Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Updating software via RS232 cable


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2006, 12:38
stevgillamos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50

Help, I'm a bit confused. To update the software do I need to be connected to the Internet and the Humax site to upgrade the loader software at the same time or can I download these first to my desktop and then take my laptop downstairs and connect the 9200 via the RS232 cable to update it i.e. without being connected to the Humax site whilst updating.
stevgillamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 11-11-2006, 12:48
wgmorg
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,946
1. Downlaod to laptop
2. Take laptop to 9200T
3. Connect using a Null Modem cable and software utilities obtained from HCSA.
wgmorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 13:39
keithatrochdale
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 547
This link may help you;

http://www.hummy.org.uk/invison/index.php?showtopic=473
keithatrochdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 14:02
stevgillamos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50

Thanks everybody for your help but I've just realised I've spent 12 quid on the wrong cable. Yes, I bought an RS232 adaptor cable to use with my laptop but the one I got was 9 pin male to USB and the 9200 is also male. I can't return it as it was one of those sealed polythene cutouts that you have to cut open. My computer is a laptop and I'm trying to update via USB.
stevgillamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 16:59
agraham
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by stevgillamos
Thanks everybody for your help but I've just realised I've spent 12 quid on the wrong cable. Yes, I bought an RS232 adaptor cable to use with my laptop but the one I got was 9 pin male to USB and the 9200 is also male. .
I think that what you have bought IS the correct item. It is a USB to RS232 adaptor and provides the standard PC RS232 output as a 9 pin male D connector. You should also have received a software driver on CDROM that will make this adaptor look like a COM port to your software. You now need a Null Modem cable which is a female to female 9 pin cable wired with a crossover as the Humax RS232 port is wired the same as a PC port. The crossover is therefore needed for the PC output to connect to the Humax input and vice versa.
agraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 18:04
mayi80
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
will this cable do the job?
mayi80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 18:19
agraham
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by mayi80
will this cable do the job?
Yes. That is exactly what is required.
agraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2006, 14:32
stevgillamos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50
Thanks again everybody. So that's what a null modem cable is. I didn't realise that there were two parts i.e. 232 and a crossover. I think I've now ordered the right thing. However, the crossover I've ordered is slightly different to the one shown on the link (above) as it has no cable between it just F-F DB9. This hopefully should do the same job.
stevgillamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2006, 15:41
lancer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by stevgillamos
Thanks again everybody. So that's what a null modem cable is. I didn't realise that there were two parts i.e. 232 and a crossover. I think I've now ordered the right thing. However, the crossover I've ordered is slightly different to the one shown on the link (above) as it has no cable between it just F-F DB9. This hopefully should do the same job.
It will, provided it is definitely a 'null modem' cable.
lancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2006, 16:14
TonyW
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 363
Where would you get an RS232 cable from as when I asked at Comet, they said they don't supply it?

Last edited by TonyW : 13-11-2006 at 16:19.
TonyW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2006, 16:52
agraham
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by stevgillamos
as it has no cable between it just F-F DB9. This hopefully should do the same job.
Be careful! It might only be a "Gender Bender" and be wired one-to-one rather than having the required crossover wiring. If it is described as a "null-modem" adaptor you are fine but if it is not so described then it may not be the correct one.

If you have a mulitimeter you can check that Pin 2 on one side is connected to Pin 3 on the other and vice versa. Pin5 on one side should go to Pin 5 on the other. These are the only connections that matter for the Humax. The pin numbers are usually embossed in little numbers on the face of each connector.
agraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2006, 16:55
agraham
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by TonyW
Where would you get an RS232 cable from as when I asked at Comet, they said they don't supply it?
Loads on eBay. If you are not on eBay then try Maplin, if you have a shop near you, or over the Internet. Loads of others mail order if you Google for them.
agraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2006, 17:31
nineteen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ramsbury
Posts: 197
What is the easiest way to test the cable without actually doing an update?
nineteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2006, 19:40
Max Demian
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,175

Maplins do one here for a tenner: Serial Null Modem 9 pin Female to Female
Max Demian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2006, 20:01
agraham
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by nineteen
What is the easiest way to test the cable without actually doing an update?
Assuming you know that it is a null modem cable then at the socket that would plug into the Humax link pins 2 and 3 with a paperclip or similar bit of bent wire and see if Hyperterminal can talk to itself through that COM port at 115200 baud

If the above is gibberish to you then I am afraid that I can't think of a quick and easy method for non-computer-geeks other than trying an update

Edit - I can also see that you might have meant "is it a nulll modem cable" rather than "does this cable work to send data". Use a continuity tester or a multimeter and check the connections as in my earlier post at #11 above.

