Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Muslims - Do You Eat Haribo's?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-06-2007, 16:28
*Em*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Near Bradford :D
Posts: 6,246

I am a bit baffled.

I've always been a lover of Haribo sweets and other similar products - my ex who's a Muslim would eat them with me.

Now, he wasn't a particularly 'good' Muslim but he would only ever eat Halal food, if I was eating a meal which wasn't Halal, he would make something else.

Would you as a Muslim eat Haribo sweets?

I've just been reading that in some places Halal Haribo's are now on sale... Does this mean that prior to these been on sale, any Muslim who eats 'Haram' Haribo's are going against their faith and does it bother you?

Here is the link.
*Em* is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-06-2007, 16:37
Sezer07
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ישרא&
Posts: 553
I am a Indian (Punjabi) Muslim and i am hook on Haribo, AND i am not having any religious crap taking my favourite sweet away
Sezer07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:39
Mrs Mangle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 112
Sweeties made from jelly from the foot of an animal that's been bled to death painfully? You can keep your Haribou!
Mrs Mangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:39
*Em*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Near Bradford :D
Posts: 6,246
I am a Indian (Punjabi) Muslim and i am hook on Haribo, AND i am not having any religious crap taking my favourite sweet away
Do you eat Haram tho'?
*Em* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:41
Sezer07
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ישרא&
Posts: 553
How can i say it is Haram if it doesnt kill me, My parent are indian muslim and they drink alcohol with our fellow white pals..
Sezer07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:43
*Em*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Near Bradford :D
Posts: 6,246
How can i say it is Haram if it doesnt kill me, My parent are indian muslim and they drink alcohol with our fellow white pals..
So you're not a practising Muslim then?

I don't get what you mean with the bold comment above.
*Em* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:44
Becca T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cumbernauld
Posts: 513
Sweeties made from jelly from the foot of an animal that's been bled to death slowly and painfully? You can keep your Haribou!
Thanks for that useful bit of information, i'm sure i'll be hungry again by dinner.......


















































































































































































































Becca T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:45
Loz_Fraggle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,410
I saw these Halal and kosher Haribo sweets in Morrisons, as a veggie I may try them, it's certainly nice to have soft sweets I can actually eat..
Loz_Fraggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:48
Sezer07
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ישרא&
Posts: 553
So you're not a practising Muslim then?

I don't get what you mean with the bold comment above.
According to extreme muslim they believe haram food are not clean.. Me and my family are a believer of God and alway obey and love him. Praying to God is a neccessary thing rather than doing the silly choice of law like do not eat haram, alcohol is against islamic , taking a picture of urself is haram, Dancing, watching tv and listening to music is haram according to extreme muslim..
Sezer07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:50
Mrs Mangle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 112
Thanks for that useful bit of information, i'm sure i'll be hungry again by dinner.......
I'm sorry.

But it's ok because I was talking out of my arse - Halal Haribo don't contain any gelatine!

Hooray for non-dead-jellyfoot-bloodbath sweeties!
Mrs Mangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:50
*Em*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Near Bradford :D
Posts: 6,246
According to extreme muslim they believe haram food are not clean.. Me and my family are a believer of God and alway obey and love him. Praying to God is a neccessary thing rather than doing the silly choice of law like do not eat haram, alcohol is against islamic , taking a picture of urself is haram, Dancing, watching tv and listening to music is haram according to extreme muslim..
You're Muslim but believe in God, not Allah - is that 'normal'? Please don't take offence, I'm just curious.
*Em* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:51
Sezer07
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ישרא&
Posts: 553
You're Muslim but believe in God, not Allah - is that 'normal'? Please don't take offence, I'm just curious.

No no i am not offence at all, Yes i do believe in God and 'Allah' is an arabic meaning of God so it is a same thing
Sezer07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:52
*Em*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Near Bradford :D
Posts: 6,246
No no i am not offence at all, Yes i do believe in God and 'Allah' is an arabic meaning of God so it is a same thing
Yeah, I realised they were the same but find it strange a Muslim using the term God as none of the Muslims I know would refer to 'him' that way.
*Em* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:53
Sidespin Nid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 21,367
I would eat them but I'm not the strictest (sp?) of Muslims as I happily munch through KFC and McDonalds . The only reason I don't eat them is because I hate jelly sweets. I feel so sick after eating them and they're really sweet.

edit : *Em* , I refer to "him" as God all the time. It's more conveniant
Sidespin Nid is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 16:54
bossoftheworld
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,612
Sweeties made from jelly from the foot of an animal that's been bled to death painfully? You can keep your Haribou!
My goodness is that how jelly is made? Really is that true I can't believe jelly is made like that what they actually bleed the animal to death and make jelly - ah it tastes like sweet stuff no you are having me on aren't you
bossoftheworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 17:00
*Em*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Near Bradford :D
Posts: 6,246
My goodness is that how jelly is made? Really is that true I can't believe jelly is made like that what they actually bleed the animal to death and make jelly - ah it tastes like sweet stuff no you are having me on aren't you
Well it's made from gelatine - if it's not Haram though I don't think the animal will have bled to death if my understanding is correct.
*Em* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 17:00
Sezer07
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ישרא&
Posts: 553
Yeah, I realised they were the same but find it strange a Muslim using the term God as none of the Muslims I know would refer to 'him' that way.
Yeah same, when i was young around 9/10 years old, there is one Syrian boy name Michael Al Ansari came to visit the school, he is a Christian and he used the word Allah instead of God and not fluent in english that time. We were friends for 2 weeks but later the school felt he need to go to special school where he can learn english with other international childrens.
Sezer07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 17:04
reem14
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Swansea
Posts: 1,547
I eat Haribo's and i'm a Muslim.
reem14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 18:04
*Em*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Near Bradford :D
Posts: 6,246
I eat Haribo's and i'm a Muslim.
I really don't grasp why they've made these Haram style Haribo's. I've never met a Muslim who wouldn't eat them or similar sweets simply because they weren't Halal.
*Em* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 18:32
batgirl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: the cleaning cupboard
Posts: 23,186
What kind of a god cares about the type of sweets people eat? Do you go to hell for eating the wrong kind? On a scale of 1 to 10, where is the eating of sweets to be placed in order of importance, as far as god is concerned?

Yet again, I'm very glad I'm an atheist.
batgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 18:33
fix you
Banned User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 192
They should've called it Halalibo.
fix you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 11:54
Jaydee409
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 304
I saw these Halal and kosher Haribo sweets in Morrisons, as a veggie I may try them, it's certainly nice to have soft sweets I can actually eat..
Be careful Loz - I'm Jewish and also a vegetarian. Some of the soft sweets you can get in a Kosher store contains gelatine from a kosher fish or a kosher animal.

There are sweets that fit the bill though even if you can't get to a Halal or Kosher store. We just have to look a little more carefully for the kids. From the generally-available products Skittles, Jelly Tots & Tooty-Frooties are fine, plus some gummy bears you get from health stores like Holland & Barrett.
Jaydee409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 11:56
Mark.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The dark side of the moon
Posts: 45,807
All sorts of foods are now available in Halal versions.

The other day, I saw a whole "Halal Supermarket" that I never even knew existed in this city.
Mark. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 12:07
stoggam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
I saw these Halal and kosher Haribo sweets in Morrisons, as a veggie I may try them, it's certainly nice to have soft sweets I can actually eat..
are you 4real?
stoggam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 12:25
MartinJ
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hell on earth
Posts: 8,748
Did you know, all photographic film contains gelatine?

That's one for you veggies/Muslims to consider next time you take your holiday snaps down to Jessops.
MartinJ is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:37.