Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

ASTRA 2C at 28e


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2007, 21:31
EUROPA
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,153

nice to start a major thread,as 2C is now empty and will be on the move soon to 28e from 19e.anyone know the AMOUNT of time it takes to move,not when it will start
EUROPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-08-2007, 10:18
Tony Richards
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Thanet, Kent
Posts: 4,420
But when it does arrive, which will take a month or so before it is ready, you won't be getting any more channels. Some channels may be moved onto 2C from 2A or 2B or maybe 2D. The presence of 2C in the 28E slot makes transmission more secure in case of failure of any of the other satellites and future proof for new broadcasters as and when they start. It does not mean any sudden increase in channels.
Tony Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 10:31
Analoguesat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 19,185
Tony - there will be new channels coming. 10 tp's will be available for the UK, with many of the others being used as back up as you have mentioned.

Its already been announced ITV has taken half a 2C tp to expand their services.
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 10:35
Analoguesat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 19,185
nice to start a major thread,as 2C is now empty and will be on the move soon to 28e from 19e.anyone know the AMOUNT of time it takes to move,not when it will start
Its going to take a couple of weeks to get 2C round the arc from 19E to 28E - broadcast sats normally move at around a degree a day when they are being repositioned.. Plus a few days each end to get it out of position at 19E and slid into position at 28E.

Id guess we can expect to see 2C in service at 28E in October/ November
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 11:52
Tony Richards
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Thanet, Kent
Posts: 4,420
Interesting. I'm surprised that ITV would want to be on 2C as it will have a normal wide beam footprint which theorectically causes rights issues, or so we're told.
Tony Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 12:05
Analoguesat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 19,185
My guess is thats its for additional data / interactive services. I doubt the main channels will be moved. ITV 1 certainly wont be as they would need 4 or 5 tp's to get all the regions in.
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 15:16
Megabird
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 2,383
Its going to take a couple of weeks to get 2C round the arc from 19E to 28E - broadcast sats normally move at around a degree a day when they are being repositioned.
I've noticed that the current position of moving satellites is often given on sites like Lynsat. How do they know that the satellite is in that position? Is it broadcasting something that can be received?
Megabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 15:54
Analoguesat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 19,185
All satellites have beacons on exact frequencies. With the right equipment you can work out which sat is where.

If the drift rate is known (and they will be from satellite tracking services) its easy enough to predict where a sat is as well.
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 12:10
EUROPA
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,153

well with what has been said,i guess it will be up and running in about three weeks which is sep (third part of year) as it dont need first time testing as with a new sat
as they said...it will make a major change to us here in TF as we cant get 2D OR north beam,but can get all of 2c on its europa only beam,so any changes will give us extra channels
EUROPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 13:26
Tony Richards
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Thanet, Kent
Posts: 4,420
Sorry but I still think people on here are being optimistic about the noticeable changes to channel choice from 28E. Astra's position there is at present quite risky in the advent of satellite failure. 2C will certainly improve that.
Does Astra 1L mean extra channels? Really just improved signal from what is already there.
Tony Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 13:38
Analoguesat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 19,185
The Astra 1L mission is designed to allow other satellites to be released, (1E & 2C) and back up the existing payloads of course - as the older 19E birds are getting on a bit. There were never going to be huge numbers of new frequencies activated at 19E simply as all the available frequencies are already active there

We know Astra 2C will be activating 10 new tp's for the uk - it was announced in the pre launch interviews on launch night for 1L. I keep a careful ear out for things like that during the launches!
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 13:41
Analoguesat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 19,185
Tony if you dont believe me then read this extract from a n SES press release

With this fleet redeployment, SES ASTRA is able to offer 16 additional transponders on ASTRA 2C out of which at least 10 transponders will be for DTH in UK and Ireland and the remaining transponders for other services across Europe. Furthermore, the move of ASTRA 2C allows a realignment of transponders across the different satellites positioned at 28.2° East, permitting activation of another 8 transponders on the steerable beam on ASTRA 2B, which is currently positioned over West Africa, and bringing the total of transponders on that beam from 8 to 16. Furthermore, the inter-satellite backup system at 28.2° East is strengthened as ASTRA 2C carries backup capacity for ASTRA 2A, 2B and 2D. The repositioning of ASTRA 2C is scheduled for the third quarter of this year.

http://www.ses-astra.com/corpSite/si...7_11/index.php
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 23:07
EUROPA
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,153

as it says certain channels on astra 2B SOUTH BEAM and 2B NORTH BEAM will be moving to 2C.as we cant get NORTH BEAM here any move to 2C will give us new channels as ´they can be only one ´beam on 2C which covers us
EUROPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2007, 15:47
lf2k7
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The "dead" centre of Norfolk.
Posts: 784
According to http://www.flysat.com/astra2c.php it's currently at 25.6E - presumably in place sometime later next week.

