Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Pin Protection on Sky


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2007, 15:05
singh100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35

Is anyone finding the pin protection a little bit annoying. I was flicking channels on the weekend (after 9pm) and it was still asking me for my pin on certain movies on Sky. I even had to put my pin in for a channel 4 movie (Passion of Christ).
singh100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 10-04-2007, 15:08
Ridcully
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 268
yep. The changes to the movie channels has now made it alsomost impossible to flick thought these. The options has disable pin for pre watershed playback, why can't it have one for live tv as well.
Ridcully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 15:09
singh100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Plus I was just curious as I have a standard Sky Box.

What if you have SKY + and you set a movie for record, will it just record the screen saying please type in your pin or the movie itself
singh100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 15:33
Martyn1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 420
The other night (thursday I think) Sin Cities on Bravo at 10pm was pin protected. But on Bravo+1 at 11pm it was not pin protected. The show is flagged up on the EPG is being an '18' programme, but its very annoying that it was blcoekd by the pin! Anything we can do?

I have checked the set up menu on my standard digibox and all the pin protection is turned off, so no channel should be blocked at all, but still this show on bravo was blocked by the pin?
Martyn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 16:41
d3mon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 878
Originally Posted by singh100
What if you have SKY + and you set a movie for record, will it just record the screen saying please type in your pin or the movie itself
It'll record the movie.

hth
d3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 16:47
rfw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 821
You do have to hand it to Sky for putting a positive spin on this:

not:
'OFCOM insist we PIN-protect pre-watershed films so you will have to mess about with PINs a lot of the time'

but:
'Now we can PIN protect films you can watch adult material during the day, isn't that wonderful?'


Just try and record the bloody things with an ordinary Sky box, that's all.

By the way, if you don't have the kids problem, I recommend changing your PIN to 9999, which at least makes it easier when you do have to input it. (If you're a Satanist you could use 6666.)
rfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 22:33
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,968
Originally Posted by rfw
You do have to hand it to Sky for putting a positive spin on this:

not:
'OFCOM insist we PIN-protect pre-watershed films so you will have to mess about with PINs a lot of the time'

but:
'Now we can PIN protect films you can watch adult material during the day, isn't that wonderful?'


Just try and record the bloody things with an ordinary Sky box, that's all.

By the way, if you don't have the kids problem, I recommend changing your PIN to 9999, which at least makes it easier when you do have to input it. (If you're a Satanist you could use 6666.)
That's the short of it though.

There would be nothing to complain about otherwise because they'd be showing Us and PGs all day.

Not really ideal for Sky Movies Horror.
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 23:07
raptorz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,334
I set mine to 1234 as its pretty easy to remember.

It would be useful though if you put the movie channel on and put your pin in once it didnt ask for it when the next movie starts on the same channel. Surely if you are ok watching one you are ok with all untill you change channel, that way it would be easier to record them, at least a little without sky+.

I do think its better we get rated movies in the day but there needs to be a better way to do it.
raptorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:55
dellwear
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 109
Surely they could set it so that the pin is active for several min when entered so if you want to flick about you only enter it every 5 min. More than enough time to decide what to watch and would safeguard children.

Saying that there should be the option for the account holder to switch the pin service off all together. We have no kids and don't need protecting from anything so why should we be forced to use it.
dellwear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 08:44
rfw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 821
Originally Posted by dellwear
Saying that there should be the option for the account holder to switch the pin service off all together. We have no kids and don't need protecting from anything so why should we be forced to use it.
I quite agree: but this wasn't Sky's decision, it was forced on them by OFCOM.
rfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 09:52
Martin Aurer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 225
So you need to enter the PIN every time you switch channels? Lets say from Sky Movies to BBC and then back to Sky Movies
Martin Aurer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 11:05
Hotbird
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,163
Originally Posted by Martin Aurer
So you need to enter the PIN every time you switch channels? Lets say from Sky Movies to BBC and then back to Sky Movies
Every time you tune and retune to a movie channel showing a PIN movie you will have to input the PIN again. While the PIN is annoying if you want to flick between the different movie channels it is far less annoying than 10 channels full of the old daytime child friendly films that the channels have been plagued with since they started.

