Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Sky Plus - Housekeeping


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-03-2006, 20:54
Mystic-SoD
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32

Just wondered if anyone knows the 'secret way' of getting in to it.
I had problems after 5 months where as the recordings or pause etc didnt work - I rang them and I had to press certain buttons and then arrived at housekeeping and then had to do something there - I think its like a tidy up - defrag - I thought I would do it now and again as I didnt lose my programmes and it fixed the problem -
thanks in anticipation
Mystic-SoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-03-2006, 21:15
skyliner1232002
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 151
Press the Services button,
Then press 4,0,1, SELECT

Don't worry that the options are not on screen!
skyliner1232002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2006, 10:36
Xorro
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northants
Posts: 63
The options are on the screen?

After pressing 01 select, I get the menu, where 7 is planner rebuild and 8 is system reset.
Xorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2006, 10:55
Rik Bean
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 1,045
Originally Posted by Xorro
The options are on the screen?

After pressing 01 select, I get the menu, where 7 is planner rebuild and 8 is system reset.
I think Skyliner was referring to the fact that the 0 doesn't appear on screen.
Rik Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 10:51
Mystic-SoD
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Thank you I presume its ok to do this now and again to keep it ticking over nicely??
Mystic-SoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 11:15
pcbbc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 5,501
Originally Posted by Mystic-SoD
Thank you I presume its ok to do this now and again to keep it ticking over nicely??
A planner rebuild has been known to delete everything. This is only in extreme circumstances though, so usually it is safe.
Personally I only use it if I have a problem, and accept the risks.
pcbbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 12:15
Xorro
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northants
Posts: 63
It's funny you should say that as I did a planner rebuild last weekend and afterwards my panner was empty!

Yes a 62% full 250gb disk - gone...
Xorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 12:26
pcbbc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 5,501
Originally Posted by Xorro
It's funny you should say that as I did a planner rebuild last weekend and afterwards my panner was empty!

Yes a 62% full 250gb disk - gone...
Ooops, nasty.
I don't think the planner rebuild is particularly good at fixing errors either. For example I had a completely empty planner once, but with missing free space. PR couldn't recover it! Of course in this situation a FSR is probably advisable, but that would have deleted my future planner entries also.
pcbbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 12:45
Mystic-SoD
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Well I dont this as instructed over the phone my sky customer services and I didnt lose any programmes - It fixed the problems that I was having ( recording but couldnt play)
Mystic-SoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2008, 22:59
Geoff274544
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 4,225
Damn I just done System Restart for the first time since I got my box. It deleted everything including all my recordings and planned events and Anytime TV. On the plus side it fixed my problem. All of a sudden if something was recording I had to watch it and all controls were powerless. Ah well anyone know if episode 7 of x-weighted was good?

It also took about 3 attempts to perform the housekeeping task. What does this involve and should I do it more often whenever my planner is free?
Geoff274544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2008, 09:49
pcbbc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 5,501
It also took about 3 attempts to perform the housekeeping task. What does this involve and should I do it more often whenever my planner is free?
What do you mean it took 3 attempts? The box resets to standby when finished, so I can not see how you could tell if it was successful or not?
If your planner is completely empty, I would recommend a FSR over a PR. I have seen PR unable to recover 100% space on a complete empty disk!
As I said previously, I suggest only doing a PR if you have problems - not as preventative maintenance.
pcbbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2008, 11:30
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,835
I have been doing "planner rebuilds" every two or three months for the last 6 years on two Sky boxes and have only ever lost one recording - which I had found already had playback problems. One other point on housekeeping is to delete any "hidden failed recordings" - to find these from normal planner view of recordings press "right arrow" - press "yellow" press "right arrow" then scroll through the list highlighting any listed as failed and pressing "yellow" to delete them.

The "hidden failed"s appear to be totally false recordings arising from bad EPG series link data and usually have a time on them of six hours after the genuine recoding (which usually was actually successful). These "hidden failed"s only appear visible ever by using the above method and when they reach some four or five in number start causing problems with recordings and "morning sickness" where the box needs a "power reset" to start up in the morning.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2008, 21:46
lewi123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 183
It also took about 3 attempts to perform the housekeeping task.
What do you mean it took 3 attempts? The box resets to standby when finished, so I can not see how you could tell if it was successful or not?
I don't Know about Geoff274544, but i have done lots of housekeepings (due to endless problems). But occasionally when house keeping the box just freezes during housekeeping and doesn't reset itself. It then has to be turned off at the wall to fix the problem.
lewi123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 20:15
White Monk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 612

Started my Housekeeping at 17:15 this afternoon - it's still got the "Please Wait" message up three hours later (20:15). Shall I kill it - i.e. pull the plug or leave it. I'm sure it took only a few minutes to complete in the past.
White Monk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 20:53
White Monk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 612

Started my Housekeeping at 17:15 this afternoon - it's still got the "Please Wait" message up three hours later (20:15). Shall I kill it - i.e. pull the plug or leave it. I'm sure it took only a few minutes to complete in the past.
Decided to pull the plug at 20:45.

Re-did the housekeeping - took only a few moments to complete.

Nothing lost
White Monk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 18:40
Geoff274544
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 4,225
What do you mean it took 3 attempts? The box resets to standby when finished, so I can not see how you could tell if it was successful or not?
If your planner is completely empty, I would recommend a FSR over a PR. I have seen PR unable to recover 100% space on a complete empty disk!
Like I said it took 3 attempts. Each time "Housekeeping" would appear on screen for only 1 or 2 seconds then reboot. Problem did not go away, on the 3rd time Housekeeping was carried out over a period of around 2 minutes.

This weekend I recorded 96% of programming, hard drive appears to be fully recovered.
Geoff274544 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:49.