Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Callback Issues from Multiroom


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-03-2007, 12:46
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,632
Originally Posted by Digi Man
Sorry if this is a rather obvious question, but we've just had BT phoneline installed and we're on Sky Multirooom. So will I need to phone the guy's at Sky to inform them of our new number for when they do the callback's?
Probably as well that you do!.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-03-2007, 13:31
Digi Man
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: East Midlands
Posts: 13,071
Originally Posted by Nigel Goodwin
Probably as well that you do!.
Agreed, I'll give them a call this afternoon then.

Thanks for the quick reply.
Digi Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 23:12
ellietot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Originally Posted by bandit_tech
last but not least?

READ YOUR MAIL FROM SKY!! charges applied after approx 4 months make it a costly error on your part, after all you did agree to T&C

Happy viewing

happy viewing from sky - you must be joking!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11 they are nothing more than a pain in my backside and just to add the charges they apply are immediate!!!!! and IF they send you a letter read it if they dont get screwed over by sky for b27 a month and take them to court as we are doing!!! there was nothing wrong with our line yet still they claimed there was we could go on line with it and only when we kept on phoning them did it mysteriously fix itself!!!!!! suspect - methinks!!!!!


so happy viewing from sky i think not mail from them i think not rip off merchants that have you over a barrel when you live in an area that recieves no other digital service i think yes!!!!!

ellie
XXX
ellietot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 12:24
greylensman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4

hi,my dog ripped the telephone cable out of the sky socket for multiroom.Does anyone know the colour coding and sequence of wires so i can put it back myself.I suppose sky will charge if i ask them to do it.
cheers
greylensman
greylensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 14:12
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,903
hi,my dog ripped the telephone cable out of the sky socket for multiroom.Does anyone know the colour coding and sequence of wires so i can put it back myself.I suppose sky will charge if i ask them to do it.
cheers
greylensman
Which cable?

The cable from digibox to phone socket OR the cable into the extension socket from the master socket?
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 16:21
greylensman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4

hi. the cable is from the sky plug which is plugged into master phone socket.The connection numbers inside sky plug are numbered 1-4 but i think they only use 3.If i knew sequence i could fix it myself.
many thanks
greylensman
greylensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 16:42
greylensman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4

hi.problem solved.The wiring is standard bt colour coding.You dont even need special tool for connection.installer tacked wire along skirt board,i will now put it inside hollow skirt board out of dogs reach.
greylensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 22:33
markdub
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 90
This connected to a phone line business is ridiculous - especially if u live here in rip off ireland where we're charged a fortune for "line rental"
The system should be independant of phone lines.
Any ideas how to transmit your phone line 50miles down the road??
- There is a device i was using to save on phone wiring - u plugged one end in to the mains with the line and the other somewhere else in the house - modulated the phone line over the mains - i wonder if you can take this signal and send it via "other means" to another location.....
markdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2007, 21:12
Sky_Tech1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kirkcaldy
Posts: 12
hey, just a doing a bit reaserch on this, wondering if any1 can answers these questions.
what does CLI stand for?
whats the dialing prefix for talk talk?
regards
Sky_Tech1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2007, 12:04
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,903
This connected to a phone line business is ridiculous - especially if u live here in rip off ireland where we're charged a fortune for "line rental"
The system should be independant of phone lines.
Any ideas how to transmit your phone line 50miles down the road??
- There is a device i was using to save on phone wiring - u plugged one end in to the mains with the line and the other somewhere else in the house - modulated the phone line over the mains - i wonder if you can take this signal and send it via "other means" to another location.....
The connection to the phone for multiroom accounts is to prevent fraudulent abuse of multiroom cards at more than one address - which appears to be what you are attempting.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2007, 12:14
speckledhen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 767
what does CLI stand for?
regards
Calling Line Identity
speckledhen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2007, 16:27
technobod
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 485
whats the dialing prefix for talk talk?
regards
AFAIK the dialling prefix for talk talk, as it still uses your BT line is still 1470.
technobod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 15:34
GilGrissom
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 61
Absolutely right, Nigel.

It's like doing a First Aid Course then calling yourself a Doctor.

All these Vocations are worthwhile, but they are simply not the same.
There should be government rules to legally prevent people who are not engineers from calling themselves engineers.
GilGrissom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 16:26
markdub
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 90
I agree - even the title of Technician is out of bounds - Their title should be limited to "installer" - not that I am dragging them down - I did installations while i was studying engineering.

Although in all fareness - I have seen engineers that can't screw in a light bulb!!!!
markdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 15:20
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,293
Correct - multiroom requires permanent phone connection of both boxes to prevent fraud and prove that both cards are being used in the same household. It is very rigorously policed by Sky and non connection will result in a couple of warning letters and then automatic increase of your direct debit to two full subscriptions.

Without phone connections, one cheap 10 card could be sold for use at another house. So fit a phone lead. use a wireless extension socket or do without - the choice is yours.
Rubbish - Policed my a--e. I don't have multi-room but my next door neighbour has. He like me has had Sky+ for many years so is not obliged to keep his phone line connected after 12 months. He had multi-room fitted, strung a phone wire across from another room just long enough to get activated and then unplugged it - that was 9 months ago and he's still waiting for that knock at the door and still only pays an extra 10 per month. If they try to charge you the full wack then simply cancel, that will make them think twice.
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 15:34
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,903
Rubbish - Policed my a--e. I don't have multi-room but my next door neighbour has. He like me has had Sky+ for many years so is not obliged to keep his phone line connected after 12 months. He had multi-room fitted, strung a phone wire across from another room just long enough to get activated and then unplugged it - that was 9 months ago and he's still waiting for that knock at the door and still only pays an extra 10 per month. If they try to charge you the full wack then simply cancel, that will make them think twice.
Might I actually suggest you read some of the numerous threads on this and other forums where posters have had the two warning letters and then been automatically billed for the extra full subsciption. Also your neighbour ought to check his bank statements to check that he hasn't just thrown the warning letters in the bin as junk mail and not realised his direct debit has increased. If he hasn't he is extremely lucky to have slipped the net. Possibly the exception that proves the rule.