As someone has already said, just change your PIN to 1111 or something easy and it doesnt become as bad of a problem.
Hotbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 11:41
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,968
Originally Posted by Martin Aurer
So you need to enter the PIN every time you switch channels? Lets say from Sky Movies to BBC and then back to Sky Movies
Yes.

If you leave your box on all the time (which a lot of people will do), you wont want the kids to be able to just turn on the TV and be able to watch everything because the PIN was entered before.
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 11:48
Generix
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Beckenham
Posts: 478
Originally Posted by d3mon
It'll record the movie.

hth
And once it's recorded if you try to watch it before watershed then you will be required to enter your pin.
Generix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 16:51
Bundyman
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,111
How do you change your PIN

I don't even know what mine is
Bundyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 16:52
Jarrak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ilkeston
Posts: 18,075
Originally Posted by Bundyman
How do you change your PIN

I don't even know what mine is


It should be the last 4 digits on your original smartcard, if not ring SKY and set up a new PIN number.
Jarrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 16:58
Bundyman
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,111
Originally Posted by Jarrak
It should be the last 4 digits on your original smartcard, if not ring SKY and set up a new PIN number.
Thanks...i'll have to call them then.

They changed the card sometime ago & the new last 4 digits don't work
Bundyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2007, 09:47
rfw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 821
Originally Posted by Generix
And once it's recorded if you try to watch it before watershed then you will be required to enter your pin.
You can turn it off for watching recordings on Sky+.
rfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 20:17
Ginger Nut
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 14,442
Yes, yes, I know there are a thousand threads on this. I picked this one.

Has anyone else been prompted for their PIN to watch Wallace and Gromit Curse of the wererabbit?

Just wondering if it is the sky movie channel or the rubbish pin software on VM (I'm on cable). It would be useful to know if SKy people are being prevented from watching a childrens movie with clay puppets at 8pm in the evening.

If you're ok I shall take my rant to the cable forum.

You've been a smashing audience.

Ginger Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 23:18
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,903
PIN parental protection (on Sky at least) is based on data input into the EPG by the channel provider, so there is a possibility that human error has input the wrong data - assuming it is a U, PG (or I believe 12) certificate it should not require the PIN - there is also the possibility that some interference at some point in its transmission to satellite, back down and through the cable network caused an error in the data giving the same effect.

Last edited by davemurgatroyd : 19-04-2007 at 23:20.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2007, 09:39
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,968
Originally Posted by Ginger Nut
Yes, yes, I know there are a thousand threads on this. I picked this one.

Has anyone else been prompted for their PIN to watch Wallace and Gromit Curse of the wererabbit?

Just wondering if it is the sky movie channel or the rubbish pin software on VM (I'm on cable). It would be useful to know if SKy people are being prevented from watching a childrens movie with clay puppets at 8pm in the evening.

If you're ok I shall take my rant to the cable forum.

You've been a smashing audience.

Virgin Media's current system requires a PIN prompt on all of the channels (that use a PIN) all day.

Once everyone has the Virgin Media branded EPG software, they can implement a better system.
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2007, 22:02
tracyhay
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SWF
Posts: 736
Sky box won't let me watch swordfish tonight. Asks me for a pin number, but the last 4 digits of my card don't work. Sky won't help me because we cancelled a while back, I was basically paying just for E4 and more4 (so annoying freeview doesn't work here).
The man at Sky mumbled on about people have requested a film that's on before it should be, channel 4 are showing but only to sky customers or something like that. Made no sense to me!

edit to add - strangely it's suddenely started working at 10pm.

Last edited by tracyhay : 21-04-2007 at 22:05.
tracyhay is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2007, 22:24
tonyk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Costa Blanca
Posts: 331
If this is a function of Ofcom how do they stop you viewing the 18cats on Freeview boxes?
tonyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2007, 23:57
jon41
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,341
Originally Posted by tonyk
If this is a function of Ofcom how do they stop you viewing the 18cats on Freeview boxes?
Freeview doesn't have sky movies or any channles that would show an 18 cert before the watershed so therefore there is no need for this function but it is an interesting thought. Obviously the freeview boxes should have all had smartcards but this was said to be too costly when the service launched.
jon41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2007, 00:24
tracyhay
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SWF
Posts: 736
Freeview has channel 4 though?
tracyhay is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:31.