Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Can you watch American (region 1) dvds on your UK computer


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29-05-2007, 22:39
danny 17
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 592

I am thinking about getting a DVD from Amazon. However it says It is a region 1 from America and it is different from the PAL format we have other here. But would I be able to play this DVD on my PC? or would I need to upgrade somehow?>
danny 17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-05-2007, 22:44
Examinus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16,994
You can only change the region of you DVD player a set number of times. I think it's four. You can also flash the firmware to allow infinite changes, but that's illegal, so we can't tell you how to do it.
Examinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2007, 22:44
Carmen Queasy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middesbrough (via Manchester)
Posts: 37,343
Yes, you can, but you'll probably need a program to make the PC region free. I used to have it but the name passes me. It's something simple like "Region Free DVD". After a quick Google, I think I found it but I am suspicious of software I'm not completely aware of, so I'll let someone confirm it for you
Carmen Queasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2007, 22:45
Mr Giggles
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Croydon, Surrey ♂
Posts: 17,698
Your dvd drive is defaulted to region 2, when you insert any other region (except0) you are given the option of changing the region. However you can only do this five times, after the fifth time your dvd drive will be locked on whatever region.

There are programs that can over-ride this but that's at your own risk and I'm not allowed to tell you where to get it.

If you intend to use Region one often, get a second dvd drive or an external dvd drive locked on region one.
Mr Giggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2007, 23:07
Parker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 964
Do you already have an external DVD player for your TV? Might be worth seeing if there a remote control hack to make it multi region. My Samsung DVD player was very easy to crack and allow the region to be changed to whatever I want.
Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2007, 23:11
Kryptonson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 1,021
programmes like powerDVD will allow you to play discs regardless of region
Kryptonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 00:03
ShaunIOW
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Isle of Wight
Posts: 5,339
You can only change the region of you DVD player a set number of times. I think it's four. You can also flash the firmware to allow infinite changes, but that's illegal, so we can't tell you how to do it.
It's not illegal to flash the firmware - risky yes as it can bugger your drive, but not illegal.
ShaunIOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 00:04
Examinus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16,994
It's not illegal to flash the firmware - risky yes as it can bugger your drive, but not illegal.
It isn't? I'm sure there may be some legislation that can be interpreted such a way.
Examinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 00:15
ShaunIOW
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Isle of Wight
Posts: 5,339
It isn't? I'm sure there may be some legislation that can be interpreted such a way.
Nope, you can buy region free dvd players in the UK no problem. The distributer's would like people to think it's illegal so thjey don't import cheaper and quite often better versions of releases than region 2.

The only thing that is illegal is selling Region 1 etc DVD's in the UK but thats nothing to do with region coding, but because they're not BBFC certified.
ShaunIOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 00:24
Examinus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16,994
Nope, you can buy region free dvd players in the UK no problem. The distributer's would like people to think it's illegal so thjey don't import cheaper and quite often better versions of releases than region 2.

The only thing that is illegal is selling Region 1 etc DVD's in the UK but thats nothing to do with region coding, but because they're not BBFC certified.
Excellent news then.
Examinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 00:24
serpant
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 314
As others have said you get 5 changes on your PC unless you flash the drive, nothing is illegal in this
serpant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 14:09
sy278
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,111
programmes like powerDVD will allow you to play discs regardless of region
No it doesnt, Power DVD will tell you you have the wrong region if the drive is set to the wrong region, unless you have a hacked version.
sy278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 19:44
danny 17
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 592
So I can play it, but every time I cahnge discs I will have to change it back. And I can only do it 5 times...right?

cheers for the help btw.
danny 17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 20:18
royston
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35
The other day I made a region 1 dvd on DVD Shrink for testing. When I tried viewing it on InterWin DVD, it asked to change the Region on the drive. But when Opened it in Real player and Windows Media Player, it worked just fine.

Try and see if this workes.

Cheers
royston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 20:28
rhetherington
 
Posts: n/a
So I can play it, but every time I cahnge discs I will have to change it back. And I can only do it 5 times...right?

cheers for the help btw.
You can't change back and forth 5 times, it's 5 changes in total. After that the drive will lock to the last region set.

As others have said it may be possible to flash your drive. Region lockable drives are called RPC2 drives, you want RPC1 firmware (Google is your friend).

