Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Connecting Laptop to Sky +


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-07-2007, 19:51
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,756

Hi Guys,

Can I connect a Laptop to Sky + via the USB port on the Sky+ reciever and the SB on my laptop.

If so

How?

Craig
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-07-2007, 20:03
zeno
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: devon
Posts: 93
No! The USB port on the Sky+ box does NOTHING. You would need a TV capture card for your laptop.

Better to buy a Freeview USB TV stick (less than 20) - only Freeview channels (TV and radio) of course.
zeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2007, 20:03
JBlink
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,926
Yes you certainly can connect the Sky+ to your laptop via the USB. It will look most impressive but do nothing! The USB on the Sky+ has no function at all, except on some you can charge your iPod..
JBlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2007, 20:41
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,756
I would ike to copy a TV programme that I recorded to Sky + personal planner to my laptop.

In the Drake and Josh - The Storm episode. Helen starts singing a song at the end and gets everyone involved. I am trying to work out the lyrics from what they are snging but its difficult.

Can anyone help

Craig
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2007, 20:43
Toilet-Duck
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tyne And Wear
Posts: 685
Use either a DVD recorder or a USB TV Stick....

Or if you want to use your laptop around the house or away from home perhaps take a look at the slingbox? (Google it)
Toilet-Duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2007, 22:17
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,756
How can you copy someing from your Sk+'s Hard Drive to yoour laptops Hard Drive without buyig anything expensive.

If I buy a TV stick or my laptop how can I use that to copy things from Sky + to my laptop.

Craig
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2007, 22:33
paulyoung666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,151
How can you copy someing from your Sk+'s Hard Drive to yoour laptops Hard Drive without buyig anything expensive.

If I buy a TV stick or my laptop how can I use that to copy things from Sky + to my laptop.

Craig


you cant unless the laptop will accept a tv signal input , or use a usb tv card to capture from the sky box
paulyoung666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2007, 22:43
cmorris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4,756
You need a TV stick to accept a tv signal
cmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2007, 23:51
fizzgig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London
Posts: 298
By far the easiest thing to do is buy a cheap DVD recorder then connect this to your Sky+ box and record onto blank DVD's. You can then play these on your laptop (assuming of course that it has a DVD-ROM drive) or rip them to your laptop's hard drive.
fizzgig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 00:14
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,857
You need a TV stick to accept a tv signal
Beware virtually all TV sticks are digital TV (Freeview) which are absolutely useless for recording Sky to a PC. You need an analogue TV tuner or video capture device. Sky and Sky+ dodgiboxes DO NOT output a digital video signal - RF,Composite video, RGB and s-video are all analogue signals.
davemurgatroyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 07:09
wayne bull
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 66
Int you got a video recorder & can't you press the keep button on the remote when you go into planner.

Also try pause > rewind > play you might find that helps LOL
wayne bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 11:11
zeno
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: devon
Posts: 93
What I meant to say earlier was that if the program(s) you want to record on your laptop are on both Sky and Freeview (as many are) then a USB TV Stick is the way to go in my opinion. Of course, if you're trying to record Sky Movies then you're out of luck.

I got my USB stick for 17 - it's a fully functional (single tuner) PVR with EPG and even a dinky little remote control. The quality of the recordings is pretty good too.
zeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2007, 12:31
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,857
What I meant to say earlier was that if the program(s) you want to record on your laptop are on both Sky and Freeview (as many are) then a USB TV Stick is the way to go in my opinion. Of course, if you're trying to record Sky Movies then you're out of luck.

I got my USB stick for 17 - it's a fully functional (single tuner) PVR with EPG and even a dinky little remote control. The quality of the recordings is pretty good too.
I have an analogue TV tuner usb box - cost just under 10 - no EPG but will work like a VCR., accepts RF, composite video and s-video inputs as well, so records happily from a Sky+ box.
davemurgatroyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2007, 19:00
lalaland
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 11,408
I have an analogue TV tuner usb box - cost just under 10 - no EPG but will work like a VCR., accepts RF, composite video and s-video inputs as well, so records happily from a Sky+ box.
Could you post a link to this item please?

Thanks
lalaland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2007, 22:14
SClarke624
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 35
Craig
Do a google would it be "We will Rock you" by Queen. Just put this in google "we will rock you" lyrics. Its well known song not many words. Somehow though I get the feeling they are before your time.
SClarke624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2007, 22:41
stevieboy378
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Walsall
Posts: 4,929
Craig
Do a google would it be "We will Rock you" by Queen. Just put this in google "we will rock you" lyrics. Its well known song not many words. Somehow though I get the feeling they are before your time.
The song was re-hashed by a boyband recently though, so most youngsters will know it . . .
stevieboy378 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2007, 00:00
Valleyman00
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 708
Sky arent idiots, the USB port MUST be for something. its either something in the production line, or something they havent activated yet.
Valleyman00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2007, 00:02
stevieboy378
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Walsall
Posts: 4,929
Sky arent idiots, the USB port MUST be for something. its either something in the production line, or something they havent activated yet.
what, like the yellow message alert button ?
stevieboy378 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2007, 10:44
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,857
Sky arent idiots, the USB port MUST be for something. its either something in the production line, or something they havent activated yet.
One manufacturer once stated that it was originally intended for upgrading the software on the box from portable devices and I also believe Pace developed a portable device to download content to but this was never brought to market because of rights issues (DRM). In some boxes even the power line is not connected/activated.

In some early standard boxes there was also a PCMIA internal connector which Sky never used but one manufacturer produced an interface for it to connect to a PC via USB to enable recording on a PC - see here
http://www.cielplus.com.

There are many electronic products produced with connectors/interfaces that are never used but were included at the design stage in an attempt to future proof them and which it is then found to be more expensive to redesign and omit them than it is to keep fitting them. So do not take it as given that it will ever be used although some will live in hope.
davemurgatroyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2007, 11:09
CJL
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finchingfield, Essex
Posts: 5,511
I have one of these:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/KWorld-MAKER...5124866&sr=8-1

and use it so I can play a Sky+ into my laptop and use it as both as a TV for live viewing of the Sky+ output and also as a recorder of that signal (into MPEG format)

It works pretty well.
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2007, 11:17
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,857
Could you post a link to this item please?

Thanks
Purchased off ebay 9 months ago at least. I can not see any listed at present
davemurgatroyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2007, 15:41
Gordie1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North East
Posts: 5,028
My dream use for the USB slot would be if SKY did a deal with Apple, allowing us to transfer Recorded programmes directly onto your Ipod, That would be amazing, Just copy over all your series linked stuff from the ast few weeks.



Like thats ever gonna happen
Gordie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2007, 12:02
jhlb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 290
Not all Sky+ recordings will transfer to all DVD recorders. I have had a Ch5 film recently that was rejected by my Sony DVDR - it recorded a blank screen for two hours.

J
jhlb is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:50.