Last edited by agraham : 13-11-2006 at 20:06.
agraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2006, 21:04
nineteen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ramsbury
Posts: 197
Originally Posted by agraham
Assuming you know that it is a null modem cable then at the socket that would plug into the Humax link pins 2 and 3 with a paperclip or similar bit of bent wire and see if Hyperterminal can talk to itself through that COM port at 115200 baud

If the above is gibberish to you then I am afraid that I can't think of a quick and easy method for non-computer-geeks other than trying an update

Edit - I can also see that you might have meant "is it a nulll modem cable" rather than "does this cable work to send data". Use a continuity tester or a multimeter and check the connections as in my earlier post at #11 above.
paper clip! good call.
I bought the usb to serial and null modem cables, so I'll give that a go. At least it will prove the usb side, the continuity test will prove the null modem.

thanks.

Last edited by nineteen : 13-11-2006 at 21:10.
nineteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2006, 11:29
nineteen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ramsbury
Posts: 197
Originally Posted by nineteen
paper clip! good call.
I bought the usb to serial and null modem cables, so I'll give that a go. At least it will prove the usb side, the continuity test will prove the null modem.

thanks.
Proven!
nineteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2006, 11:55
agraham
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by nineteen
Proven!
Glad it worked for at least one person
agraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2006, 12:47
nineteen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ramsbury
Posts: 197
Originally Posted by agraham
Glad it worked for at least one person
I'd like to think that I am at least one person
nineteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2006, 14:30
stevgillamos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50
I think I ordered a gender changer rather than a null modem i.e. DB9 pin to DB9 pin Female. I didn't realise there was a difference. I won't know until it arrives. Does it make a difference about the length of cable and is it better to keep a short run? I notice many the shortest is about 1.8 m with some going up to 5, 6, 10 etc. I think I'll choose the ebay option as the postage on some of these sites for such a small item is unbelievable. One of these days I'll get it right and be able to update my software!

Last edited by stevgillamos : 14-11-2006 at 14:35.
stevgillamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2006, 14:36
walde1s
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Originally Posted by stevgillamos
I think I ordered a gender changer rather than a null modem i.e. DB9 pin to DB9 pin Female. I didn't realise there was a difference. I won't know until it arrives. Does it make a difference about the length of cable and is it better to keep a short run? I notice many the shortest is about 1.8 m with some going up to 5, 6, 10 etc. One of these days I'll get it right and be able to update my software!
I made my own cable from a couple of 9 way sockets and ~6 metres of three core cable. This worked with no problem whatsoever and cost a lot less than buying a made up cable.
walde1s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2006, 17:00
agraham
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by stevgillamos
I think I'll choose the ebay option as the postage on some of these sites for such a small item is unbelievable.
You've probably done this already but an eBay search for "null modem" brings up loads. User kenable_ltd is selling a 2 metre one for 1.98 "Buy It Now" including postage. You can't get the connectors alone (delivered) for that little!

Length is largely immaterial for RS232, kenable_ltd also has 5 and 10 metre ones, although I personally wouldn't use a 10 metre one at 115200 baud unless I had to just on the off chance of data corruption.
agraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2006, 11:55
stevgillamos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50
Thanks agraham for telling me about kenable_ltd. That is really cheap compared with other sites. I've ordered one so it'll be all systems go (or not)soon (I hope).
stevgillamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2006, 12:08
agraham
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 123
Originally Posted by stevgillamos
I've ordered one so it'll be all systems go (or not)soon (I hope).
When you come to try it read son_t's post at #5 in the link that keithatrochdale posted in #3 above in this thread. His instructions are accurate and succinct.

I personally do a reset to defaults both before and after updating as some people have reported problems in not doing so.
agraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2006, 00:09
stevgillamos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 50
New cable arrived and I've finally updated all software. Easier than I thought. Thanks everybody.
stevgillamos is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:37.