If you're not confident about flashing your drive's firmware then it may be possible to playback discs using alternative means. VLC (and other tools) bypasses region locking by telling the drive it's ripping the content instead of playing back a DVD. Some manufacturers (Matsushita aka Panasonic) disable the rip command though so it wont work on that drive. No harm or damage in trying it though.

Just make sure you disable any automatic playback of DVDs though, otherwise it might change region codes without any input from you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 20:31
THE IRON FIST
Banned User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 245
Does DVD Genie not work nowadays? I used to use it before I got my DVD Player.
THE IRON FIST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 21:08
vanyablue
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 1,030
DVD drives are so cheap now. I have 1 set to region 2 and 1 set to region 1 for DVDs. Both work with data dvds as there's no region coding on them.
vanyablue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 21:51
BigToe7000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 192.168.1.101
Posts: 233
Some manufacturers (Matsushita aka Panasonic) disable the rip command though so it wont work on that drive. No harm or damage in trying it though.
Do you mean Matshita? I have a MATSHITA UJ-850S... so I guess I won't be able to use VLC to "rip" the DVD.
BigToe7000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 22:10
rhetherington
 
Posts: n/a
Do you mean Matshita? I have a MATSHITA UJ-850S... so I guess I won't be able to use VLC to "rip" the DVD.
It might still work. Some earlier Matshita drives were "rippable"; my iBook had such a Matshita drive. It's just that in the last few years Matshita have become more and more restrictive with their drive features and there's not a lot of cracked RPC1 firmwares available for them.

There's no harm in giving VLC a try, it wont damage your drive and wont use up any of your region switches if it doesn't work.

If you're in the market for a new DVD drive i recommend Pioneer ones. The rip command is never disabled on it and there are often firmwares available to make the drive region free (in fact i believe many of Pioneers official Australian firmwares were RPC1 due to a court ruling about region locking being anti-competitive and illegal).
  Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 23:25
BigToe7000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 192.168.1.101
Posts: 233
It might still work. Some earlier Matshita drives were "rippable"; my iBook had such a Matshita drive. It's just that in the last few years Matshita have become more and more restrictive with their drive features and there's not a lot of cracked RPC1 firmwares available for them.

There's no harm in giving VLC a try, it wont damage your drive and wont use up any of your region switches if it doesn't work.

If you're in the market for a new DVD drive i recommend Pioneer ones. The rip command is never disabled on it and there are often firmwares available to make the drive region free (in fact i believe many of Pioneers official Australian firmwares were RPC1 due to a court ruling about region locking being anti-competitive and illegal).
a) Thing is, I don't really have any Region 1 DVDs at the moment, so I can't test.
b) This is a laptop
BigToe7000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2007, 01:58
crazydave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Glasgow, Black Hill TX
Posts: 1,000
You can only change the region of you DVD player a set number of times. I think it's four. You can also flash the firmware to allow infinite changes, but that's illegal, so we can't tell you how to do it.
is that a fact?
crazydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 16:27
KAC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London
Posts: 485
Try AnyDVD.

http://www.slysoft.com/en/anydvd.html
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 18:46
TheFirstCut
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Proud European!
Posts: 7,123
DVD Idle Pro is another one.

Note: Don't mix up PAL / NTSC with Region 1 / Region 2.

DVDs can be either NTSC or PAL and be either region 1 or region 2.

For example there are many Region 2 NTSC discs as well as PAL region 2 discs.

Japan is an NTSC country, yet are region 2.
Europe is mainly PAL and also region 2.

Hence why standalone DVD players sold as region 2, can play both NTSC and PAL. But may need a region free hack to play discs that aren't region 2 or 0.

I have my DVD drives firmware patched and run DVD Idle Pro.

http://www.dvdidle.com

See also: http://forum.rpc1.org/portal.php
TheFirstCut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 19:20
Jessica Lares
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas, United States
Posts: 1,147
DVD X Player works very well: http://www.dvd-x-player.com/

Unlocks all DVDs.
Jessica Lares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 20:05
ShaunIOW
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Isle of Wight
Posts: 5,339
No

I use region and css free on my laptop, but my desktop dvd writer has been flashed to RPC1.
ShaunIOW is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:21.