Cancelling or threatening to cancel will almost certainly get you nowhere except minus Sky.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 20:54
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,293
Might I actually suggest you read some of the numerous threads on this and other forums where posters have had the two warning letters and then been automatically billed for the extra full subsciption. Also your neighbour ought to check his bank statements to check that he hasn't just thrown the warning letters in the bin as junk mail and not realised his direct debit has increased. If he hasn't he is extremely lucky to have slipped the net. Possibly the exception that proves the rule.

Cancelling or threatening to cancel will almost certainly get you nowhere except minus Sky.
Your only contracted to stay connected for 12 months when you sign up to Sky so after 12 months there's nothing holding you to keep your main Sky box connected to the phone so how can Sky make you reconnect your main box? As for multi-room what if you haven't got a phone point in the room where you want the installation. I'll quote my sister as an example - she lives in a listed stone cottage with 15" random stone walls. BT refused to put an extra phone point in as the engineer burnt out 3 drill bits trying to get through the random stone walls?
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 21:28
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,632
Your only contracted to stay connected for 12 months when you sign up to Sky so after 12 months there's nothing holding you to keep your main Sky box connected to the phone so how can Sky make you reconnect your main box? As for multi-room what if you haven't got a phone point in the room where you want the installation. I'll quote my sister as an example - she lives in a listed stone cottage with 15" random stone walls. BT refused to put an extra phone point in as the engineer burnt out 3 drill bits trying to get through the random stone walls?
Unless ALL boxes in a multiroom subscriptionare permanently connected to the phoneline then you will be billed full price for all the subscriptions.

Living in an old cottage is no excuse!, and Sky usually just run the phone wire around doorframes, and not through walls.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 21:42
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,293
Unless ALL boxes in a multiroom subscriptionare permanently connected to the phoneline then you will be billed full price for all the subscriptions.

Living in an old cottage is no excuse!, and Sky usually just run the phone wire around doorframes, and not through walls.
Well that would look nice in a Grade 2 listed building
Surely there are other ways to get a phone signal to another room in a property aren't there?
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 21:50
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,632
Well that would look nice in a Grade 2 listed building
There's nothing to stop you doing it yourself, or paying for a 'real' professional to do it


Surely there are other ways to get a phone signal to another room in a property aren't there?
There are wireless methods - assuming it would go through the stone walls? - various ones which people have used successfully have been mentioned on here.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 22:11
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,293
There's nothing to stop you doing it yourself, or paying for a 'real' professional to do it



There are wireless methods - assuming it would go through the stone walls? - various ones which people have used successfully have been mentioned on here.
Well I think I'll stick with Sky in just the one room. To be honest the whole premise Sky seems to work on is that their customers are all crooks and can' be trusted - possibly because of a minority of users. However, I for one am becoming increasingly disillusioned with Sky don't want to be thought of as untrustworthy so for the first time I am thinking that I could live without Sky and be satisfied with a Freeview PVR.
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 07:41
merlodlliw
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bwlchgwyn/Wrexham County1375ft
Posts: 2,394
Your only contracted to stay connected for 12 months when you sign up to Sky so after 12 months there's nothing holding you to keep your main Sky box connected to the phone so how can Sky make you reconnect your main box? As for multi-room what if you haven't got a phone point in the room where you want the installation. I'll quote my sister as an example - she lives in a listed stone cottage with 15" random stone walls. BT refused to put an extra phone point in as the engineer burnt out 3 drill bits trying to get through the random stone walls?
I live in a similar house,not listed thank god, but very old,I had a new phone line put in, a few years ago, BT engineers sent from Anglesey 90 miles away,they did not have appropriate drills, only ones for brick etc,I used my own
18 inch diamond headed drill to get through the wall,done this before, bt then pushed the wire through,as its my own house, BT had no problem with this,but you need the correct drill to cut through limestone,otherwise the bit will overheat within seconds,also the wall will be usually in three sections (Two outer with rubble in the middle) so what looks like a good outer join to drill may mean a foot thick block on the inner side.Off subject now,thats why damp protection in such homes,will only find electric systems work, wall injection in old stone homes always fails,
as only the outer is injected,the middle rubble always fails,this is usually where the damp lerks.

Hope this helps


Bob Wrexham



Bob Wrexham
merlodlliw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2007, 10:28
dring1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 50
telephone callback on multiroom was working fine till a couple of days ago when my sky+ box down stairs froze and i unplugged it and plugged it back in then i get a message saying the telephone is not connected i have had problems before but it got sorted do i have a problem now and should i contact sky just to make sure they are receiving call back
dring1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2007, 21:41
Vauxhall
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
I am getting Sky+ with multiroom soon (3 receivers), I know that you can insert a digit in the O/G string but can you insert a pause?
Vauxhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2007, 08:44
rai uno
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tremp (Catalunya)
Posts: 20,821
.......... rip off merchants that have you over a barrel when you live in an area that recieves no other digital service i think yes!!!!!
But you don't actually need Sky, even if there is no DTT or Cable available.

Much of what is "on Sky" is Free to Air and requires no relationship with Sky whatsoever in order to receive it.

You can even get non-Sky Digital Satellite Receivers from an increasing number of UK sources, although (at the moment) you wouldn't get Channel 4 or Five on them.

Edit: Whoops! Just replied to a Post from 3 months ago

Last edited by rai uno : 30-07-2007 at 08:47. Reason: Still Asleep
rai uno is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:18.