Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

4 way HDMI Splitter - too good to be true?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2006, 17:32
Aliboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10

http://www.fredgehog.com/product_inf...8b5a73ae94729c

Has anyone tried/have any ideas on this HMDI splitter?
Considering other splitters/switches cost in excess of 200, the price for the 4 way splitter looks too good to be true!

Cheers
Aliboy
Aliboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 01-06-2006, 17:35
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,272
Originally Posted by Aliboy
http://www.fredgehog.com/product_inf...8b5a73ae94729c

Has anyone tried/have any ideas on this HMDI splitter?
Considering other splitters/switches cost in excess of 200, the price for the 4 way splitter looks too good to be true!
Don't see why not?, we've got multiple ones in the shop at work, they were provided free by Sony, along with a computer to feed HD through it.

I did look prices up, and seem to recall ordering some more to wire another section of the shop - can't remeber what they cost?, but the price didnt scare me (and 200 would!).
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 17:36
Colin_F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 1,329
Only downside I can see is that it appears to be a manual switch.
I dont do manual. Means getting out of my comfy chair to change the channel
Colin_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 17:37
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,484
So is it a splitter or is it a switch? The answer to that is *very* important. And would you buy one from someone who doesn't seem to know the difference?
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 17:39
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,272
Originally Posted by Colin_F
Only downside I can see is that it appears to be a manual switch.
I dont do manual. Means getting out of my comfy chair to change the channel
I'm not paying attention! - our's are SPLITTERS, which we (obviously) use for feeding multiple sets from one source.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 17:39
Colin_F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 1,329
Originally Posted by gomezz
So is it a splitter or is it a switch? The answer to that is *very* important. And would you buy one from someone who doesn't seem to know the difference?
EDITED Becuase I was talking p*sh:

It SAYS it is a SPLITTER.
But then goes on to describe how you can use it to connect multiple HDMI devices to you display.
Seems a bit odd.

EDITED AGAIN:
Clicked on the enlarge image and the box says HDMI Switch on it.
So looks like the site doesnt know the difference as apposed to the manufacturer.
Colin_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 17:39
Aliboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Yeah i noticed that!
Maybe i can buy a long stick with a finger on the end as well.

I wonder if this is the start of lower priced HDMI splitters in general.

What is the difference between a Splitter and a Switch and does it have an effect on Picture quality??
Aliboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 18:55
Colin_F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 1,329
Originally Posted by Aliboy
Yeah i noticed that!
Maybe i can buy a long stick with a finger on the end as well.

I wonder if this is the start of lower priced HDMI splitters in general.

What is the difference between a Splitter and a Switch and does it have an effect on Picture quality??
Basically a swich attatched multiple sources to 1 display.
A splitter connects 1 source to multiple displays.
Hence the confusion of people here over the branding of this as a "splitter" and then going on to describe a switch

But it does appear to be a switch and the website have just put the wrong thing in the page.
Colin_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 19:12
HEC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,872
Yeah - it's mechanical (no electronics in it) 4 to 1 switch. I would avoid it if possible ...

Also - I love the comment about HDCP compliant ...

I hope all their HDMI leads are HDCP compliant as well ...
HEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 10:46
chimaera
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 339
Originally Posted by Colin_F
Only downside I can see is that it appears to be a manual switch.
I dont do manual. Means getting out of my comfy chair to change the channel
I agree. If my Harmony 885 won't operate it, I'm not interested
chimaera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 11:21
Colin_F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 1,329
Your best bet is something like this:
3:1 HDMI Switch
Or theres a 4:1 version here
Both are more expensive than the one you looked at, but are more solid, have remotes and are being sold by companies that I have had dealings with in the past and found to be both knowlegable and very helpful.
Colin_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 12:30
sraper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 80
Originally Posted by Colin_F
Your best bet is something like this:
3:1 HDMI Switch
Or theres a 4:1 version here
Both are more expensive than the one you looked at, but are more solid, have remotes and are being sold by companies that I have had dealings with in the past and found to be both knowlegable and very helpful.
But wasn't the OP talking about splitters! I too am looking for a splitter of some sort as would like to run to displays from the SkyHD box.

Did see this HDMI 1:2 splitter but I somehow doubt that it will be HDCP compliant as I guess both my displays would be trying to handshake with the Sky box at the same time!
sraper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 12:34
Colin_F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 1,329
Originally Posted by sraper
But wasn't the OP talking about splitters! I too am looking for a splitter of some sort as would like to run to displays from the SkyHD box.

Did see this HDMI 1:2 splitter but I somehow doubt that it will be HDCP compliant as I guess both my displays would be trying to handshake with the Sky box at the same time!
There was some confusion about the whole Splitter/Switch thing.
The item he linked to was a switch but the site was calling it a splitter.
I assume that he wanted a switch as that is what the info for the product goes on to describe.
Colin_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 23:31
Aliboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Well i thought what the hell and brought this switch......

......I'll got it on Saturday, plugged my Sky HD box and Panasonic upscaler DVD and I've got to say I'm pleasantly surprised.

The quality of picture is as far as i can tell, is hardly any different (if there is any difference at all) than plugging directly into the TV, no ghosting, pixelating or smearing.

My only worry is that it doesn't feel the most sturdy of gadgets and being a manual switch I'm slightly worried how long it will last?!?

But 49 is far better than 120 so for that I'm happy!
Aliboy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:42.