Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

sky multiroom installation


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-06-2006, 19:58
Haroon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13

Hello,

I think i should be able to get my hands on a free box so if i do then i dont need to buy one from sky. In such a case, would they still do the free installation (as i am still going to pay them 10 per month), and if not, then is it quite easy setting up sky multiroom yourself?
Haroon is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 13-06-2006, 15:41
Ricoh Arena
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Hi, the answer is no. We (sky) will not install equipment which is not supplied at the time by us,with the exception of moving home offers. You can attempt it yourself if you know what your doing, vaguely
Ricoh Arena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2006, 14:07
blueplatinum
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,598
I have a standard SKY+ setup and subscribe to movies so I don't pay an extra GBP 10. I have a spare SKY box which I currently use as "free sat" using an old Pout card (not an official free sat card) .

I would like to subscribe to multi-room using this second box. If I call up SKY will they send me a viewing card in the post or will they insist on sending an engineer even though there is nothing for him to do other than pair the card?

BTW - both boxes are connected to the phone line.

Thanks.
blueplatinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2006, 14:41
maccy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Midlands
Posts: 6,686
Originally Posted by blueplatinum
I would like to subscribe to multi-room using this second box. If I call up SKY will they send me a viewing card in the post or will they insist on sending an engineer even though there is nothing for him to do other than pair the card?
The latter, I would have thought. Just call up to do the pairing yourself when you receive the card. They'll ask for various details found on your System Details screen.
maccy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2006, 20:12
the hamster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: AA Aerials, Grantham & Melton
Posts: 1,034
they'll send an engineer!

They will want to see that both boxes are connected to the same phoneline and at the same address. If they just send you a card and you pair it, whats to stop you taking the box to spain etc?

The whole "connect both boxes to 1 phone line" started when someone high in the ranks at sky saw numerous pubs etc in spain with subscriptions from the uk. Multiroom boxes are checked the most via the phoneline so the engineer will connect it and do a callback.
the hamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2006, 01:31
blueplatinum
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,598
Originally Posted by the hamster
they'll send an engineer!

They will want to see that both boxes are connected to the same phoneline and at the same address. If they just send you a card and you pair it, whats to stop you taking the box to spain etc?
My understanding was that once set up, the boxes call home regularly anyway so SKY can check they are at the same location. In which case why would it be important for the engineer to see this for himself initially.

BTW - I think you'll find that SKY are quite happy to turn a blind eye to overseas subscriptions as long as the user is paying a subscription. As far as I know multiroom has always required a phone line and so the "numerous pubs etc in Spain" are not sharing a subscription but are each paying their own (albeit normally a domestic sub. not at the same rates as UK pubs).
blueplatinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2006, 08:26
the hamster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: AA Aerials, Grantham & Melton
Posts: 1,034
Originally Posted by blueplatinum
BTW - I think you'll find that SKY are quite happy to turn a blind eye to overseas subscriptions as long as the user is paying a subscription. As far as I know multiroom has always required a phone line and so the "numerous pubs etc in Spain" are not sharing a subscription but are each paying their own (albeit normally a domestic sub. not at the same rates as UK pubs).
I dont think so............. Sky turn a blind eye..............are you mad!

If you cant get away with unplugging a multiroom box from the phoneline over here without getting a letter something tells me that foreign subscribers paying uk residential rates arent going to be "overlooked".

Someone back me up here.
the hamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2006, 10:05
blueplatinum
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,598
Sky's policing of multiroom is to stop multiple households benefiting from a single subcription. Why would they object to a single household paying the normal subscription regardless of location, other than to keep their copyright holders happy? Sky exists to make money ... not turn subscribers away if they can help it!

Last edited by blueplatinum : 20-06-2006 at 10:55.
blueplatinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2006, 11:42
SteveMcK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,829
Originally Posted by the hamster
I dont think so............. Sky turn a blind eye..............are you mad!

If you cant get away with unplugging a multiroom box from the phoneline over here without getting a letter something tells me that foreign subscribers paying uk residential rates arent going to be "overlooked".

Someone back me up here.
If people cheat with multiroom then Sky lose money, so they have a clear interest in enforcing the rules. When it comes to foreign subscribers paying UK rates, Sky can't be seen to be ignoring them, or they'll be in trouble with their suppliers, but Sky themselves don't care, they're happy to take all the money they can get.

That's why Sky will turn a blind eye to normal overseas subscribers, as long as no-one makes it too obvious to them that they're not in the UK. Once you admit that, you'll get cut off.
SteveMcK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2006, 12:06
maccy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Midlands
Posts: 6,686
Originally Posted by the hamster
they'll send an engineer!

They will want to see that both boxes are connected to the same phoneline and at the same address. If they just send you a card and you pair it, whats to stop you taking the box to spain etc?

The whole "connect both boxes to 1 phone line" started when someone high in the ranks at sky saw numerous pubs etc in spain with subscriptions from the uk. Multiroom boxes are checked the most via the phoneline so the engineer will connect it and do a callback.
Sky do not need to send an engineer to initiate a callback!

The CSR will ask the viewer to perform a manual callback once they have received the card in the post and call to activate it. That callback will confirm to sky the telephone number registered on the viewer's account and that both boxes are connected to the same telephone line.

If the viewer takes the multiroom box abroad or removes it from the telephone connection, no doubt it will miss its next auto-callback and bring on the warning letters from Sky.
maccy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2006, 12:17
blueplatinum
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,598
Originally Posted by maccy
Sky do not need to send an engineer to initiate a callback!

The CSR will ask the viewer to perform a manual callback once they have received the card in the post
That's what I originally thought. Can anyone confirm that they have actually ordered multiroom in this way i.e. phoned sky, card sent in post, etc. ....? Thanks.
blueplatinum is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:24.