Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

sky pin numbers


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-10-2006, 21:47
oscardelahoya
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,768

I'm getting asked for a pin number to watch a film that started on channel 4 at 9.30
oscardelahoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-10-2006, 21:49
tonyk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Costa Blanca
Posts: 329
Same here what on earth is Sky playing at!!!!!!!!!!!!
Never had a pin number, is big brother watching us.
Using a pace 2600 here.

Last edited by tonyk : 21-10-2006 at 21:52.
tonyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 21:55
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,907
Originally Posted by tonyk
Same here what on earth is Sky playing at!!!!!!!!!!!!
Never had a pin number, is big brother watching us.
Quite right nobody has ever had a Personal Identification Number Number

It's part of an Ofcom rule that allows Sky Movies (9 and 10) to show films that have a higher rating than the watershed would usually allow to be shown. The only requirement is that a mandatory protection method must be used - Sky and Cable companies have chosen to use the PIN.

This means that in cases like that of tonight you may get asked to enter your PIN on other channels as the software in the box recognises the 18 rated film is being shown before 10PM.

By default, the PIN is set to the last four digits of the viewing card number first used when you got Sky Digital. If that doesn't work (it's likely the card has changed or you have changed the PIN) then call Sky, they will be able to tell you your PIN.

Recordings are not covered by this - Sky and Telewest allow you to turn off the feature for recordings with Sky+ and TV Drive.
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 21:58
tonyk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Costa Blanca
Posts: 329
Do we take it that ch4 etc can do this without any warning?
tonyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 21:59
d3mon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 878
Originally Posted by Daveoc64
If that doesn't work (it's likely the card has changed or you have changed the PIN) then call Sky, they will be able to tell you your PIN.
Not quite.

If the account holder calls in, the PIN can be changed - but the CSA cannot actually divulge what the current PIN is (most of the time it isn't recorded on Chordiant).

hth
d3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 22:00
uknetfreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 331
Hmm... and what about Tivo users?
uknetfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 22:03
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,907
Originally Posted by uknetfreak
Hmm... and what about Tivo users?
They will be unable to record anything that is blocked with this system (they will see a nice "Enter PIN to continue message").
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 22:04
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,907
Originally Posted by tonyk
Do we take it that ch4 etc can do this without any warning?
It's not a Channel 4 decision. It's Sky's implementation of a ruling by Ofcom.
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 22:06
Red Arrow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 9,960
Originally Posted by Daveoc64
It's not a Channel 4 decision. It's Sky's implementation of a ruling by Ofcom.
Say's who? Unless you spoke to Channel 4 who is to say they have not done this and not Sky? (but can't think why C4 would though )
Red Arrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2006, 22:14
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,907
Originally Posted by Red Arrow
Say's who? Unless you spoke to Channel 4 who is to say they have not done this and not Sky? (but can't think why C4 would though )
Because it's due to the software programmed into a Sky Digibox or Sky+ box by Sky.

The software is programmed to ask the user for a PIN if a channel is viewed before 10PM that has an 18 rated programme showing.

A quick press of the "i" button on Channel 4 reveals that the rating of the movie is "18".

Therefore the box asks for a PIN!

(Although you are remotely right, Channel 4's decision to actually put a rating on the programme has eventually caused this to happen).

Last edited by Daveoc64 : 21-10-2006 at 22:17.
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 00:53
yBSy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,200
I wonder if the pin number will reveal itself.
Is it possible to reset the pin without phoning Sky?
yBSy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 00:59
d3mon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 878
Originally Posted by vbsx
I wonder if the pin number will reveal itself.
Is it possible to reset the pin without phoning Sky?
If you've forgotten it, then no - it must be reset by calling Customer Services (08702 404040, then choose an option).

If you KNOW the PIN and want to change it, this document on Sky.com will come in handy.

hth
d3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 03:19
lnp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 12,229
Someone must have cocked up the epg listing. The 9.30 film had a 12 certificate so the pin should not have been asked for after 8pm.
lnp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 09:04
benidormgary
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Paignton,Devon (Ex Benidorm)
Posts: 833
And-I missed the final couple of minutes of the previous programme,because it was running late,and the PIN request kicked in at EXACTLY 9.30pm.........
benidormgary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 11:15
tonyk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Costa Blanca
Posts: 329
Same here, where do we complain too. Anybody got an e-mail No.
tonyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 11:19
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,858
Originally Posted by tonyk
Same here, where do we complain too. Anybody got an e-mail No.
Complain to Channel 4 both for running late and feeding the wrong EPG information.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 12:27
daio
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 341
Just ordered a FreeSatFromSky card, do they hav PINs too? I can imagine they must as Channel Four is part oof the freesat hookup. If so, is it usually the last four digits of card number?
daio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 12:34
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,858
Originally Posted by daio
Just ordered a FreeSatFromSky card, do they hav PINs too? I can imagine they must as Channel Four is part oof the freesat hookup. If so, is it usually the last four digits of card number?
Yes on all Sky dodgiboxes with or without a card (if box has ever used a card)

It depends on whether it is a new or second hand box. PIN is the last 4 digits of the FIRST card ever used in that box.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 12:56
daio
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 341
really? well that suprises me, then I will have to phone sky for a new PIN number when the card arrives.
Box was bought recently on ebay, without a card.
Thanks for info.
daio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 13:57
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,015
Originally Posted by daio
really? well that suprises me, then I will have to phone sky for a new PIN number when the card arrives.
Box was bought recently on ebay, without a card.
Thanks for info.
Put the card in, get it authorised, then once it's working try the last four digitals of the new card - it probably won't work?, but it's worth a try!. If it doesn't work, ring Sky, and they will reset the PIN to the last four digits of the current card.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 16:45
yBSy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,200
Are these cards supplied for free?
yBSy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2006, 16:59
rai uno
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tremp (Catalunya)
Posts: 20,821
No. There is a charge of 20 to "cover costs".

Sky allege they still lose money on them.
rai uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2006, 00:23
lnp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 12,229
Originally Posted by daio
really? well that suprises me, then I will have to phone sky for a new PIN number when the card arrives.
Box was bought recently on ebay, without a card.
Thanks for info.
Last year I activated a new card in a 2nd hand box and the pin was the last 4 digits of that card. I used the new installation option in the engineering menu, Not sure whether it was a factor or not but it beats quoting rows of numbers again at Sky on the phone.

Last edited by lnp : 23-10-2006 at 00:27.
lnp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2006, 08:08
Paperhouse
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Crawley West Sussex
Posts: 955
The PIN is not necessarily the last four digits of the first card ever used in the box. Whatever card I insert in any of my boxes, the PIN is the last four digits on the particular card. Can't remember why this is so, but someone on here explained it to me previously.

Also ~

Channels stored in 'Other Channels' don't require a PIN to be viewed. That's why I have Zone Horror stored in 'Other Channels', just so I can record something when I am out of the house and am not there to enter the PIN.

Also ~

Before anyone says so, yes I know it's sad to record Zone Horror.

Also ~

Remember that it's a PIN and not a PIN number.

Last edited by Paperhouse : 23-10-2006 at 08:09.
Paperhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2007, 23:32
ready2watch
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 3,265
This happened way before sky movies uses pin protection. I used to have a sky+ box, i recorded the exoricst 3 at 10:00pm, at 9:00am i wanted to watch it so i had to insert a my 4 digit pin, this pin protection was around for a while since the launch of sky + its only happening all over sky movies now and every other services. I think its a good idea because it protects the children so the parents can only get the blame if there kids watch something they shouldnt, i think this is a clever move from sky digital but also annoying sometimes.
ready2watch is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:57.