Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Connecting speakers to Xbox 360


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2007, 22:09
pault2006
Banned User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,634

I've just set up my Xbox 360 but I need to add some speakers to it.

I've got these speakers (currently with my PC) - http://www.creative.com/products/pro...&product=10458

Is it possible to connect them to my Xbox or will I need to buy an adapter?
pault2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-04-2007, 22:23
TheUnholySinner
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newport, Wales ♂
Posts: 2,309
no you cant connect them unless you have an amplifier of some sort and connect the xbox to it and the speakers to it also. If you have a new tv, there maybe a port on there, in the headphone jack maybe? The only option really though is an amplifier.
TheUnholySinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2007, 06:37
Rolnikov
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 958
Couldn't you just connect the Xbox red and white leads to it, from the composite cable?

You'd just need the adaptor or two to connect the audio leads to the jack - Maplin should have those.
Rolnikov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2007, 12:33
MaxCherry
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 8,777
Well Im thinking of buying a vga cable and bringing my 360 into work. There are tons of spare TFTs but I was was worried about getting the sound through. Ive found one of the converters mentioned here

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...0jack&doy=13m4
MaxCherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2007, 14:43
FlatProblem
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Posts: 901
That would do the trick, and two thumbs up for taking the 360 to work
FlatProblem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2007, 14:56
pault2006
Banned User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,634
My TV hasn't got a stereo socket, so would I need to get a new TV in order to be able to use external speakers?

It's a 14" CRT TV.
pault2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2007, 15:19
TheUnholySinner
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newport, Wales ♂
Posts: 2,309
lol i wouldnt buy a new tv just to play them speakers on it. I got my tv hooked up to my hi-fi system so i get 5.1 surround sound plus tv speakers as a middle set of speakers too. This is a cheaper and easier way of getting good sound and recomend it. You only need a hifi with auxilary input on it, and then a phono cable. You should be able to do it as i used to have an old Alba tv set up this way.
TheUnholySinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2007, 23:44
spud2k1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bracknell
Posts: 520
Originally Posted by Rolnikov
Couldn't you just connect the Xbox red and white leads to it, from the composite cable?

You'd just need the adaptor or two to connect the audio leads to the jack - Maplin should have those.
thats the way i did it
spud2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:46.