Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Can I get a duplicate SIM card so I can have two mobiles with same number?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-04-2006, 12:09
mouthwash
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 277

Hi,

can I get a duplicate SIM card so I can have two mobiles with same number?

I carry a different mobile at the weekend (less bulky) and wondering if I can get around having to constantly change the SIM card.

PLEASE help if you know the answer. This forum is getting a bit dry for replies recently.

Many thanks in advance.
mouthwash is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-04-2006, 13:55
Shaney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 437
Google is your friend here.

Not sure if this kind of thing is illegal or not, but it would be pretty easy for your network to find out you're doing this and shut your account down if it's against their terms of service.
Shaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 19:16
James Clayton
Banned User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 799
Which one would ring !!!!!!!
James Clayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 20:15
UKC101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: S Wales
Posts: 858
I know vodafone do it.
All you do is put in an unlock code to activate that sim and deactivates other.
UKC101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 01:29
raiderz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 23
Orange have a service for their business customers called SingleNumber, read about it here

http://www.orange.co.uk/business/cor...glenumber.html

Basically you get another sim card with a different number, whichever phone is switched on gets the calls as if it was the main phone.

When dialling from the second phone, the caller id is the main phones number. It is possible to use both devices at the same time, but the 2nd phone use the new number from the new sim card instead.

Texts on the main number only go to the main phone, to text the 2nd phone you have to use the 2nd phone's number.

This service is 3 a month, I have a PDA which I use for work, and on a night and weekends I use my Moto V3 instead because I don't wish to carry my PDA when I'm off work.

I don't know if this is available for regular contract customers and I would say definately not for payg customers.
raiderz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 16:38
Tom Foolery
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Why can't you just divert calls from one number to the other when you are using the other phone?
Tom Foolery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 17:39
dawson
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Tom Foolery
Why can't you just divert calls from one number to the other when you are using the other phone?
Because the diverted part of the call will be charged to the account of the diverting number.

If it's a PAYG account, and assuming divert is available, then when the credit runs out on the diverting number, the call will not be diverted.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 17:49
raiderz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 23
Originally Posted by Tom Foolery
Why can't you just divert calls from one number to the other when you are using the other phone?
If you use divert every incoming call that is diverted is charged to that number. I used to use this before but it ended up costing me a fortune.

I guess it really benefits people who get a lot of calls diverted. Everybodys situation is different, this is the ideal solution to my particular problem.
raiderz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 11:19
BoBaDoB
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stoke On Trent/Staffordshire
Posts: 1,556
Vodafone do support this yes it is called Multi sim, 1 number for multiple devices, u can have up to 10 sims associated to 1 device. you have to switch which device/sim you wish to activate tho by typing in a code

also you are limited on which price plan you can have on that also

Last edited by BoBaDoB : 06-04-2006 at 11:22. Reason: missed something
BoBaDoB is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 18:06
stephen1980
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London
Posts: 954
Originally Posted by BoBaDoB
Vodafone do support this yes it is called Multi sim, 1 number for multiple devices, u can have up to 10 sims associated to 1 device. you have to switch which device/sim you wish to activate tho by typing in a code

also you are limited on which price plan you can have on that also
Sounds good, any one found a link for this, I am looking but no luck.
stephen1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2006, 12:30
upnunder
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Derbyshire, Uk
Posts: 2,288
http://www.vodafonebusiness.co.uk/index.php?page=140

Orange offer a multi sim option as well.


http://www.orange.co.uk/business/cor...glenumber.html
upnunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:19
stephen1980
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London
Posts: 954
Thanks,
Looks like it is only open to business, and also 5 per month seems a bit steep.
stephen1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 16:22
UKC101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: S Wales
Posts: 858
Originally Posted by stephen1980
Thanks,
Looks like it is only open to business, and also 5 per month seems a bit steep.
If you look at the main multi sim page http://www.vodafonebusiness.co.uk/index.php?page=139
its now 7 +vat
even more of a rip off
UKC101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 21:46
bigstunnerdude
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Grantham, Lincolnshire
Posts: 5,353
I solved this problem by contacting my operator saying I'd lost my mobile and wanted a replacement sim with the same number. Now have two sims with same number in two phones.
bigstunnerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2006, 00:01
Garyo2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 566
Originally Posted by bigstunnerdude
I solved this problem by contacting my operator saying I'd lost my mobile and wanted a replacement sim with the same number. Now have two sims with same number in two phones.
I take it your not on o2 then as this isn't possible.

The other networks should have simply changed the Sim serial number reg to your account so both sim cards cannot work at the same time.
Garyo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 14:09
ivan_woolman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1

We have just returned from Spain , there with Movistr we had 3 yes THREE sims with the same number we could have up to 5 the charge was 3 p/m per card before you ask 1 - car phone 2- my mobile 3- wifes mobile. it works fine Come on UK providers catch up!
ivan_woolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 16:14
d123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 705
I solved this problem by contacting my operator saying I'd lost my mobile and wanted a replacement sim with the same number. Now have two sims with same number in two phones.
I take it your not on o2 then as this isn't possible.
It wouldn't work on EE either, when the replacement sim is issued the process automatically deactivates the original sim.

It's a strange thought by bigstunnerdude, if the first sim was reported lost the network would never leave the sim active, it could be used at any time in the future if it was found by a third party (and leave the network open to the loss incurred on the original sim).
d123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 16:15
DevoidDroid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: In The Garden
Posts: 336
...Come on UK providers catch up!
If they haven't caught up in 8 years I don't think they ever will.

Last edited by DevoidDroid : 24-05-2014 at 16:17. Reason: Fixed Quote
DevoidDroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 17:46
david16
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 9,680
I use the same SIM card on 3 mobile phones and there has never been a problem.
david16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 18:19
WellHiddenMark
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Not-London
Posts: 1,322
If they haven't caught up in 8 years I don't think they ever will.
There's no profit in catching up
WellHiddenMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 21:29
d123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 705
I use the same SIM card on 3 mobile phones and there has never been a problem.
That's not what is meant, unless you are saying you have 3 mobile phones, and 3 SIM cards in those phones and all 3 have the same number?
d123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 21:47
david16
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 9,680
That's not what is meant, unless you are saying you have 3 mobile phones, and 3 SIM cards in those phones and all 3 have the same number?
It is allowed, you having one SIM card sharing 3 phones. That is what I do.
david16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 21:52
d123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 705
It is allowed, you having one SIM card sharing 3 phones. That is what I do.
Anyone can use one simcard in 3 phones, the OP's requirement was the equivalent of 3 SIM cards with the same number to work in 3 phones.

It's not the same as just moving your one sim around amongst many phones.
d123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2014, 22:19
John_Patrick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 771
Holy thread resurrection Batman!
John_Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2014, 09:01
daisy_fay
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 16
Anyone can use one simcard in 3 phones, the OP's requirement was the equivalent of 3 SIM cards with the same number to work in 3 phones.

It's not the same as just moving your one sim around amongst many phones.
so if there is any incoming call or message, it will arrive in 3 phones at the same time? I'm so confused
daisy_fay is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:31.