, it's on top of the water tower that overlooks the area.

In short DTT is only available from Rowridge (IOW). The Canford Heath relay, and the larger one for Poole do not carry
DTT signals. Some parts of C.H. can receive analogue signals
from Mendip (Somerset!), but I doubt DTT is possible.

As others have indicted, your aerIal will need to be Wideband,
as the ITV/C4 mux from Rowridge is transmitted on UHF ch 52,
outside the range of the normal analogue grouping for Rowridge, Grp A.
Mark C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 13:09
mrphil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 334
Originally posted by Ignite
Also, there is a Maplin store in Bournemouth
Where?
mrphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 17:05
James Hatts
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Posts: 242
Originally posted by mrphil

Where?
In Commercial Road, just above the end of the pedestrianised bit, near the Triangle.
James Hatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 18:45
digiberks
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks again for all your replies.

Originally posted by spikej
As for the poster in Canford Heath, you should be fine, but will you be living in the valley part, behind Tower Park? If you are I'm not to sure what kind of signal you'll get. If any. I think there is a relay somewhere in Poole which serves that area.
I noticed that the aerial is horizontally mounted and so is almost certainly pointing at Rowridge. The house that I am moving to is at the top of the valley, so hopefully that will help. I think it is the houses around Sherborn that use the Canford Heath relay (Please correct me if I'm wrong!)

Originally posted by mrphil
Canford Heath is more of a problem because it sits in a valley. However, as long as the aerial is outside, is wideband, and is well adjusted, I believe you should be OK. Expect to have to buy a signal booster. It is all down to the terrain really. I live at the top of the valley, so dont have any problem.
I expect the aerial to be a Group A, so I will be prepared to upgrade to a wideband. Regarding the signal booster, I already have 2, so they might help if I get a weak DTT signal.

Originally posted by Ignite
There are some parts of Canford Heath that don't have good reception from Rowridge, and they have their own relay transmitter running at an amazing 6 Watts !!! So, it all depends on where you are. Also, there is a Maplin store in Bournemouth, and they have a good range of aerials.
I don't expect the signal travels very far then! Thanks for the info about Maplin.

Originally posted by Mark C
In short DTT is only available from Rowridge (IOW). The Canford Heath relay, and the larger one for Poole do not carry
DTT signals. Some parts of C.H. can receive analogue signals
from Mendip (Somerset!), but I doubt DTT is possible.
Just out of interest, isn't the larger Poole relay at Parkstone?

My aunt lives in Corfe Mullen and can get TV from Rowridge as well as Mendip. She doesn't have digital though. She is a little bit closer to Somerset than what I will be, but it is good to know that Mendip might also be a possibility.

Thanks Again

Digiberks
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 19:38
Mark C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 5,253
Originally posted by digiberks
Thanks again for all your replies.

Just out of interest, isn't the larger Poole relay at Parkstone?

Yep, just off Ashley Road.
Mark C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 13:43
me705709
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 32

Asked the ITC if the above mentioned channel relocation for Mux 2 from Rowridge is going to happen (we too suffer from very low signal strength, ie 3-5% vs. 40% for other muxes) and received the following helpful reply:

The power of the Mux 2 transmitter is at 20kW as are all of the other multiplexes from Rowridge (except Mux A which is due to increase from 10kW next week). There are proposals to change Mux 2 from channel 52 to channel 28 and this proposal has received frequency clearance within the UK. The proposal has been passed for agreement to the European Authorities with whom the UK must co-ordinate changes to any of the transmitter network. Until this agreement is achieved, there is no certainty that the change will be made. Unfortunately, I am unable to give you a timetable as European agreement is out of the direct control of any UK administration. However, I can say that even if approval were to be received now, the earliest any change could be made would probably be early 2004.
me705709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 14:18
Cherries_fan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stoford,Nr Yeovil
Posts: 113
There are a lot of hills between Mendip & Canford Heath!
Historically, TV reception in the Canford Heath/Creekmoor area has been dire to say the least - Cable & $ky i would argue dominate those areas.
Upper Parkstone however, where i grew up, is perched high up & nearer to Rowridge. I used to receive analogue signals from Rowridge & Mendip very clearly.
It might be using the search facility as i asked the same question some months ago & i vaguely remember someone from Broadstone replying with a constructive answer. In short, Canford Heath is a dodgy area where TV signals are concerned.
Cherries_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:34.