Then I guess they do some testing, and (if it was anything like 1L) they move things around pretty quickly...

I know it's not due yet, but it would be nice if CH4 moved to 2D...
lf2k7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2007, 17:10
banbury_oddball
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Banbury
Posts: 1,289
Some interesting changes ahead.

It's a well known fact that the existing transponders on the existing satellites @ 28.2şe are almost at full stretch. Hence the numerous threads of picture quality as they are cramming as many shopping channels to one transponder as they can.

With more HD channels coming on board over the next few years, they will need more bandwidth. Bring on the 10 new txps.

However sure there will be plenty of new shopping and porn channels to clutter up the EPG even further.
banbury_oddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2007, 17:30
Analoguesat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 19,185
Some interesting changes ahead.

It's a well known fact that the existing transponders on the existing satellites @ 28.2şe are almost at full stretch. Hence the numerous threads of picture quality as they are cramming as many shopping channels to one transponder as they can.

With more HD channels coming on board over the next few years, they will need more bandwidth. Bring on the 10 new txps.

However sure there will be plenty of new shopping and porn channels to clutter up the EPG even further.
Theres 2 new fta porn channels testing at the moment! (Northern Birds and Essex Babes). There probably wont be dozens more shopping or porn channels - they tend to go onto Eurobird 1 as carriage is a cheaper.
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2007, 21:31
EUROPA
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,153

sounds to me as the date they will start new channels
EUROPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2007, 10:15
Dear Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ceredigion (Soon)
Posts: 1,641
Some interesting changes ahead.

It's a well known fact that the existing transponders on the existing satellites @ 28.2şe are almost at full stretch. Hence the numerous threads of picture quality as they are cramming as many shopping channels to one transponder as they can.

With more HD channels coming on board over the next few years, they will need more bandwidth. Bring on the 10 new txps.

However sure there will be plenty of new shopping and porn channels to clutter up the EPG even further.
Perhaps they should extend the facility in Services that blocks Adult Channels to other unwanted channels or catagories (remove Shopping and Religion from the EPG in one fell swoop) or even do a reverse function to the Favourites Channels facility, by allowing you to remove the channels you don't want in your personal EPG.
Dear Viewer is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2007, 11:01
Megabird
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 2,383
Perhaps they should extend the facility in Services that blocks Adult Channels to other unwanted channels or catagories (remove Shopping and Religion from the EPG in one fell swoop) or even do a reverse function to the Favourites Channels facility, by allowing you to remove the channels you don't want in your personal EPG.
Sky charges channels to go on the EPG. The EPG entry is essentially the advertising of that channel. It exists whether you want it or not - or indeed even if you cannot currently receive it, because tne channel has paid for it to be there.

So Sky cannot allow you to remove it.

That is the Sky System
Megabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2007, 11:31
givecredit
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ireland.
Posts: 442
Sky charges channels to go on the EPG. The EPG entry is essentially the advertising of that channel. It exists whether you want it or not - or indeed even if you cannot currently receive it, because tne channel has paid for it to be there.

So Sky cannot allow you to remove it.

That is the Sky System

I cant entirely agree with this statement. Why can i remove the Adult Channels. Have they too not paid to "Advertise" on Skys system.
The Customer should have the option of removing channels he does not desire.
givecredit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2007, 11:47
Megabird
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 2,383
Why can i remove the Adult Channels.
I believe the law now demands that Sky must give users an option to block not only the content, but the channel name and EPG listing of porngraphic channels.
This is of course a special case.

It doesn't change Sky's overall ethos. Sky's EPG is primarily a method of advertising the channels. You can no more remove them than you can the adverts on the channels themselves.

(Actually - you can avoid looking at the channel listings you don't want by putting them on the 'Favourites list', but you cannot change the order.)

I share your annoyance. Personally I have an FTA receiver and I put on the channels I want, where I want. I don't charge anyone anything.
Megabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2007, 12:08
pkc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,192
I believe the law now demands that Sky must give users an option to block not only the content, but the channel name and EPG listing of porngraphic channels.
This is of course a special case.
I would like to see a mosaic of the Sky sports channels, and movie channels, but it ain't never gonna happen, unless of course they start adopting more Directv ideas ...

Removing channels and for that matter the bloody annoying enter pin during day, should also be an option..

Adult channels I was aware that you can remove these from EPG. using an option in the menu.
pkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2007, 12:42
belson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,031
any test yet ?
belson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2007, 12:43
Megabird
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 2,383
I can't find anything on it Belson.
Is Luxembourg on a holiday?
Megabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2007, 13:16
belson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,031
woking 24/7

what is strange 11992h left no signal

where is move uk living channel ?

belson is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:30.