Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Have NTL Upgraded 10MB ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-10-2006, 05:01
Not2Good
 
Posts: n/a

Hi all, i'm on NTL 10MB and this morning, i am getting

Download: 1800 K/Bs and an upload of 90K/Bs

Have they upgraded or what ?? It would seem so..
  Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-10-2006, 07:17
Doomy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Leicester
Posts: 912
They are trialing 20mb in a few areas. Lucky you
Doomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2006, 07:41
Not2Good
 
Posts: n/a
Blimey...That explains that then, its very nice to have such a nice download/upload rate. I mean 10MB is plenty, 20, is probably too much...
  Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2006, 00:59
Not2Good
 
Posts: n/a
Ok my upload speed has definetly been upgraded, its currently 80-90k/bs max, which is great.

Download speed is right back to normal.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2006, 01:10
hardtarget
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,147
do you mean 900k upload?

cos mine is max 512k upload and im on 10mb too
hardtarget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2006, 01:13
Not2Good
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by hardtarget
do you mean 900k upload?

cos mine is max 512k upload and im on 10mb too
yes 900k, 900k is 90k/bs..i think? It's just the way i have typed it...same thing
  Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 15:10
gmudos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 41
Funny you should mention this. I was downloading an adobe update today and my limit was peaking intermittently at 2.88mb/sec
gmudos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 15:31
dave09
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: teeside
Posts: 130
I hope its correct then do as usual and put the 4 and 2 meg up accordingly, i wouldnt mind being on the 10 meg after that i dont think the speed increase would make any difference at all to me for what i do on the net...
dave09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 16:57
Shepard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 981
Originally Posted by dave09
I hope its correct then do as usual and put the 4 and 2 meg up accordingly, i wouldnt mind being on the 10 meg after that i dont think the speed increase would make any difference at all to me for what i do on the net...
Its usually the case when they do a speed increase that all Internet packages are increased too, The only thing that has let cable down in the past is that although the download speeds were increased alot the upload speeds never really budged - If they are upgrading 10Mb to 20MB they upload speed needs to be also upgraded to at least 1MB as customers who would subscribe to this higher package would benefit from the higher upload speeds too.

I think on the basic internet (current 2mb) the upload speed should be at least 512k, with the middle package on at least 768k its annoying when you upload alot (i.e personal web pages) and it takes a little while!!
Shepard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 20:26
Not2Good
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by gmudos
Funny you should mention this. I was downloading an adobe update today and my limit was peaking intermittently at 2.88mb/sec
Yeah i get speeds upto 2.40MB/sec now...upstream is a nice 800KB/s-900KB/s...immense.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 20:28
KIIS102
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coventry
Posts: 6,495
where is this 20mb happening? :P im in Coventry and on 10mbit but right now im only getting like 350 - 400kbs download speeds from apple and microsoft site _ (might be something to do with the 100gb i downloaded this month)
KIIS102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 09:57
BBRealist
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,045
Originally Posted by Shepard
I think on the basic internet (current 2mb) the upload speed should be at least 512k, with the middle package on at least 768k its annoying when you upload alot (i.e personal web pages) and it takes a little while!!
Not as annoying as it would be everything you do being slow thanks to the local students with their 5 PCs to a single cable modem or warez kiddies using daddy's cable uploading constantly at full pelt on whatever the P2P client of the day is.

The uploads are set at the levels they are for a good reason I'm afraid, to increase them would require harsher traffic shaping.
BBRealist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 10:01
edwardsj
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 276
Looking in the Telewest Blueyonder forum shows that some users are reporting 20mb speeds in some areas.

Maybe preparing for a 20mb rollout across the board?
edwardsj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 17:35
GetDownTheGym
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 264
lucky you, they seem to cap my news hosting speed. only getting 30kbs instead of the usual 1mb.
GetDownTheGym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2006, 22:25
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,853
The new 20 Mb config file only appears to be being sent to the ntl 250 modem for the moment.

I have it here in East London.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2006, 16:40
dangerousdave30
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northampton
Posts: 60
I just checked my modem config settings
and it does appear that I now have 20Mb d/l and 768k u/l.

Upload is still disappointing!!!

I'd rather have a higher upload speed and stay on 10Mb
dangerousdave30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2006, 22:18
jynxy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 261
well i cant see how everyone with the 250 modem is receiving this, as i have one and im still on the 10meg connection.

Maximum Downstream Data Rate : 10240000
Maximum Upstream Data Rate : 512000

so must be area specific as per usual.
jynxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2006, 23:51
Horizon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London/Essex Borderlands
Posts: 1,553
With every week, the areas are increasing where the 20mb is being rolled out to. It is exactly the same as the 10mb rollout last year. Firstly those with 250 modems got the 10mb and it took time for the rollout to complete to all of them. Then, came the other modems. Of course we remember the mess that happened. The config files for older modems didn't work until new config files were released. Hopefully, it will be better this time round and we'll all have 20mb by Christmas or by the time of the rebrand.

Last edited by Horizon : 24-10-2006 at 23:53.
Horizon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2006, 09:53
jomuir
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 197
I have the 250 modem - where/how can I check my config settings?
jomuir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2006, 13:04
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,853
Originally Posted by jomuir
I have the 250 modem - where/how can I check my config settings?
Go here:-

http://192.168.100.1

User name & password = root

Click on "operation config"

If you are on 20Meg, the max downstream data rate will show 20480000 and the max upstream data rate will show 768000.

btw...remember this is only a trial. There is no confirmation that these speeds will be rolled out nationwide. They might even be withdrawn at any time.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2006, 14:00
jomuir
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 197
No tiral going on in my area then .... I did not think so anyway.
jomuir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2006, 18:28
ukfletch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Coventry
Posts: 23
Anyone have any info on this stealth roll out? Seems that 250's seem to getting it first, but is there an area plan???

Cheers in advance....

Fletch
ukfletch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 21:06
aladinlondon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Posts: 470
Originally Posted by Zenith
Go here:-

http://192.168.100.1

User name & password = root

Click on "operation config"

If you are on 20Meg, the max downstream data rate will show 20480000 and the max upstream data rate will show 768000.

btw...remember this is only a trial. There is no confirmation that these speeds will be rolled out nationwide. They might even be withdrawn at any time.
Just checked mine using your info and I too am getting 20480000. I am also in East London
aladinlondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2006, 16:00
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,853
Originally Posted by Zenith
...btw...remember this is only a trial. There is no confirmation that these speeds will be rolled out nationwide. They might even be withdrawn at any time.
Well, as I predicted, I am now back down to 10Meg.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2006, 23:25
Not2Good
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Zenith
Well, as I predicted, I am now back down to 10Meg.
Me too...as of this morning. Gutted, frankly. I loved a 1MB upload speed.
  Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:19.